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Who’s Who in Medicaid?



What is Medicaid?

Title XIX of the Social Security Act

Administered in North Carolina by the Division of 
Medical Assistance (DMA)

Individual and families who can not afford health care 
costs

Care provided by enrolled providers

Coverage information





The Mission of DMA

To provide access to high-quality, medically 
necessary health care for eligible North Carolina 
residents through cost-effective purchasing of health 
care services and products

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma



DMA- 8 Sections

Recipient and Provider Services
Clinical Policy and Programs
Managed Care
Quality, Evaluation, and Health Outcomes
Finance Management
Budget Management
Program Integrity
Information Technology and HIPAA



County Department of Social Services

Determine eligibility

Enroll recipient

Maintain eligibility files

Prior approval for adult care home enhanced care 
and case management



HP Enterprise Services

Fiscal agent for Medicaid

Process claims according to DMA policy and 
guidelines

Establishes and maintains a sound relationship 
with Medicaid providers



http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma

DMA Website













Dental Fee Schedule





Greetings from DMA

Mark W. Casey, DDS, MPH
Dental Director

Mark.Casey@dhhs.nc.gov
919-855-4280



Customer-focused
Anticipatory
Collaborative
Transparent
Results Oriented



Recent Honors

NC Medicaid was recognized by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as one of eight 
states with high utilization of pediatric oral health 
services and/or innovative methods of delivering oral 
health services to Medicaid children



Recent Honors

CMS reported that DMA and its partners are among a 
handful of State Medicaid agencies that have 
developed innovative initiatives to improve the delivery 
of services to publicly insured children

The “Into the Mouths of Babes”/Physician Fluoride 
Varnish Program has been specifically cited as an 
innovative service delivery model by CMS



Provider Participation

From SFY 2009 to SFY 2011 the number of actively 
participating billing providers (equivalent to the number of 
participating practices) who had received payment for at least 
one claim dropped from 1964  to 1658
The number of participating attending providers (dentists 
rendering services) is estimated to be approximately 2100 

Unable to come up with accurate figures due to MMIS 
limitations

Despite drop in participating billing providers, access for 
children continues to improve and for adults it is about the 
same



Utilization/Access Measures

CMS-416 Report in FFY 2010
51.6% of NC Medicaid children (ages 0-20) 
eligible for 90 days or more received at least 
one oral health care service during the 
reporting period



Utilization/Access Measures

Dramatic improvement has been made for children in the 1-5 
age group  

58% of all Medicaid children ages 1-5, who were eligible 
for dental benefits for six months or more, received at least 
one oral health care service in SFY 2009 versus SFY 2004 
when 42% of these preschool children received services 
NC Medicaid leads the nation in utilization of preventive 
oral health care services by children ages 1-5 and is third in 
the nation in utilization of any dental service by children in 
the same age group



Utilization/Access Measures

In CY 2009, when a continuous enrollment requirement of 11 
out of 12 months is used to calculate access rates, (HEDIS ADV-
like), utilization improves for Medicaid children ages 2-21 to 
approximately 57% including children seen by physicians in 
fluoride varnish program 
These access rates approach the average reported by private 
dental insurance plans – 58% – according to both the Pew 
Children’s Dental Campaign and CMS 



Pew Children’s Dental Campaign

Pew reported that 52% of NC Medicaid 
children ages 1-18 received at least one 
dental service in 2009

#10 in the US and the best utilization rate in 
the southeast



Program Updates

N.C. Medicaid Dental Program



Effective December 1, 2010

Limit intraoral – complete series (including bitewings) (D0210) to 
recipients ages 6 and older unless the service is rendered in the 
inpatient hospital, outpatient hospital, or ambulatory surgical center 
(Place of Service 1, 2, or F) 

Limit bitewings – three films (D0273) to recipients age 13 and older 

Limit any combination of resin-based posterior composites (D2391, 
D2392, and D2393) rendered on a single posterior primary tooth
on the same date of service to the maximum reimbursement of 
D2393 (same total fee as D2393) 



Effective January 1, 2011

D3354 
Pulpal regeneration – (completion of 
regenerative treatment in an immature 
permanent tooth with a necrotic pulp); does not 
include final restoration

Limited to recipients under age 21



Effective January 1, 2011

D7251 
Coronectomy – intentional partial tooth 
removal

D7295 
Harvest of bone for use in autogenous grafting 
procedure

Requires PA



SFY 2011-2012 Budget Changes

Effective October 1, 2011, across the board 
rate reduction of 2.67% for many Medicaid 
provider types including dentists

Excludes Health Departments, FQHC, and 
RHC providers

Scaling and root planing will be allowed every 
24 months rather than every 12 months



SFY 2011-2012 Budget Changes

Cast metal partial dentures (D5213 and 
D5214) will no longer be covered

Frequency of replacement of acrylic partials 
(D5211 and D5212) will be changed from 
every 10 years to every 8 years



SFY 2011-2012 Budget Changes

Total reimbursement for multiple fillings on one 
posterior tooth will be capped at the rate paid 
for a four surface restoration (composite resin 
D2394 or amalgam D2161)

Still report as separate fillings if the surfaces 
are not connecting or adjoining
Tooth #3 MOD and B restorations will be 
paid at the same rate as an MODB



SFY 2011-2012 Budget Changes

Reimbursement rates paid for amalgams will 
be increased by 10% and rates paid for 
posterior composites will be decreased from 
5-15%; closer to making the rates equal

Studies have shown that amalgam does not need to be 
replaced as frequently as composite resins on posterior 
teeth—New England Children’s Amalgam Trial

This action has been taken by several other State 
Medicaid agencies in the last few years



Additional Program Change

Protective restoration (D2940) is not allowed 
as a base or liner under a restoration

D2940 will deny if billed on the same date of 
service as any restorative procedure code for 
the same tooth number 



NC Health Choice (NCHC) Claims

Effective with dates of service on or after 
October 1, 2011, NCHC prior approvals and 
claims will be processed by HP Enterprise 
Services 

For dates of service prior to the transition date of 
October 1, 2011, providers will continue to submit 
claims to BCBS

All claims that need to be processed by BCBS must 
be received by February 29, 2012



NCHC will Mirror Medicaid Policy with 
a Few Exceptions

Prior approval is required for the extraction of 
symptomatic third molars (wisdom teeth)
Orthodontic coverage is allowed for severe 
malocclusions caused by craniofacial anomalies 
like cleft lip and palate and other syndromic 
conditions
No coverage for pre-prosthetic surgeries 
(alveoloplasty, tori removal, exostoses 
removal, and vestibuloplasty)
EPSDT does not apply



From Provider Enrollment to Unintended Billing 
Errors to Fraud, Waste and Abuse

A Review of Common Problems



Documentation for Payment Purposes

Better to have too much in a dental record rather than 
too little

Minimize potential for litigation and to justify 
payment from a third party payer

Example—Surgical extraction (D7210) vs. Non-
surgical extraction (D7140)

Prior to January 1, 2011 the CDT code specified 
that the elevation of a flap was required



Documentation for Payment Purposes

Effective January 1, 2011 - the surgical extraction 
code (D7210) was revised - surgical extraction 
requires removal of bone and/or sectioning and 
including elevation of a flap, if indicated

Lesson learned— “if it is not documented, it did not 
happen”; true in the court of law and true in the eyes 
of a third party payer; important to remember to 
avoid recoup/repay



Upcoding

Practice of reporting a code on a claim with a higher 
reimbursement rate than the code of the service 
actually rendered

Surgical extraction (D7210) vs. non-surgical extraction 
(D7140)

In SFY 2010, adult recipients received 114,730 non-
surgical extractions vs. 123,849 surgical extractions

D0160—detailed and extensive oral evaluation -intended 
to be used for the evaluation of complicated oral conditions 
requiring multiple diagnostic modalities (temporomandibular 
joint dysfunction, complicated fractures, etc.)



Medical Necessity

Medical necessity of a health care service should not 
be determined solely based on the policy limits of a 
third party payer
Instead providers should use their best clinical 
judgment to determine the need for services

Bitewings every 12 calendar months (D0270 – D0274)
Full mouth debridement (D4355) on every patient
Occlusal sealants (D1351) or fluoride varnish (D1206) 
regardless of caries susceptibility
Ill-fitting or damaged dentures—replacement versus 
reline or repair



Policy Limits and Relation to Treatment 
Recommendations

NC Medicaid is an entitlement program paid with 
state and federal tax dollars

We all should be good stewards of the 
government’s money—it’s our money

If the program can reduce the amount of funding 
paid for the inappropriate use of services, it can 
expand covered services and increase 
reimbursement rates



Awareness of Policy Limits and Coverage

Providers are responsible for being cognizant of 
policy limits and coverage—included in the Medicaid 
provider enrollment agreement signed by the 
provider

Unfamiliarity with the policy is not a defense when 
appealing recoupment actions



Awareness of Policy Limits and Coverage

Alveoloplasty codes (D7310 and D7311)
Reporting D7311 when surgically removing a single 
erupted tooth or an impacted tooth in a quadrant 
where there are not three or more edentulous 
spaces
Removal of bone to remove the tooth is included in 
the reimbursement for the surgical extraction
NC Medicaid requires 3 or more teeth to be 
removed or a total of 3 or more edentulous spaces



Awareness of Policy Limits and Coverage

Resin-based composite restorations are allowed to 
restore a carious lesion into the dentin or a deeply 
eroded area into the dentin  

Resin-based composite restorations are not covered 
as a preventive procedure and are not covered for 
treatment of cosmetic problems (e.g., diastemas, 
discolored teeth, developmental anomalies)

NC Medicaid does not currently reimburse for 
preventive resin restorations (D1352)



Unbundling

Reporting a pulpotomy for first visit where RCT 
is completed by the same provider at the next 
visit
Reporting individual PA radiographs (D0220 
and D0230) taken during RCT
Reporting a larger filling as two or more 
separate smaller fillings
(MODL on #30 versus MO and DL on #30)



Key Concepts/Take Home Messages

Citing low Medicaid reimbursement rates as a 
reason to cut corners regarding standards of 
care, billing practices, documentation 
submitted for prior approval and/or materials 
used in the care of Medicaid/NCHC patients is 
not acceptable



Key Concepts/Take Home Messages

DMA is held accountable by many 
stakeholders—NCGA, federal and state 
auditors, the media, and NC taxpayers

Fraud, waste and abuse is taken seriously
Obama Administration/HHS focused on recovery 

efforts
HHS Secretary recently sent a letter to the 

Governors repeating the call for renewed 
vigilance—Medicaid payment error rate identified 
to be 9% by the feds



Key Concepts/Take Home Messages

Medicaid Program Integrity does not accept 
the argument that this billing error should be 
allowed because the Medicaid payment system 
allows the provider to bill this way



Key Concepts/Take Home Messages

No one wants to go back to the days when many 
covered services required prior approval

To prove fraud, intent to deceive for material gain 
needs to be demonstrated

DMA Dental Program and HP Enterprise Services 
Provider Services staff are available to answer 
policy, billing and coding questions



Helpful Links

DMA Dental Services Clinical Coverage Policy:
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/index.htm
DMA Orthodontic Services Clinical Coverage 
Policy:
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/index.htm
DMA Dental Fee Schedule:
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/index.htm



Helpful Links

NC Medicaid Dental FAQs:
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/dental/

CMS Medicaid Dental Services Policy Issues:
https://www.cms.gov/MedicaidDentalCoverage/



15 Minute BREAK



ECS

Electronic Commerce Services



Provider Types Billing Dental (ADA 
2006/837D) Form

Dentist
Orthodontist
Federally qualified health center (dental services 
only)
Health department dental clinic (dental services 
only)
Rural health clinic (dental services only)



Electronic Requirement

The N.C. Medicaid Program requires all providers 
to file claims electronically

Exceptions list

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/ECSExceptions.htm







Electronic Claim Exemptions

Undelivered dentures
Dental claims for special consideration tooth number 
reviews 
Dental assistant surgeon claims with records
Dental ambulatory surgical claims denoting total 
surgical time in field 24 (billed on the CMS-1500 
Form) 



Electronic Claims Submission

HP Enterprise Services transmission methods

Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Support
Modem
Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP)
NCECSWeb Tool

1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888, 
option 1



Electronic Claims Requirements

Electronic Claims Submission Agreement Form
A separate agreement is required for each MPN
A new agreement must be submitted each time an individual 
is added to the group

http://www.nctracks.nc.gov/provider/form

Trading Partner Agreement (TPA) 
HP Enterprise Services

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/hipaa/



Electronic Funds Transfer

The N.C. Medicaid Program no longer issues paper 
checks for claims payment

EFT Authorization Agreement
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm

HPES Financial Unit 
Fax: 919-816-3186 
E-mail: NCXIXEFT@hp.com



Electronic Availability of Remittance 
and Status Report

Began PDF RAs, July 7, 2010

Remittance and Status Reports in PDF Format and 
Correct Coding Initiative Information Request Form 

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm

Available for 10 Checkwrites



NCECSWeb Tool

Claim Submission
Electronic Adjustments 
Recipient Eligibility Verification            
PDF RA
CCI and MUE Denial Explanations

https://webclaims.ncmedicaid.com/ncecs

FREE



Recipient Eligibility



Recipient Determination 

Who
County DSS  
List of all the county DSS offices

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dss/local/

When
First day of that month (usually) 

Last day of the month

Benefit Categories
Table in Section 2





Restricted Eligibility

Medicaid for Pregnant Women (MPW)

Medicaid Family Planning Waiver (MAF-D)
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/services/familyplanning.htm

MHDDSAS Health Plan Waiver (Formerly Piedmont 
Cardinal Health Plan)
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/services/piedmont.htm

MEDICARE-Aid or Medicare Qualified Beneficiary (MQB-
Q) 



Verifying Eligibility

A recipient’s eligibility status may change from 
month to month if financial and household 
circumstances change

At each visit, verify the recipient’s
Identity (if an adult) 
Current eligibility 
Medicaid program (benefit category) 
CCNC/CA primary care provider information 
Other insurance information



Verification Methods

EDI
HIPAA transaction 270/271
Real-time eligibility
Batch transaction

AVR 
1-800-723-4337, option 6
Recipient Eligibility and 
Coordination of Benefits
Appendix A

NCECSWeb Tool
Recipient Eligibility Inquiry

Appendix F
Overview of recipient 
eligibility verification methods

DMA Claim Analysis
919-855-4045
Over 12 months



NCECSWeb Tool Homepage



Tips:

•Use MPN or NPI
•If no date is keyed, it will reflect eligibility for the date of search
•Cannot check future date until the first of that month
•Can search back 365 days

Use any of these methods to search



Results Screen

123456789A 1234567

09012011 09312011

John Smith 123456789A 00/00/00
09/01/2011-
09/31/2011



Medicaid Identification Card



Common Eligibility Denials

EOB 11 – Recipient not eligible on service date

EOB 139 – Services limited to presumptive eligibility 

EOB 191 – MID number does not match patient name

EOB 953 – Individual has restricted coverage, 
Medicaid only pays the part B premium



Submitting Claims to Medicaid



Submitting Claims Electronically

5:00 PM Cut Off



Dental Guidelines

Refer to Clinical Coverage Policy
4A, Dental Services
4B, Orthodontic Services

Definitions:
MPN
NPI
Taxonomy



Dental ADA Claim Form

09/01/2011
09/01/2011 03

UL

D2140
D4341 100.00

100.00

Smith, John

123456789A



Dr. I.M. Smiley
P.O. Box 1234
Any City, NC 27123-4567

1234567890

2987654321

Main Street
Any City, NC 27123-7890

123D00000X

1234567



North Carolina Electronic Claims Submission/Recipient 
Eligibility Verification Web Tool Instruction Guide 

September 2009 Special Bulletin

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/

NCECSWeb Tool



List Management

Allows providers to create and modify list of 
frequently used billing information

Expedites claim entry and submission









Claims Entry





SMILES

123 SMILE STREET

NC

ANY CITY

1234567890

123D00000X

12345-6789







Other Insurance Payment

DOE 123456789A







Saved Claim



Submitting Completed Claims





Batch ID Number

Automatically archives submitted data
Validates claim submissions
Can access data for future use 



Resubmitting a Claim







Adjustments



Paper Adjustments

Adjust a previously paid claim or claim requiring 
further review

One adjustment – One ICN - One claim

Always attach a copy of the RA



Claim Specific 
Data

Adjustment 
Reason

Changes or 
Corrections



Electronic Adjustments

Voids and replacements can only
be submitted on claims that have 

paid in history

If no payment has been made, 
resubmit as a new day claim



Electronic Adjustments

Providers can file two types of adjustments 
electronically

• Void – claim will be recouped

• Replacement – claim will be recoup and 
reprocessed



Electronic Adjustment NCECSWeb Tool



Resolution Inquiries

Medicaid Resolution Inquiry Form 
Time limit overrides
Medicare overrides
Third-party overrides
Medicare HMO (Part C) CMS-1500 claims

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm

Attach
Claim
Copy of the RA
(835 transaction copies are not accepted)
Other information 



Medicaid Resolution Inquiry Request

Claim Specific 
Data

Processing 
Request

Additional 
Information



Time Limit Overrides

365 days of the date of service

18 months from the date of the denied RA

6 months for Third Party Insurance

EOB 18 or 8918 = Time limit denials



Contacting N.C. Medicaid



Where do I send my…?

Prior Approvals

HP Prior Approval Unit
PO Box 31188
Raleigh, N.C. 27622

Adjustments

HP Enterprise Services
Adjustment Unit
PO Box 300009
Raleigh, N.C. 27622

Claims (paper)

HP Enterprise Services
PO Box 30968
Raleigh, N.C. 27622



I would like an onsite visit…

HP Enterprise Services Provider Services 
Representatives

1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
Option 3
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, Appendix D



Contacting N.C. Medicaid

Call 1-800-723-4337 
Automated Voice Response System
Appendix A

Call 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
Appendix B
Press “1” – Electronic Commerce Services
Press “2” – Prior Approval
Press “3” – Provider Services
Press “0” – Operator



Contacting DMA

Recipient Eligibility-within 12 months
Eligibility Verification Tool
AVRS – 1-800-723-4337

Recipient Eligibility-over 12 months
DMA Claims Analysis – 919-855-4045

Questions about coverage policy
DMA Dental Program – 919-855-4280



Q&A



Early and Periodic Screening Diagnosis and 
Treatment

EPSDT



EARLY AND PERIODIC SCREENING, 
DIAGNOSIS, AND TREATMENT (EPSDT)

MEDICAID FOR CHILDREN
Contacts:  Frank Skwara, MA, LMFT, BSN, RN

EPSDT Nurse Consultant
Division of Medical Assistance
Telephone #:  919-855-4260
FAX #:  919-715-7679



Why Health Check/ EPSDT are 
Important

Promotes preventative health care by providing for 
early and regular medical and dental screenings.

Provides medically necessary health care to correct 
or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or 
a condition [health problem] identified through a 
screening.



Health Check/EPSDT Overview

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment (EPSDT) defined by federal law and 
includes: 

• Periodic Screening Services 
• Vision Services
• Dental Services
• Hearing Services
• Other Necessary Health Care



EPSDT Overview CON’T.

Recipients under 21 must be afforded access to the full 
array of EPSDT services within the scope of the category 
of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. §
1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. Refer to the 
EPSDT provider web page or the Health Check or Basic 
Medicaid Billing Guides for a listing of these services.

NOTE:  Under EPSDT, North Carolina Medicaid must make 
available a variety of individual and group providers 
qualified and willing to provide EPSDT services.



EPSDT Criteria
Must be listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. §
1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].

Must be medically necessary "to correct or 
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a 
condition [health problem] identified by screening”.



EPSDT Criteria CON’T.

“Ameliorate” means to: 
• improve or maintain the recipient’s health in 

the best condition possible,
• compensate for a health problem, 
• prevent it from worsening, or
• prevent the development of additional health 

problems.



Must be determined to be medical in nature.

Must be generally recognized as an accepted method of 
medical practice or treatment.

Must not be experimental, investigational.

Must be safe.

Must be effective.

EPSDT Criteria CON’T.



EPSDT Features

No Waiting List for EPSDT Services

No Monetary Cap on the Total Cost of EPSDT Services

No Upper Limit on the Number of Hours under EPSDT 

No Limit on the Number of EPSDT Visits to a Physician, 
Therapist, Dentist or Other Licensed Clinician



EPSDT Features CON’T.

No Set List that Specifies When or What EPSDT 
Services or Equipment May Be Covered
No Co-payment or Other Cost to the Recipient
Coverage for Services that Are Never Covered for 
Recipients Over 21 Years of Age 
Coverage for Services Not Listed in the N.C. State 
Medicaid Plan



Important Points About
EPSDT

The full array of EPSDT services must be coverable 
within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 
42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security 
Act].   EPSDT requires Medicaid to cover these services 
if they are medically necessary to correct or 
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a 
condition [health problem].



EPSDT services do not have to be services that are 
covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid 
Plan or under any of the Division of Medical 
Assistance’s (DMA) clinical coverage policies or 
service definitions or billing codes.

Important Points About 
EPSDT CON’T.



EPSDT covers short-term and long-term services as long 
as the requested services will correct or ameliorate the 
child's condition.  For example, a service must be 
covered under EPSDT if it is necessary for immediate 
relief (e.g., pain medication).  Treatment need not 
ameliorate the child's condition taken as a whole, but 
need only be medically necessary to ameliorate one of 
the child's diagnoses or medical conditions. 

Important Points About 
EPSDT CON’T.



EPSDT Operational Principles
The specific coverage criteria (e.g., particular 
diagnoses, signs, or symptoms) in the DMA clinical 
coverage policies or service definitions do NOT have to 
be met.

The specific numerical limits (number of hours, number of 
visits, or other limitations on scope, amount or frequency) 
in DMA clinical coverage policies, service definitions, or 
billing codes do NOT apply. This includes the hourly 
limits  on Medicaid Personal Care Services (PCS).



Other restrictions in the clinical coverage policies, such as the 
location of the service (e.g., PCS only in the home), prohibitions on 
multiple services on the same day or at the same time (e.g., day
treatment and residential treatment) must also be waived under 
EPSDT.

Out of state services are NOT covered if medically necessary 
similarly efficacious services are available in North Carolina. Out 
of state services delivered without prior approval will be denied 
unless there is retroactive Medicaid eligibility.   

EPSDT Operational Principles 
CON’T.



Durable medical equipment (DME), assistive 
technology, orthotics,  prosthetics, or other service 
requested do NOT have to be included on DMA’s 
approved lists or be covered under a CAP waiver 
program in order to be covered under EPSDT 
subject to meeting the criteria specified in this policy.

EPSDT Operational Principles CON’T.



The prohibition in CAP/C on skilled nursing for 
purposes of monitoring does not apply to EPSDT 
services if skilled monitoring is medically necessary.  
(Example:  PDN)

Case management is an EPSDT service and must be 
provided to a child with a Medicaid card if medically 
necessary to correct or ameliorate regardless of 
eligibility for a CAP waiver. 

EPSDT Operational Principles CON’T.



EPSDT Coverage And CAP 
Waivers

CAP Waiver services are available only to participants in 
the CAP waiver programs and are not a part of the EPSDT 
benefit unless the waiver service is ALSO an EPSDT service.

Additionally, a child financially eligible for Medicaid outside 
of the waiver is entitled to elect EPSDT services without any 
monetary cap instead of waiver services. 



ANY child enrolled in a CAP program can receive 
BOTH waiver services and EPSDT services.  However, 
the cost of the recipient’s care must not exceed the 
waiver cost limit. 

If enrolled in the Community Alternatives Program for 
Persons with Mental Retardation and Developmental 
Disabilities (CAP-MRDD), prior approval to exceed 
$100,000 per year must be obtained.

EPSDT Coverage And CAP 
Waivers CON’T.



A recipient under 21 years of age on a waiting list for CAP 
services is eligible for necessary EPSDT services without any 
waiting list being imposed. 

EPSDT services must be provided to recipients under 21 years of 
age in a CAP program under the same standards as other 
children receiving Medicaid services and may be provided in the 
school setting, including to CAP-MRDD recipients.

EPSDT Coverage And CAP 
Waivers CON’T.



EPSDT Coverage And 
MH/DD/SA Services

Staff employed by local management entities 
(LMEs) CANNOT deny requests for services, 
formally or informally.  Requests must be 
forwarded to ValueOptions or other appropriate 
DMA vendors if supported by a licensed clinician. 



LMEs may NOT use the Screening, Triage, and Referral 
(STR) process or the DD eligibility process as a means of 
denying access to Medicaid services. Even if the LME STR 
screener does not believe the child needs enhanced 
services, the family must be referred to an appropriate 
Medicaid provider to perform a clinical evaluation of the 
child for any medically necessary service. Only DMA and 
its contractors can determine if a Medicaid recipient 
meets criteria for a covered Medicaid service.

EPSDT Coverage And 
MH/DD/SA Services CON’T.



Requests for prior approval of MH/DD/SA 
services for recipients under 21 must be sent to 
ValueOptions or to an LME if handling PA in their 
catchment area.  

EPSDT Coverage And 
MH/DD/SA Services CON’T.



If a recipient under 21 years of age has a 
developmental disability diagnosis, this does not 
necessarily mean that the requested service is 
habilitative and may not be covered under EPSDT.  
The EPSDT criteria of whether the service is 
medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a 
defect, physical or mental illness, or condition 
[health problem] apply. Examples include dual 
diagnoses and behavioral disorders.  All individual 
facts must be considered.

EPSDT Coverage And 
MH/DD/SA Services CON’T.



Requesting PA For A Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Service

Covered state Medicaid plan services are defined as 
requests for services, products, or procedures covered 
by the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan.  

EPSDT does NOT eliminate the need for prior 
approval if prior approval is required.



Requests for EPSDT services do NOT have to be labeled as such.  
Any proper request for services for a recipient under 21 years of 
age is a request for EPSDT services. When state staff or vendors
review a covered state Medicaid plan services request for PA or 
continuing authorization (UR) for an individual under 21 years of 
age, the reviewer will apply the EPSDT criteria.  For recipients
under 21 years of age enrolled in a CAP waiver, a request for 
services must be considered under EPSDT as well as under the 
waiver if that service is both a CAP and a waiver service. 

Requesting PA For A Covered State 
Medicaid Plan Service CON’T.



EPSDT requests for prior approval for services must be 
fully documented to show medical necessity. This 
requires current information from the recipient’s 
physician, other licensed clinicians, the requesting 
qualified provider, and family members or legal 
representative.  If this information is not provided, 
Medicaid or its vendor will have to obtain the needed 
information, and this will delay the prior approval 
decision.

Requesting PA For A Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Service CON’T.



If the recipient does not meet the clinical coverage criteria or
needs to exceed clinical coverage policy limits, submit 
documentation with the prior approval request that shows how 
the service at the requested frequency and amount is medically 
necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or condition [health problem].

Additionally, all other EPSDT criteria must be met.

Requesting PA For A Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Service CON’T.



It is not sufficient to cover a standard, lower cost 
service instead of a requested specialized service if 
the lower cost service is not equally effective in that 
individual case. 

Requesting PA For A Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Service CON’T.



Services Formally Covered by 
CSHS

Cochlear Implant and Accessories
Fax all requests for external parts replacement and 
repair, in letter format, to the appropriate cochlear or 
auditory brainstem implant manufacturer.  The 
manufacturer will process requests, obtain prior 
approval for external speech or sound processors, and 
file claims.  Guidelines for the letter requesting external 
parts replacement or repair can be obtained from the 
implant manufacturer.



Services Formally Covered by CSHS   
CON’T.

Pediatric mobility systems, 
including non-listed components, 
should be sent to HP Enterprise Services  using the 
Certificate of Medical Necessity/Prior Approval 
(CMN/PA form).

Augmentative and Alternate Communication 
Devices should be sent to HP Enterprise Services.



Services Formally Covered by CSHS   
CON’T.

Oral Nutrition

Metabolic formula requests should be sent to DPH.

All other requests for formula that appear on the
DMA fee schedules should be sent to HP Enterprise Services.

Formula that does not appear on the DMA fee 
schedules should be sent as an EPSDT request  to:  

Assistant Director 
Clinical Policy and Programs



Inappropriate PA Requests 
Received By Vendors

Vendors (CCME, HP Enterprise Services, ACS 
Pharmacy, MedSolutions, and ValueOptions, PBH, 
LMEs) may receive service requests for which the 
vendor is not responsible for conducting the prior 
approval reviews.  As vendors can only authorize 
specific services in accordance with DMA-vendor 
contracts, those requests will be forwarded to the 
appropriate vendor for review.  



Requesting PA For Non-Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Services

Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan 
services are requests for services, products, or 
procedures that are not included at all in the North 
Carolina State Medicaid Plan but coverable under 
federal Medicaid law, 1905(r) of the Social Security 
Act for recipients under 21 years of age.



Over-the-counter (OTC) Medications

If the OTC has a National Drug Code (NDC) number 
and the manufacturer has a valid rebate agreement 
with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) but the drug does not appear on DMA’s 
approved coverage listing of OTC medications, send 
the request to the Assistant Director, Clinical Policy 
and Programs, Division of Medical Assistance.

Requesting PA For Non-Covered State 
Medicaid Plan Services CON’T.



Requests for Medicaid prior approval of DME, 
orthotics and prosthetics, and home health supplies 
that do not appear on DMA’s lists of covered 
equipment should be submitted to the Assistant 
Director, DMA. 

Requesting PA For Non-Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Services CON’T.



Requesting PA For Non-Covered State 
Medicaid Plan Services  CON’T.

Oral Nutrition

Formula that does not appear on the 
DMA fee schedules should be sent as 

an EPSDT request  to:  

Assistant Director 
Clinical Policy and Programs



Requesting PA For Non-Covered State 
Medicaid Plan Services  CON’T.

Effective with date of request September 1, 2008, Children’s 
Special Health Services no longer authorizes payment for 
ramps, tie downs, car seats, and vests.

These items are not included in the durable medical equipment 
covered by Medicaid, nor are they covered under Early 
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment services, which 
cover medical equipment and supplies suitable for use in the 
home for Medicaid recipients under the age of 21. However, if 
the recipient is covered under a Medicaid waiver, these items 
may be considered.



Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services 
and requests for a review when there is no established 

review process for a requested service should be 
submitted to:

Assistant Director for Clinical Policy 
and Programs

Division of Medical Assistance
2501 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC  27699-2501

FAX:  919-715-7679

Requesting PA For Non-Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Services  CON’T.



Documentation Requirements
Documentation for either covered or non-covered 
state Medicaid plan services should show how the 
service will correct or ameliorate a defect, physical 
or mental illness, or a condition [health problem].

This includes:
documentation showing that policy criteria are met;
documentation to support that all EPSDT criteria are met; 
evidence-based literature to support the request, if available.

Should additional information be required, the 
provider will be contacted.



Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan 
services may be submitted on the Non-Covered 
State Medicaid Plan Services Request form for 
Children under 21 Years of Age.

This form is located on the DMA website:
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm

Documentation Requirements CON’T.



Due Process Procedures

Requests for prior approval of covered and non-
covered state Medicaid plan services are to be 
decided with reasonable promptness, usually within 
15 business days.  No request for services for a 
recipient under 21 years of age will be denied, 
formally or informally, until it is evaluated under 
EPSDT.



If covered or non-covered services are denied, 
reduced, or terminated, written notice with appeal 
rights must be provided to the recipient and/or the 
authorized representative and copied to the provider. 

Such a denial can be appealed in the same manner as 
any Medicaid service denial, reduction, or termination.

Due Process Procedures  CON’T.



The Division’s due process procedures fully apply 
and can be found on the provider page at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/index.htm

Due Process Procedures  CON’T.



The following are NOT acceptable reasons 
for denial of coverage under EPSDT:

• “This is the responsibility of the school system.”
• “Close supervision, redirection, safety   monitoring, 

assistance with mobility and other ADL’s, improving 
socialization and community involvement, and 
controlling behavior are not service goals covered 
under EPSDT.”

• “The services would not correct or improve the 
child’s diagnosis.”

Due Process Procedures  CON’T.



The following are NOT acceptable 
reasons for denial of coverage under 
EPSDT:

• “EPSDT criteria do not include monitoring a child’s 
actions for an event which may occur.”

• ”EPSDT services are not long term or ongoing.”

• “Teaching coping skills cannot be covered under 
EPSDT.”

Due Process Procedures  CON’T.



EPSDT Websites
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/

Health Check Billing Guide
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/healthcheck/index.htm

EPSDT Provider Page
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/epsdthealthcheck.
htm



EPSDT Provider Website


