State Trauma Advisory Committee (STAC)

The State Trauma Advisory Committee is comprised of representatives from trauma centers across the state, the purpose of which is to provide a forum to facilitate trauma system development and coordination of trauma activities, to provide a manageable meeting format while keeping the system inclusive and to ensure input from all groups. Each group reports activities/issues to the STAC through a designated representative.

Executive Committee

Name Institution Committee/Representing E-mail
Michael Barringer Cleveland Regional Medical Center Trauma Medical Directors
Thomas Clancy, MD, FACS New Hanover Regional Medical Center Trauma Medical Directors
Amy Douglas, RN, CCRN OEMS Trauma Manager
Elizabeth Dreesen, MD, FACS UNC-Chapel Hill Trauma Medical Directors
Carolyn Foley Duke Performance Improvement
Paige Gesing Carolinas HealthCare System Cleveland Trauma Program
Jimmy Holmes Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center Burn Director
Daniel T. Kearney Duke University Medical COT Executive Assistant
Cyndi Mastropieli Wake Forest Baptist medical Center Trauma Program Managers
George Ross Carolinas Medical Center RAC Coordinators
Mark Shapiro, MD Duke University Medical Center COT Chair
Leigha Shepler Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital Injury Prevention
Dr. Dennis A. Taylor Carolinas Medical Center NCCOT, Air Medical, Exec.
Michael Thomason, MD Carolinas Medical Center Trauma Medical Directors
Osi Udekwu, MD WakeMed Trauma Medical Directors
Becky Ward Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital Trauma Registrar Chair
James Winslow, MD OEMS EMS Medical Director


The meetings will take place at High Point Regional Hospital, Millis Regional Education Health Center, 600 North Elm Street, High Point, NC 27261. [Directions].

Dates for STAC meetings are:
January 20, 2016
April 20, 2016
July 20, 2016
October 19, 2016

For more information about the STAC meetings, please contact Beverly Y. Tolbert at Moses Cone Hospital at


State Trauma Advisory Committee Minutes

NC Office of Emergency Medical Services