Staff and Contacts

The Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section’s main office is located in Raleigh, North Carolina.

There are six mental health teams and two ICF/IID survey teams across the state. These survey teams are home based. Each team has assigned county territories. For questions regarding a specific county, please contact the team leader assigned to that territory.

Raleigh Office
Stephanie Gilliam, Chief, Stephanie.Gilliam@dhhs.nc.gov

Kim Ruppel, Training & Development Program Manager, Kim.Ruppel@dhhs.nc.gov

Bryson Brown, South Piedmont MH Team Leader, Bryson.Brown@dhhs.nc.gov

Laurel Callis, Administrative Assistant, Laurel.Callis@dhhs.nc.gov

Renewal of License Coordinator, dhsr.mhrenewal@dhhs.nc.gov

Physical Address: 805 Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-855-3795
Fax: 919-715-8078

Home Based Teams
Robin Sulfridge, Western Mental Health (MH) Branch Manager, Robin.Sulfridge@dhhs.nc.gov
North Piedmont, Foothills, Mountains,
Telephone: 336-861-7342

Michiele Elliott, Eastern MH Branch Manager, Michiele.Elliott@dhhs.nc.gov
South Piedmont, North Coastal, South Coastal,
Telephone: 704-878-4280

Lynn Grier, Foothills MH Team Leader, Lynn.Grier@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 704-596-4072

Barbara Perdue-Evans, North Piedmont MH Team Leader, Barbara.Perdue-Evans@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 336-861-6283

Lisa Niemas-Holmes, Mountain MH Team Leader, Lisa.Holmes@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 828-686-0750

Wendy Boone, South Coastal MH Team Leader, Wendy.Boone@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 252-568-2744

Renee Kowalski-Ames, North Coastal MH Team Leader, Renee.Kowalski@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-552-6847

Jay Silva, ICF/IID Eastern Region Team Leader, Jay.Silva@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-703-6231

Steve Yost, ICF/IID Western Region Team Leader, Steve.Yost@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 828-750-4895