Staff and Contacts

The Mental Health Licensure and Certification Section has a main office in Raleigh and one regional office located in Black Mountain.

There are six mental health teams and two ICF/IID teams across the state.  Two mental health teams and one ICF/IID team work from the Raleigh office. One ICF/IID team works out of the Black Mountain office. Four mental health teams are home based. Each team has assigned county territories. For questions regarding a specific county, please contact the team leader assigned to that territory.

Raleigh Office
Stephanie Gilliam, Chief, Stephanie.Gilliam@dhhs.nc.gov

Kim Ruppel, Training & Development Program Manager, Kim.Ruppel@dhhs.nc.gov

Renee Kowalski-Ames, North Coastal Mental Health (MH) Team Leader, Renee.Kowalski@dhhs.nc.gov

Bryson Brown, South Piedmont MH Team Leader, Bryson.Brown@dhhs.nc.gov

Jay Silva, ICF/IID Eastern Region Team Leader, Jay.Silva@dhhs.nc.gov

Laurel Callis, Administrative Assistant, Laurel.Callis@dhhs.nc.gov

Renewal of License Coordinator, dhsr.mhrenewal@dhhs.nc.gov

Physical Address: 805 Biggs Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-855-3795

Black Mountain Office
Steve Yost, ICF/IID Western Region Team Leader, Steve.Yost@dhhs.nc.gov
Physical Address: 952 Old U.S. Highway 70 West, Black Mountain, NC
Telephone: 828-669-3372, ext. 249

Home Based Teams
Robin Sulfridge, Western Branch Manager: North Piedmont, Foothills, Mountains, Robin.Sulfridge@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 336-861-7342

Michiele Elliott, Eastern Branch Manager: South Piedmont, North Coastal, South Coastal, Michiele.Elliott@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 704-878-4280

Lynn Grier, Foothills MH Team Leader, Lynn.Grier@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 704-596-4072

Barbara Perdue-Evans, North Piedmont MH Team Leader, Barbara.Perdue-Evans@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 336-861-6283

Lisa Niemas-Holmes, Mountain MH Team Leader, Lisa.Holmes@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 828-686-0750

Wendy Boone, South Coastal MH Team Leader , Wendy.Boone@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 252-568-2744