SHCC Members

Name Contact Information Representing County Term Expires
Christopher G. Ullrich, M.D.
2623 Lemon Tree Lane
Charlotte, NC 28211
At-Large Mecklenburg County 12/31/2019
Stephen J. Lawler,
328 S. Laurel Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28207
Hospitals Mecklenburg County 12/31/2019
Robert S. "Trey" Adams, III 324 Pershing Road
Raleigh, NC 27608
Business and Industry (Small Business) Wake County 12/31/2017
Christina Apperson 5320 Burning Oak Ct.
Raleigh, NC 27606
At-Large Wake County 12/31/2019
Peter A. Brunnick 5918 Belle Chasse St.
Charlotte, NC 28210
Hospice Mecklenburg County 12/31/2017
James Burgin, The Honorable 6099 NC HWY 55 West
Angier, NC 27501
County Government Representative (Rural) Harnett County 12/31/2017
Stephen L. DeBiasi 2716 Ashton Drive
Wilmington, NC 28412
At-Large New Hanover County 12/31/2018
Mark E. Ellis, M.D. 1972 Maryland Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28209
At-Large Mecklenburg County 12/31/2017
Sandra B. Greene, DrPH 303 Hales Wood Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Academic Medical Centers Durham County 12/31/2017
Ralph E. Hise, The Honorable 44 Hemlock Avenue
Spruce Pine, NC 28777
N.C. Senate Mitchell County 12/31/2017
Kurt Jakusz 316 Mountain Laurel
Asheville, NC 28805
Home Care Facilities Buncombe County 12/31/2018
Valarie Jarvis 1310 North Mineral Springs Rd.
Durham, NC 27703
At-Large Durham County 12/31/2019
Lyndon K. Jordan III, M.D. 3949 Browning Place
Raleigh, NC 27609
At-Large Wake County 12/31/2017
Donny C. Lambeth, The Honorable 4627 South Main St.
Winston Salem, NC 27127
N.C. House of Representatives Forsyth County 12/31/2017
Kenneth J. Lewis 4 Squires Lane
Pinehurst, NC 28374
Health Insurance Industry Moore County 12/31/2019
Brian Lucas 16211 Woolwine Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
At-Large Mecklenburg County 12/31/2017
James L. Martin, Jr. 5863 Kingsway Blvd.
Hickory, NC 28602
Health Care Facilities Association Catawba County 12/31/2018
Robert B. McBride, M.D. 9848 Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28262
At-Large Mecklenburg County 12/31/2019
Denise Michaud 100 La Bellevue Street
Morganton, NC 28655
Local Health Directors Burke County 12/31/2017
Jaylan Parikh, M.D. 721 Tilghman Drive Ste 100
Dunn, NC 28334
At-Large Harnett County 12/31/2018
Prashant K. Patel, M.D. 103 Baines Court Ste 200
Cary, NC 27511
Physicians Wake County 12/31/2018
Thomas J. Pulliam, M.D. P.O. Box 1300
Southern Pines, NC 28388
At-Large Moore County 12/31/2018

SHCC Committees

Acute Care Services Committee

Is responsible for: planning for acute care beds, operating rooms, open heart surgery services, heart-lung bypass machines, burn intensive care services, transplantation services [bone marrow transplants and solid organ transplants], and inpatient rehabilitation services.

Members are: Sandra Greene (Chair); Christina Collins Apperson; Dr. Mark Ellis; Representative Donny Lambeth; Stephen Lawler; Kenneth Lewis; Dr. Robert McBride.

Long-Term and Behavioral Health Committee

Is responsible for: planning for nursing care facilities, adult care homes, home health services, hospice services, end-stage renal disease dialysis facilities, psychiatric inpatient facilities, substance abuse inpatient and residential services, and intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities.

Members are: Denise Michaud (Chair); Peter Brunnick; James Burgin; Kurt Jakusz; James Martin; Dr. Jaylan Parikh; Dr. T.J. Pullium.

Technology and Equipment Committee

Is responsible for: planning for lithotripsy, gamma knife, radiation oncology services - linear accelerators, positron emission tomography scanners, magnetic resonance imaging scanners, and cardiac catheterization/ angioplasty equipment.

Members are: Dr. Christopher G. Ullrich (Chair); Trey Adams; Stephen DeBiasi; Senator Ralph Hise; Valarie Jarvis; Dr. Lyndon K. Jordan; Brian Lucas; Dr. Prashant Patel.

Note: The SHCC Chairperson, Dr. Christopher Ullrich, serves as ex officio member of all standing committees. Each committee chairperson also serves as an ex officio member on the other standing committees.