Staff and Contacts

Main Raleigh Office

Physical Address: 1205 Umstead Drive Raleigh, NC 27603-2008

Telephone: 919-855-4520

Becky Wertz, Section Chief
Becky.Wertz@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-855-4520, Fax: 919-733-8274

Beverly Speroff, Assistant Section Chief
Beverly.Speroff@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-855-4520, Fax: 919-733-8274

Ibtisam Zatari, Branch Manager, N.C. Central Branch
Ibtisam.Zatari@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-855-4522, Fax: 919-733-8274

Denise Rogers-Murray, Branch Manager, N.C. East Branch
Denise.Rogers-Murray@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-855-4552, Fax: 919-733-8274

Cindy Deporter, State Survey Agency Director, Branch Manager, Quality Evaluative Systems Branch
Cindy.Deporter@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 919-855-4557, Fax: 919-733-8274

Western Regional Office

Physical Address: 952 Old US Highway 70, Building #17, Black Mountain, NC 28711

Darrin Long -- Branch Manager, N.C. West Branch
Darrin.Long@dhhs.nc.gov
Telephone: 828-669-3372, Fax: 828-669-3382

Key Personnel and Responsibilities

Below is a list of key personnel and their area of responsibility.

Main Nursing Home Licensure and Certification Telephone Number: 919-855-4520
Name Email Telephone Responsibilities
Becky Wertz Becky.Wertz@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4580 Informal dispute resolution coordinator, enhancement grants, Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Civil Money Penalty representative, initial licensure, NC Culture Change Coalition
Beverly Speroff Beverly.Speroff@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4555 Rules
Mary Maas Mary.Maas@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4554 Minimum data set (MDS)/Outcome & assessment information set
Kristina Mohammed Kristina.Mohammed@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4549 Administrator & director of nursing name changes
Donna Ronk Donna.Ronk@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4547 Record requests
Qwonthafia Jones Qwony.Jones@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4536 Bed changes
Name Changes
Changes of Ownership
Shonda Kelly Shonda.Kelly@dhhs.nc.gov 919-855-4548 EPOC Technical Questions