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Effective with date of service July 1, 2011, please replace the April 2010 Special Bulletin II, Health Check Billing 
Guide 2010, with the July 2011 edition of the Health Check Billing Guide.  For your convenience key words and 
phrases have been bolded. 
 
In the state of North Carolina, the EPSDT services program is administered under the name Health Check, 
which is the Medicaid Program for Children.  
 

EPSDT POLICY INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Background 
 
Federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C.§ 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the Social Security Act] 
requires state Medicaid programs to provide Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 
and Treatment (EPSDT) for recipients under 21 years of age.  Within the scope of 
EPSDT benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are required to cover any service 
that is medically necessary “to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, 
or a condition identified by screening,” whether or not the service is covered under the 
North Carolina State Medicaid Plan.  The services covered under EPSDT are limited to 
those within the scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 
1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  The listing of EPSDT/Medicaid services 
is appended to this instruction. 
 
EPSDT services include any medical or remedial care that is medically necessary to 
correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem].  
This means that EPSDT covers most of the treatments a recipient under 21 years of age 
needs to stay as healthy as possible, and North Carolina Medicaid must provide for 
arranging for (directly or through referral to appropriate agencies, organizations, or 
individuals) corrective treatment the need for which is disclosed by such child health 
screening services. “Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain the recipient’s health in 
the best condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, 
or prevent the development of additional health problems.  Even if the service will not 
cure the recipient’s condition, it must be covered if the service is medically necessary to 
improve or maintain the recipient’s overall health. 
 
EPSDT makes short-term and long-term services available to recipients under 21 years of 
age without many of the restrictions Medicaid imposes for services under a waiver OR 
for adults (recipients 21 years of age and over).  For example, a service must be covered 
under EPSDT if it is necessary for immediate relief (e.g., pain medication).  It is also 
important to note that treatment need not ameliorate the recipient’s condition taken as a 
whole, but need only be medically necessary to ameliorate one of the recipient’s 
conditions.  The services must be prescribed by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or 
other licensed practitioner and often must be approved in advance by Medicaid.  Refer to 
the Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, Section 6, Prior Approval, and the prior approval 
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web page, respectively at the addresses specified below for further information about 
EPSDT and prior approval requirements.   
 

• http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/library.htm  
• http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm 

EPSDT Features 
 
Under EPSDT, there is: 
1. No Waiting List for EPSDT Services 

EPSDT does not mean or assure that physicians and other licensed practitioners or 
hospitals/clinics chosen by the recipient and/or his/her legal representative will not 
have waiting lists to schedule appointments or medical procedures.  However, 
Medicaid cannot impose any waiting list and must provide coverage for corrective 
treatment for recipients under 21 years of age. 

2. No Monetary Cap on the Total Cost of EPSDT Services* 
A child under 21 years of age financially eligible for Medicaid is entitled to receive 
EPSDT services without any monetary cap provided the service meets all EPSDT 
criteria specified in this policy instruction.  If enrolled in a Community 
Alternatives Program (CAP), then the recipient under 21 years of age may receive 
BOTH waiver and EPSDT services.  However, it is important to remember that the 
conditions set forth in the waiver concerning the recipient’s budget and continued 
participation in the waiver apply.  See “EPSDT Coverage  and CAP Waivers” for 
further detail.  *EPSDT services are defined as Medicaid services within the 
scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 
1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. See attached listing. 

3. No Upper Limit on the Number of Hours or Units under EPSDT 
For clinical coverage policy limits to be exceeded, the provider’s documentation 
must address why it is medically necessary to exceed the limits in order to correct 
or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

4. No Limit on the Number of EPSDT Visits to a Physician, Therapist, Dentist, 
or Other Licensed Clinician 
To exceed such limits, the provider’s documentation must address why it is 
medically necessary to exceed the limits in order to correct or ameliorate a defect, 
physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

5. No Set List that Specifies When or What EPSDT Services or Equipment May 
Be Covered 
Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. 
§ 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT.  See 
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attached listing.  However, specific limitations in service definitions, clinical 
policies, or DMA billing codes MAY NOT APPLY to requests for services for 
children under 21 years of age. 

6. No Co-payment or Other Cost to the Recipient 
7. Coverage for Services That Are Never Covered for Recipients over 21 Years 

of Age 
Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. 
§ 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT.  See 
attached listing.  Provider documentation must address why the service is 
medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical and mental illness, 
or condition [health problem]. 

8. Coverage for Services Not Listed in the N.C. State Medicaid Plan 
Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. 
§ 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT. See 
attached listing. 

EPSDT Criteria 
 
It is important to note that the service can only be covered under EPSDT if all criteria 
specified below are met. 
1. EPSDT services must be coverable services within the scope of those listed in the 

federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  For 
example, “rehabilitative services” are a covered EPSDT service, even if the 
particular rehabilitative service requested is not listed in DMA clinical policies or 
service definitions. 

2. The service must be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical 
or mental illness, or a condition [health problem] diagnosed by the recipient’s 
physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner.  By requiring coverage of 
services needed to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a 
condition [health problem], EPSDT requires payment of services that are medically 
necessary to sustain or support rather than cure or eliminate health problems to the 
extent that the service is needed to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 
mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

3. The requested service must be determined to be medical in nature. 
4. The service must be safe. 
5. The service must be effective. 
6. The service must be generally recognized as an accepted method of medical 

practice or treatment. 
7. The service must not be experimental/investigational. 
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Additionally, services can only be covered if they are provided by a North Carolina 
Medicaid enrolled provider for the specific service type.  This may include an out-of-state 
provider who is willing to enroll if an in-state provider is not available. 

IMPORTANT POINTS ABOUT EPSDT COVERAGE 
General 
1. If the service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that the 

recipient is under 21 years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior 
approval. 

2. EPSDT services must be coverable within the scope of those listed in the federal 
law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  EPSDT requires 
Medicaid to cover these services if they are medically necessary to correct or 
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health problem]. 
“Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain the recipient’s health in the best 
condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or 
prevent the development of additional health problems. 

3. Recipients under 21 must be afforded access to the full panoply of EPSDT 
services, including case management. Case management must be provided to a 
Medicaid eligible child if medically necessary to correct or ameliorate the child’s 
condition regardless of eligibility for CAP waiver services. 

4. EPSDT services need not be services that are covered under the North Carolina 
State Medicaid Plan or under any of the Division of Medical Assistance’s (DMA) 
clinical coverage policies or service definitions or billing codes. 

5. Under EPSDT, North Carolina Medicaid must make available a variety of 
individual and group providers qualified and willing to provide EPSDT services. 

6. EPSDT operational principles include those specified below.  
a. When state staff or utilization review (UR) vendors review a covered state 

Medicaid plan services request for prior approval or continuing authorization 
for an individual under 21 years of age, the reviewer will apply the EPSDT 
criteria to the review. This means that: 
(1) Requests for EPSDT services do NOT have to be labeled as such.  Any 

proper request for services for a recipient under 21 years of age is a request 
for EPSDT services.  For recipients under 21 years of age enrolled in a CAP 
waiver, a request for services must be considered under EPSDT as well as 
under the waiver if the requested service is both a waiver service and a 
service within the scope of the category of services listed in the federal law 
at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. 
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(2) The decision to approve or deny the request will be based on the recipient’s 
medical need for the service to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical [or] 
mental illness, or condition [health condition].  

b. The specific coverage criteria (e.g., particular diagnoses, signs, or symptoms) in 
the DMA clinical coverage policies or service definitions do NOT have to be 
met for recipients under 21 years if the service is medically necessary to correct 
or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problems] 
if approved under the auspices of EPSDT. 

c. The specific numerical limits (number of hours, number of visits, or other 
limitations on scope, amount or frequency) in DMA clinical coverage policies, 
service definitions, or billing codes do NOT apply to recipients under 21 years 
of age if more hours or visits of the requested service are medically necessary to 
correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health 
problem].  This includes the hourly limits and location limits on Medicaid 
Community Support Services (CSS), a non-covered state Medicaid plan service, 
for example. 

d. Other restrictions in the clinical coverage policies, such as the location of the 
service , prohibitionon multiple services on the same day or at the same time 
(e.g., day treatment and residential treatment) must also be waived under 
EPSDT as long as the services are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate 
a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

e. Out-of-state services are NOT covered if similarly efficacious services that are 
medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, 
or condition [health problems] are available anywhere in the state of North 
Carolina. Services delivered without prior approval will be denied.  There is no 
retroactive prior approval for services that require prior approval, unless there is 
retroactive Medicaid eligibility.  Refer to the Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, 
Section 6, Prior Approval, for further information regarding the provision of 
out-of-state services. 

f. Providers or family members may write directly to the Assistant Director for 
Clinical Policy and Programs, Division of Medical Assistance, requesting a 
review for a specific service.  However, DMA vendors and contractors must 
consider any request for state Medicaid plan services for a recipient under 21 
years of age under EPSDT criteria when the request is made by the recipient’s 
physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner in accordance with the 
Division’s published policies.  If necessary, such requests will be forwarded to 
DMA or the appropriate vendor. 

g. Requests for prior approval for services must be fully documented to show 
medical necessity.  This requires current information from the recipient’s 
physician, other licensed clinicians, the requesting qualified provider, and/or 
family members or legal representative.  If this information is not provided, 
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Medicaid or its vendor will have to obtain the needed information, and this will 
delay the prior approval decision.  See procedure below for requesting EPSDT 
services regarding further detail about information to be submitted. 

h. North Carolina Medicaid retains the authority to determine how an identified 
type of equipment, therapy, or service will be met, subject to compliance with 
federal law, including consideration of the opinion of the treating physician and 
sufficient access to alternative services.  Services will be provided in the most 
economic mode, as long as the treatment made available is similarly efficacious 
to the service requested by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or other licensed 
practitioner, the determination process does not delay the delivery of the needed 
service, and the determination does not limit the recipient’s right to free choice 
of North Carolina Medicaid enrolled providers who provide the approved 
service.  It is not sufficient to cover a standard, lower cost service instead of a 
requested specialized service if the lower cost service is not equally effective in 
that individual case. 

i. Restrictions in CAP waivers such as no skilled nursing for the purpose of 
monitoring do not apply to EPSDT services if skilled monitoring is medically 
necessary.  Nursing services will be provided in accordance with 21 NCAC 
36.0221 (adopted by reference). 

j. Durable medical equipment (DME), assistive technology, orthotics, and 
prosthetics do NOT have to be included on DMA’s approved lists or be covered 
under a CAP waiver program in order to be covered under EPSDT subject to 
meeting the criteria specified in this policy. 

k. Medicaid will cover treatment that the recipient under 21 years of age needs 
under this EPSDT policy as long as the requested service is a service within the 
scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 
1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. 

l. North Carolina Medicaid will enroll providers, set reimbursement rates, set 
provider qualifications, and assure the means for claims processing when the 
service is not already established in the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan. 

m. Requests for prior approval of services are to be decided with reasonable 
promptness, usually within 15 business days.  No request for services for a 
recipient under 21 years of age will be denied, formally or informally, until it is 
evaluated under EPSDT. 

n. If services are denied, reduced, or terminated, proper written notice with appeal 
rights must be provided to the recipient and copied to the provider. The notice 
must include reasons for the intended action, citation that supports the intended 
action, and notice of the right to appeal.  Such a denial can be appealed in the 
same manner as any Medicaid service denial, reduction, or termination.  See the 
section of this manual entitled Medicaid Recipient Due Process (Right to 
Appeal Prior Approval Decisions). 
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o. The recipient has the right to continued Medicaid payment for services 
currently provided pending appeal.  This includes the right to reinstatement of 
services pending appeal if there was less than a 30 day interruption before 
submitting a re-authorization request. 

EPSDT Coverage and CAP Waivers 
1. Waiver services are available only to participants in a Community Alternatives 

Program (CAP) and are not a part of the EPSDT benefit unless the waiver service 
is ALSO an EPSDT service (e.g. durable medical equipment). 

2. Any request for services for a CAP recipient under age 21 must be evaluated under 
BOTH the waiver and EPSDT if the requested service is a service within the scope 
of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 
[1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  

3. Additionally, a child financially eligible for Medicaid outside of the waiver is 
entitled to elect EPSDT services without any monetary cap instead of waiver 
services. 

4. ANY child enrolled in a CAP program can receive BOTH waiver services and 
EPSDT services. However, if enrolled in a CAP program, approval of the waiver 
services as well as the delivery and cost of the recipient’s services must be in 
compliance with the requirements established by the waiver and this policy.  
Relative to cost of the services, cost neutrality must be maintained in accordance 
with waiver requirements.  While a recipient may exceed waiver limits, prior 
approval must be obtained as specified below.   
a. CAP for Children (CAP/C) and CAP for Disabled Adults (CAP/DA):  For a 

service that is both a waiver service and EPSDT service, the recipient may 
exceed the limit on that individual service, and prior approval is required before 
the limit is exceeded.  If the service is a waiver service only, the limit may not 
be exceeded.  Cost neutrality must be maintained in accordance with waiver 
requirements.   

b. CAP for Persons with Intellectual and Other Developmental Disabilities 
(CAP/IDD):  Prior approval to exceed $100,000 per year must be obtained 
from the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance 
Abuse Services (DMH/DD/SAS).  Cost neutrality must be maintained in 
accordance with waiver requirements. 

5. A recipient under 21 years of age on a waiting list for CAP services, who is an 
authorized Medicaid recipient without regard to approval under a waiver, is 
eligible for necessary EPSDT services without any waiting list being imposed by 
Medicaid. For further information, see “No Waiting List for EPSDT”. 

6. EPSDT services must be provided to recipients under 21 years of age in a CAP 
program under the same standards as other children receiving Medicaid services.  
For example, some CAP recipients under 21 years of age may need daily in-school 
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assistance supervised by a licensed clinician through Community Support Services 
(CSS), a non-covered or In-Home Care for Children (IHCC).  It is important to 
note that Medicaid services coverable under EPSDT may be provided in the school 
setting, including to CAP/IDD recipients.  Services provided in the school and 
covered by Medicaid must be included in the recipient’s budget. 

7. CAP/DA case managers can deny a request for CAP/DA waiver services.  If a 
CAP/DA case manager denies, reduces, or terminates a CAP/DA waiver service, it 
is handled in accordance with DMA’s prior approval and due process procedures. 
No other case manager can deny a service request supported by a licensed 
clinician, either formally or informally. 

8. When a recipient under 21 years of age is receiving CAP services, case managers 
must request covered state Medicaid plan services as indicated below.  Covered 
state Medicaid plan services are defined as requests for services, products, or 
procedures covered by the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan. 
a. CAP/C:  Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered 

under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must 
be forwarded to the appropriate vendor.  Please refer to the Utilization Review 
Contractor table on the prior approval web page at 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm to locate the appropriate 
vendor in the recipient’s county/catchment area and/or service type.  A plan of 
care revision for waiver services must be submitted to the CAP/C consultant as 
well. 

b. CAP/DA:  Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered 
under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must 
be forwarded to the appropriate vendor.  Please refer to the Utilization Review 
Contractor table on the prior approval web page at 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm to locate the appropriate 
vendor in the recipient’s county/catchment area and/or service type.  A plan of 
care revision for waiver services must be submitted to the CAP/DA case 
manager as well.  All EPSDT requests must be forwarded to the CAP/DA 
consultant at DMA. 

c. CAP/IDD:  Requests for medical, dental services and/or behavioral health 
services covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan must be 
forwarded to the appropriate DMA vendor for review and approval.  Please 
refer to the Utilization Review Contractor table on the prior approval web page 
at http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm to locate the appropriate 
vendor in the recipient’s county/catchment area and/or service type.  Plan of 
care revisions must be submitted in accordance with the policies and 
procedures published by DMA or the vendor (statewide or LME) reviewing the 
plan of care request.      
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NOTE:  Do not submit medical and dental requests to the statewide vendor or 
the LME for review.   

d. All EPSDT and covered state Medicaid plan requests for behavioral health 
services must be forwarded to the statewide vendor or the LME responsible for 
utilization review in the recipient’s county/catchment area as indicated in the 
Utilization Review Contractor table on the prior approval web page at 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm.  This includes requests for 
children not in a waiver who have a case manager. Requests for medical and 
dental services covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan must be 
forwarded to the appropriate vendor (medical or dental) for review and 
approval.  Plan of care revisions must be submitted in accordance with the 
policies and procedures published by DMA or the vendor (statewide or LME) 
reviewing the plan of care request.   

9. An appeal under CAP must also be considered under EPSDT criteria as well as 
under CAP provisions if the appeal is for a Medicaid recipient under 21 years of 
age and the service under appeal is both a waiver service and a service within the 
scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 
[1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  

EPSDT Coverage and Mental Health/Developmental Disability/Substance Abuse 
(MH/DD/SA) Services 
1. Staff employed by LMEs CANNOT deny requests for services, formally or 

informally. Requests must be forwarded to appropriate utilization vendor 
(statewide or LME responsible for utilization review in the recipient’s 
county/catchment area as indicated in the Utilization Review Contractor table on 
the prior approval web page at http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm.) 
if supported by a licensed clinician. 

2. LMEs may NOT use the Screening, Triage, and Referral (STR) process or IDD 
eligibility process as a means of denying access to Medicaid services.  Even if the 
LME STR screener does not believe the child needs enhanced services, the family 
must be referred to an appropriate Medicaid provider to perform a clinical 
evaluation of the child for any medically necessary service. 

3. Requests for prior approval of MH/DD/SA services for recipients under 21 must be 
sent to the statewide vendor or the LME responsible for utilization review in the 
recipient’s county/catchment area as indicated in the Utilization Review Contractor 
table on the prior approval web page at 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm.  If the request needs to be 
reviewed by DMA clinical staff, the utilization review vendor will forward the 
request to the Assistant Director for Clinical Policy and Programs. 

4. If a recipient under 21 years of age has a developmental disability diagnosis, this 
does not necessarily mean that the requested service is habilitative and may not be 
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covered under EPSDT.  The EPSDT criteria of whether the service is medically 
necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition 
[health problem] apply.  Examples include dual diagnoses and behavioral 
disorders.  All individual facts must be considered. 

5. All EPSDT requirements (except for the procedure for obtaining services) fully 
apply to all behavioral health utilization review vendors. 

PROCEDURE FOR REQUESTING EPSDT SERVICES 
 
Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Should the service, product, or procedure require prior approval, the fact that the recipient 
is under 21 years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval.  If prior 
approval is required and if the recipient does not meet the clinical coverage criteria or 
needs to exceed clinical coverage policy limits, submit documentation with the prior 
approval request that shows how the service at the requested frequency and amount is 
medically necessary and meets all EPSDT criteria, including to correct or ameliorate a 
defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem], to the appropriate 
vendor or DMA staff. When requesting prior approval for a covered service, refer to the 
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, section 6. If the request for service needs to be reviewed 
by DMA clinical staff, the vendor will forward the request to the Assistant Director for 
Clinical Policy and Programs. Should further information be required, the provider will 
be contacted. See the Provider Documentation section of these instructions for 
information regarding documentation requirements. 
 
In the event prior approval is not required for a service and the recipient needs to 
exceed the clinical coverage policy limitations, prior approval from a vendor or DMA 
staff is required. See the Provider Documentation section of these instructions for 
information regarding documentation requirements. 

Services Formerly Covered by Children’s Special Health Services (CSHS) 
Previously, requests for pediatric mobility systems, cochlear implants and accessories, 
ramps, tie-downs, car seats, vests, DME, orthotics and prosthetics, home health supplies, 
not listed on DME fee schedules for recipients under 21 years of age, oral nutrition, 
augmentative and alternative communication devices, and over-the counter medications 
were approved and processed by CSHS. These services have been transferred from CSHS 
to Medicaid as specified below. 

• Pediatric Mobility Systems, including non-listed components—Send to HP 
Enterprise Services using the Certificate of Medical Necessity/Prior Approval 
(CMN/PA form).  Refer to Clinical Coverage Policy 5A, Durable Medical 
Equipment, for details (on DMA’s Web site at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/). 
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• Cochlear/Auditory Brainstem Implants and Accessories—Fax all requests for 
external parts replacement and repair, in letter format, to the appropriate cochlear 
or auditory brainstem implant manufacturer. The manufacturer will process 
requests, obtain prior approval for external speech processors, and file claims. 
Guidelines for the letter requesting external parts replacement or repair can be 
obtained from the cochlear or auditory brainstem manufacturer. 

• Oral Nutrition Formula on DMA Fee Schedules—Send requests to HP 
Enterprise Services.  Refer to Clinical Coverage Policy 5A, Durable Medical 
Equipment, for details (on DMA’s Web site at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/).  
For those formulas not included on the DMA fee schedule and that have not been 
assigned Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) or Healthcare Common 
Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes, submit the request to the Assistant 
Director, Clinical Policy and Programs as specified on the Non-Covered State 
Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for Recipients under 21 Years of Age 
located on DMA’s Web site at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm.      

• Augmentative and Alternative Communication Devices on DMA Fee 
Schedules—Send requests to HP Enterprise Services.  Refer to Clinical Policy 5A, 
Durable Medical Equipment, for details (on DMA’s Web site at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/). 

• Ramps, Tie Downs, Car Seats, and Vests—Effective with date of request 
September 1, 2008, CSHS no longer authorizes payment for ramps, tie-downs, car 
seats, and vests. These items are not included in the DME covered by Medicaid, 
nor are they covered under EPSDT services, which cover medical equipment and 
supplies suitable for use in the home for Medicaid recipients under the age of 21. 
However, if the recipient is covered under a Medicaid waiver, these items may be 
considered if covered under the waiver. 

• Over-the-Counter (OTC) Products—Over the counter products are covered by 
N.C. Medicaid in accordance with policy A-2 located at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/index.htm.  If the OTC has a National Drug Code 
(NDC) number and the manufacturer has a valid rebate agreement with the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), but the drug does not appear on 
DMA’s approved coverage listing of OTC medications, please send the request to 
Assistant Director, Clinical Policy and Programs. 

 

Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services are requests for services, products, 
or procedures that are not included at all in the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan but 
are coverable under federal Medicaid law, 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, for 
recipients under 21 years of age. See attached listing.  Requests for non-covered state 
Medicaid plan services that have been assigned CPT and HCPCS codes should be 
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submitted to the appropriate vendor.  Medical, dental, and behavioral health service 
requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services that have not been assigned CPT 
and HCPCS codes and requests for a review when there is no established review process 
for a requested service should be submitted to the Assistant Director, Clinical Policy and 
Programs, Division of Medical Assistance  at the address or facsimile (fax) number 
specified on the Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for Recipients 
under 21 Years of Age.   To decrease delays in reviewing non-covered State Medicaid 
plan requests, providers are asked to complete this form. A review of a request for a non-
covered State Medicaid plan service includes a determination that ALL EPSDT criteria 
specified in these instructions are met. 

 
PROVIDER DOCUMENTATION 

 
Documentation for either covered or non-covered State Medicaid plan services should 
show how the service will correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a 
condition [health problem]. This includes: 
1. documentation showing that medical necessity and policy criteria are met; 
2. documentation to support that all EPSDT criteria are met; and 
3. evidence-based literature to support the request, if available.  
 
Should additional information be required, the provider will be contacted. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION ABOUT EPSDT 
• Important additional information about EPSDT and prior approval is found in the 

Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, Sections 2 and 6, and on the DMA EPSDT provider 
page.  The web page addresses are specified below. 
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/ 
Health Check Billing Guide: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/healthcheck/  
EPSDT Provider Page: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/ 

• DMA and its vendors will conduct ongoing training for employees, agents, and 
providers on this instruction. Training slides are available on the EPSDT provider 
page on DMA’s Web site at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/. 

 
ATTACHMENT 

• Listing of Medicaid (EPSDT) Services Found in the Social Security Act at 1905(a) 
[42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a)] 
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Listing of EPSDT Services Found at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social 
Security Act] 

 
• Inpatient hospital services (other than services in an institution for mental disease) 
• Outpatient hospital services 
• Rural health clinic services (including home visits for homebound individuals) 
• Federally qualified health center services 
• Other laboratory and X-ray services (in an office or similar facility) 
• EPSDT (Note: EPSDT offers periodic screening services for recipients under age 

21 and Medicaid covered services necessary to correct or ameliorate a diagnosed 
physical or mental condition) 

• Family planning services and supplies 
• Physician services (in office, recipient's home, hospital, nursing facility, or 

elsewhere) 
• Medical and surgical services furnished by a dentist 
• Home health care services (nursing services; home health aides; medical supplies, 

equipment, and appliances suitable for use in the home; physical therapy, 
occupation therapy, speech pathology, audiology services provided by a home 
health agency or by a facility licensed by the State to provide medical 
rehabilitation services) 

• Private duty nursing services 
• Clinic services (including services outside of clinic for eligible homeless 

individuals) 
• Dental services 
• Physical therapy, occupational therapy, and services for individuals with speech, 

hearing, and language disorders 
• Prescribed drugs 
• Dentures 
• Prosthetic devices 
• Eyeglasses 
• Services in an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
• Medical care, or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, 

furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by 
State law, specified by the Secretary (also includes transportation by a provider to 
whom a direct vendor payment can appropriately be made) 

• Other diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, including any 
medical or remedial services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting) 
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recommended by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts 
within the scope of their practice under State law, for the maximum reduction of 
physical or mental disability and restoration of an individual to the best possible 
functional level 

• Inpatient psychiatric hospital services for individuals under age 21 
• Services furnished by a midwife, which the nurse midwife is legally authorized to 

perform under state law, without regard to whether the nurse-midwife is under the 
supervision of, or associated with, a physician or other health care provider 
throughout the maternity cycle 

• Hospice care 
• Case management services 
• TB-related services 
• Respiratory care services 
• Services furnished by a certified pediatric nurse practitioner or certified family 

nurse practitioner, which the practitioner is legally authorized to perform under 
state law 

• In-Home Care for Children (in a home or other location) furnished to an individual 
who is not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded, or institution for mental disease 

• Primary care case management services 
 
Definitions of the above federal Medicaid services can be found in the Code of Federal 
Regulations 42 CFR 440.1-440.170 at 
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_06/42cfr440_06.html. 
 
Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for Recipients Under 21 
Years Old can be downloaded at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/forms/NonCoveredServicesRequest.pdf 
 

 
HEALTH CHECK/EPSDT OVERVIEW 

 
Health Check/EPSDT is important because 
 
1. It provides for early and regular medical, developmental (including physical and 

mental health development), dental screenings and ongoing surveillance for all 
Medicaid recipients under the age of 21. 

2. It is part of the federal Medicaid EPSDT requirement that provides recipients with 
medically necessary health care to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or a condition identified through a screening assessment. 
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3. Under Health Check/EPSDT, the N.C. Medicaid Program has an explicit obligation 
to make available a variety of individual and group providers qualified and willing 
to provide Health Check/EPSDT services. 

 
Health Check screening, diagnostic and treatment services are free of charge to the 
recipient.  Health Check recommends regular medical screening assessments (well-child 
check-ups) for recipients as indicated in the table below. The Periodicity Schedule is only 
a guideline; if a recipient needs to have assessments on a different schedule, the visits 
are still covered. 
 

 
Health Check/EPSDT Periodicity Schedule  
 
Within 1st month 9 or 15 months 
2 months 12 months 
4 months 18 months 
6 months For children ages 2 through 20, annual visits are recommended 
 
Each Health Check screening component is vital for measuring and monitoring over 
time a child’s physical, mental, and developmental growth.  Families are encouraged to 
have their children receive Health Check screening assessments and immunizations on a 
regular schedule.  All Health Check components are required and must be documented in 
the child’s medical record.  The components are based on the American Academy of 
Pediatrics (AAP) Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care and may be 
found at http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/data/120/6/1376/DC1/1.  The 
periodicity schedule has been changed to better align Health Check program 
guidelines with new national standards. Assessments are strongly recommended 
annually from 2 years of age through 20 years of age.   
 
It is also the responsibility of each health care provider to assist families in scheduling 
appointments for timely assessments, to create a quality system for follow-up with 
families whose children are delinquent for preventive health care check-ups, and to make 
appropriate referrals and requests for medically necessary health care services to correct 
or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified through a 
screening assessment.  
 
Periodic and Interperiodic Health Check Screening Assessments 
 
Periodic Health Check screening assessments require all age-appropriate components 
including comprehensive health history, measurements, vision and hearing 
screening/assessment, dental screening, laboratory tests as clinically indicated (including 
blood lead screening test at 12 and 24 months of age), nutritional assessment, 
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developmental screening/assessment (including physical and mental development), 
comprehensive unclothed physical assessment, immunizations, anticipatory guidance, and 
follow-up/referral as indicated.  EPSDT requires that medically necessary health care to 
correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified through 
a screening assessment is covered. 
 
Refer to the Periodicity Schedule located on page 14 for the recommended age intervals 
for periodic screening assessments. 
 
Interperiodic Health Check screening assessments require all age-appropriate 
components except developmental, hearing, and vision screenings/risk assessments 
and may be performed outside of the Periodicity Schedule, located on page 14, for 
reasons including but not limited to: 
 
• When a child requires a kindergarten or sports physical outside the recommended 

schedule.  
• When a child’s previously diagnosed physical, mental, or developmental illnesses 

or conditions require closer monitoring.  
• When further assessment, diagnosis, or treatment is needed due to physical or 

mental illness. 
• Upon referral by a health, developmental, or educational professional based on 

physical or clinical assessment. 
 
Note:  Providers must document in the medical record the reason necessitating an 
Interperiodic screening assessment.  All electronically submitted claims should list 
referral code indicator “E” when a referral is made for follow-up on a defect, physical or 
mental illness, or a condition identified through a Health Check screening assessment. 

 
HEALTH CHECK SCREENING ASSESSMENT COMPONENTS 

 
A complete Health Check screening assessment consists of the following age-appropriate 
components:   
 
• Comprehensive unclothed physical assessment 

To be performed at every Health Check screening assessment.  A complete 
physical appraisal of the unclothed child/adolescent must be performed to 
distinguish any observable deviations from normal, expected findings.  The 
assessment will use techniques of inspection, palpation, percussion, and 
auscultation.     
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• Comprehensive health history 
To be performed at every Health Check screening assessment.  At the time of the 
initial evaluation, this will include a medical history, family history, social history, 
and review of systems.  This information must be updated at subsequent visits. 

 
• Nutritional assessment 

To be performed at every Health Check screening assessment. The nutritional 
assessment may include a combination of physical, laboratory, health risk 
assessment, and dietary determinations that will yield information in assessing the 
nutritional status of the child or youth.  Further assessment or an appropriate 
management plan with referral and follow-up is indicated when dietary practices 
suggest risk factors for co-morbidities, dietary inadequacy, obesity, disordered 
eating practices (pica, eating disorders, or excessive supplementation) or other 
nutritional problems. 
 
The following resources are offered to assist with preventive counseling and 
management approaches:   
• Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and 

Adolescents, Third Edition, Chapters 4-5 at 
http://brightfutures.aap.org/3rd_Edition_Guidelines_and_Pocket_Guide.html. 

• The Eat Smart Move More “Prescription for Health—5-3-2-1-Almost None” 
guide at 
http://www.eatsmartmovemorenc.com/PediatricObesityTools/PediatricObesity
Tools.html.    

• “MyPyramid” recommendations at http://www.mypyramid.gov/. 
• The Pediatric Obesity Prevention and Treatment Algorithm (NC Design Team, 

Contributors, and Reviewers) and related tools are available at 
http://www.eatsmartmovemorenc.com/PediatricObesityTools/ 
PediatricObesityTools.html. 

 
It is also recommended that all female adolescents of childbearing age take a 
multivitamin with folic acid (http://jama.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/full/279/18/1430 
and http://www.getfolic.com/ ) 

 
• Anticipatory guidance and health education 

To be performed at every Health Check screening assessment.  The Bright 
Futures 2008 Pocket Guide provides a quick reference tool for anticipatory 
guidance topics by age 
(http://brightfutures.aap.org/pdfs/BF3%20pocket%20guide_final.pdf).   
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• Measurements, blood pressure, and other vital signs 
To be performed as age appropriate and medically necessary at every Health Check 
screening assessment. Height, weight, head circumference, BMI (Body Mass 
Index) and BMI percentile must be measured and/or calculated and plotted on a 
gender and age-appropriate growth chart, as indicated. BMI and BMI percentile are 
required for ages 2 years and above. Weight for length must be assessed for all 
recipients under 2 years of age.  Vital signs should be measured as appropriate and 
it is recommended that providers reference tables of age appropriate normal vital 
signs as needed.  Blood pressure is required as part of the screening assessment 
visit beginning at age 3 years old.  However, blood pressure measurement in 
infants and children with specific risk conditions should be considered and 
performed before 3 years of age. 
 

• ICD-9-CM Coding for BMI 
The American Academy of Pediatrics has identified childhood obesity as a 
significant health issue, both for its documented risks to health and well-being 
during childhood and its implications for health problems as an adult.   Helping 
primary care clinicians and families to prevent and treat childhood obesity and 
overweight conditions is a priority of the Academy. 
 
Measurement and follow-up of Body Mass Index (BMI) is a core Health 
Information Data and Information Set (HEDIS) measure for quality of care. In 
December of 2009, The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 
included BMI measurement in its set of 24 child health indicators for state 
Medicaid and CHIP programs. CCNC already measures several of the child health 
indicators, and will be adding new ones over the coming year.  In order to measure 
rates of documentation of Body Mass Index (BMI) as part of the CCNC Quality 
Measures and Feedback, providers should include appropriate ICD-9-CM 
diagnosis codes on claims billed for each Health Check visit. .    
 
To promote quality of care, the coding of BMI percentile by appropriate V code 
will become a routine part of coding for Health Check visits (age 3 years and up) 
along with the V20.2 code.  CCNC and DMA strongly encourage all primary care 
providers to begin incorporating the appropriate BMI V codes into their office 
processes for well-child care. 
 
The following diagnosis codes should be incorporated into Health Check billing 
documentation for children, ages 3 to 21 years: 

 V85.51  <5 percentile  Failure to Thrive 
 V85.52  5 – 85 percentile  
 V85.53  85 – 95 percentile  overweight 
 V85.54  > 95 percentile  obese 



  July 2011 
 

07.01.2011 19 

 
• Developmental screening (including physical and mental development)  

To be performed at periodic screening assessments at ages 6, 12, and 18 or 24 
months, and at 3 years, 4 years, and 5 years of age using a standardized and 
validated screening tool.  A complete list of appropriate screening tools can be 
found at http://www.dbpeds.org/. There is also a secondary link: 
www.developmentalscreening.org/screening_tools. Additional information, 
training, and resources for obtaining validated tools may be found at 
www.aap.org/sections/dbpeds/pratcice-screening.asp --From the menu on the left 
hand side, click on Screening and Assessment.  This site also has additional 
information regarding the ABCD initiative. 
 
The two most common tools utilized by North Carolina Medicaid providers are 
ASQ and PEDs tools.  The ASQ-3 (Ages and Stages Questionnaire) tool can be 
found at www.brookepublishing.com or www.agesandstages.com.  The PEDs 
(Parents’ Evaluation of Developmental Status) tool can be found at 
www.pedstest.com. 
 
For the M-CHAT screening tool, instructions, and permission, visit 
www.firstsigns.org/downloads/m-chat.PDF. 
 
The American Academy of Pediatrics’ policy on Developmental Surveillance and 
Screening can be found at 
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/reprint/pediatrics;118/1/405.pdf. At all 
other periodic check-ups, developmental surveillance must be done. The Bright 
Futures Pocket Guide at 
http://brightfutures.aap.org/pdfs/BF3%20pocket%20guide_final.pdf provides 
guidelines for developmental surveillance for each periodic screening assessment. 

 
Providers must perform routine screening for autism spectrum disorders using a 
validated screening instrument at ages 18 and 24 months.  The Modified Checklist 
for Autism in Toddlers is a validated tool that is readily available at 
http://www.firstsigns.org/downloads/m-chat.pdf.  Guidance for scoring the tool is 
available at http://www.firstsigns.org/downloads/Downloads_archive/m-
chat_scoring.PDF.  When the screen is positive, providers should refer children for 
Early Intervention services and an audiology evaluation. If the child also has a 
global developmental delay or an intellectual disability, or a suspected genetic or 
neurologic disorder, providers should consider referral to a developmental and 
behavioral pediatrician, geneticist or neurologist. Providers can bill 99420 EP for 
this developmental screening since this would be done in addition to the ASQ 
or PEDS.  
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A health risk assessment (e.g. Bright Futures Tool Kit/GAPS/HEADSSS) is 
recommended to be performed on youth ages 11-20.  Further screening for 
developmental, behavioral or mental health issues using evidence-based tools is 
recommended (e.g. PSC; SDQ; Vanderbilt; PHQ-9; Beck’s Depression Inventory-
Primary Care Version).  The health risk assessment and an evidence-based 
developmental, behavioral-mental health screening can be billed using CPT 99420 
EP (maximum of 2 units/date of service). Additionally providers may bill CPT 
Codes 99406 EP/ 99407 EP (Smoking & Tobacco Use Cessation Counseling) and 
CPT 99408 EP/ 99409 EP (Alcohol and Substance Abuse Screening and Brief 
Intervention / CRAFFT). 
 

• Immunizations  
Immunizations must be provided at the time of a Periodic or Interperiodic 
screening assessment if needed.  It is not appropriate for a Health Check 
screening assessment to be performed in one location and a child referred to 
another location or office for immunizations.   

 
The Recommended Immunization Schedules for Persons Aged 0 through 18---
United States, 2011, approved by the Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices (ACIP), American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American 
Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) may be found at 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/recs/schedules/child-schedule.htm. 
 

 Note:  Please refer to pages 21 through 32 in this guide for additional 
immunization information. 

 
• Vision screenings 

Objective screenings must be performed during every Periodic screening 
assessment beginning at age 3 through age 10 years. Starting at age 11 years, vision 
screenings must be performed once every three years. Selectively screen vision at 
other ages based on the provider’s assessment of risk, including any academic 
difficulties. For guidance on vision risk assessment/screening for children and 
youth, go to AAP Policy Statement on “Eye Examination in Infants, Children and 
Young Adults by Pediatricians” at 
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/reprint/pediatrics;111/4/902.pdf.  
 
For children who are uncooperative with a vision screening, providers may ask the 
parent or legal guardian to bring the child back into the office within a few days for 
a second attempt at the vision screening. Children who cannot be tested after 
repeated attempts must be referred to an ophthalmologist or optometrist for a 
comprehensive vision examination.  The repeated attempts and referral to an 
ophthalmologist/optometrist must be documented in the medical record. 
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For children who are uncooperative, blind, or have an autism spectrum disorder, 
providers must: 
1. Document in the patient’s medical record the date of service and the reason(s) 

why the provider was unable to perform the vision screening, 
2. Submit the claim to HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES without the vision CPT 

code,  
3. HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES will process the claim.   
 

• Hearing screenings 
Objective screenings using an otoacoustic auditory emission (OAE) tool or 
audiometer (auditory sweep) must be performed annually for children ages 4-10.   
 
At all other ages, selectively screen based on the provider’s assessment of risk.  
Screening must occur if the parent is concerned about the child’s hearing, speech or 
language OR the child is exposed to potentially damaging noise levels, head 
trauma with loss of consciousness, recurring ear infections, acute/chronic disease 
that could contribute to hearing loss, ototoxic medications or reports problems 
including academic difficulties.  For further guidance go to 
http://www.medicalhomeinfo.org/how/clinical_care/hearing_screening/#pubs .   

 
 
HEALTH CHECK SCREENING ASSESSMENT COMPONENTS, continued 

 
For children who are uncooperative with a hearing screening, providers may ask 
the parent or legal guardian to bring the child back into the office within a few days 
for a second attempt at the hearing screening. Children who cannot be tested 
after repeated attempts must be referred to an audiologist for a hearing 
evaluation. The repeated attempts and referral to an audiologist must be 
documented in the medical record. 

 
For children who are uncooperative, deaf, or have an autism spectrum disorder, 
providers must: 
1. Document in the patient’s medical record the date of service and the reason(s) 

why the provider was unable to perform the hearing screening, 
2. Submit the claim to HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES without the hearing CPT 

code,  
3. HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES will process the claim.  

 
• Dental screenings 

An oral screening must be performed at every Health Check screening assessment.  
In addition, referral to a dentist is recommended for every child before age 1 
and required beginning at age 3.  An oral screening performed during a physical 
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assessment is not a substitute for an examination that results from a direct referral 
to a dentist. The initial dental referral must be provided regardless of the 
periodicity schedule unless it is known that the child is already receiving dental 
care.  Thereafter, dental referrals should, at a minimum, conform to the dental 
service periodicity schedule, which is currently one routine dental examination 
every six months. When any screening indicates a need for dental services at an 
earlier age (such as baby bottle caries), referrals must be made for needed 
dental services and documented in the child’s medical record.  The periodicity 
schedule for dental examinations is not governed by the schedule for regular health 
check-ups. For a list of dental providers by county who accept Medicaid, go to:  
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/dental/dentalprov.htm. 

 
Note:  Although not a requirement of a Health Check screening assessment, 
providers who perform a Health Check screening assessment and dental varnishing 
may bill for both services.  Refer to Clinical Coverage Policy # 1A-23, Physician 
Fluoride Varnish Services, on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/ 
for billing codes and guidelines.  
 

 
HEALTH CHECK SCREENING ASSESSMENT COMPONENTS, continued 
 
• Laboratory procedures 

Laboratory procedures include hemoglobin or hematocrit, newborn 
metabolic/sickle cell screening, tuberculin skin test, and lead testing. 
 
Note: Medicaid will not reimburse separately for these routine laboratory 
tests when performed during a Health Check screening assessment. Other 
laboratory tests, as indicated, may be performed and billed as medically 
indicated (e.g. Pregnancy Testing and Sexually Transmitted Disease Screening 
for sexually active youth). 

 
 
Hemoglobin or Hematocrit 
Hemoglobin or hematocrit must be measured once during infancy (preferably 
between the ages of 9 and 12 months) for all children.  An assessment of risk for 
anemia should be performed at other visits and a hemoglobin or hematocrit done, 
only as appropriate.   
 
Risk factors for anemia in infants include prematurity, low birth weight and early 
introduction of cow’s milk.  For other children and adolescents, previous diagnosis 
of iron deficiency anemia, limited access to food, a low iron diet, strict vegetarian 
diet without receiving an iron supplement, or risk of iron deficiency due to special 
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health care needs may be risk factors for anemia.  In adolescent females (ages 11 to 
21 years) an annual hemoglobin or hematocrit must be performed if any of the 
following risk factors are present:  extensive menstrual or other blood loss, low 
iron intake, or a previous diagnosis of iron deficiency anemia.  In the absence of 
risk factors for anemia, hemoglobin or hematocrit screening is no longer 
recommended as a “routine” screening test for children over one year of age 
and adolescents. 
 
If there is a documented normal result of a hemoglobin or hematocrit performed by 
another provider within three months prior to the date of the Health Check 
screening assessment, repeating the hemoglobin or hematocrit is not required as 
part of the Health Check screening assessment unless the provider believes that this 
test is needed.  The result and source of the test must be documented in the 
child’s medical record.  
 
The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children 
(WIC) has specific guidelines for hematocrit/hemoglobin testing.  Sharing the test 
results between the WIC Program and the primary care provider (PCP) is 
encouraged with appropriate release of information.  For more information on 
requirements and time frames, call the local WIC office. 
 
Newborn Metabolic/Sickle Cell Screening 
North Carolina hospitals are required to screen all newborns for sickle cell disease 
and a number of other genetic and metabolic conditions prior to discharge from the 
hospital. Those results from the State Laboratory of Public Health must be 
documented in the child's medical record as soon as possible, but no later than 
three months of age.  This ideally should be a print out of the results from the 
state lab’s website for that child.  To link to the State Laboratory of Public Health 
website, go to http://slph.ncpublichealth.com.   
 
It is important to confirm the newborn metabolic/sickle cell screening has been 
done as soon as possible.  Contact the hospital of birth if the results are not 
available online within two weeks to confirm that the screening was done.  An 
infant without documentation of being screened at birth should have the screening 
test as soon as possible but no later than three months of age.  
 
Resources available to you if a screening test is positive include: Children with 
Special Health Care Needs Help Line at 1-800-737-3028; genetic centers at the 
tertiary care centers; and the N.C. Sickle Cell Program 
(http://www.ncsicklecellprogram.org/SC_Resources.htm). 
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Tuberculin Test  
 Reviewing perinatal histories, family and personal medical histories, significant 
events in life and other components of the social history will identify children and 
adolescents for whom tuberculosis (TB) testing is indicated.  If none of the 
screening criteria listed below are present, routine TB screening is not 
recommended. 
 
TB testing should be performed as clinically indicated for children and adolescents 
at increased risk of exposure to tuberculosis, via Purified Protein Derivative 
(PPD) intradermal injection/Mantoux method – not Tine Test. An interferon 
gamma release assay (blood test, either Quantiferon Gold in-tube® test or T-SPOT 
TB® test) can be used in place of the tuberculin skin test for children 5 years and 
older, but the PPD is preferred for children under 5 years of age. Criteria for 
screening children and adolescents of all ages for TB, according to the North 
Carolina Tuberculosis Control Branch, are as follows:  
1. Children or adolescents reasonably suspected of having tuberculosis disease 

based on clinical symptoms. 
2. Children or adolescents who present for care with the following risk factors 

should have a baseline screen: 
a. Foreign-born individuals from high prevalence areas:  Asia, Africa, the 

Caribbean, Latin America, Mexico, South America, Pacific Islands, the 
Middle East or Eastern Europe.  Low prevalence countries for tuberculosis 
disease are the USA, Canada, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and countries 
in Western Europe.  

b. Children or adolescents who are migrants, seasonal farm workers, homeless 
or were previously incarcerated. 

c. Children or adolescents who are HIV-infected. 
d. Children or adolescents who inject illicit drugs or use crack cocaine. 
e. Children or adolescents who have traveled outside the United States and who 

have stayed with family or friends who live in high-incidence areas, for more 
than one month, cumulatively spent one month or more in a high incidence 
area. 

f. Children or adolescents who have been exposed to adults at high-risk (those 
who are homeless, incarcerated, or HIV positive or who have past or present 
history of substance abuse). 

Subsequent TB skin testing (or blood testing) is not necessary unless there is a 
continuing risk of exposure to persons with tuberculosis disease. 

 
The North Carolina Tuberculosis Control Branch (919-733-7286) is responsible for 
oversight of testing of household and other close contacts of active cases of 
pulmonary and laryngeal tuberculosis.  Questions related to policy interpretation or 
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other questions related to TB skin testing should be directed to the local health 
departments. 

 
 
 

Lead testing 
Federal regulations state that all Medicaid-enrolled children must have a 
blood lead test at 12 and 24 months of age.  Providers must document results 
in the medical records.  Children between 36 and 72 months of age must be tested 
if they have not been previously tested. Providers should also perform lead testing 
when otherwise clinically indicated. 
 
Medical follow-up begins with a blood lead level greater than or equal to 10 
ug/dL.  Capillary blood level samples are adequate for the initial testing.  Venous 
blood level samples should be collected for confirmation of all elevated blood lead 
results. 

 
Blood Lead 

Concentratio
n 

Recommended Response 

<10 ug/dL Rescreen at 24 months of age 

10 through 
19 ug/dL 

Confirmation (venous) testing should be conducted 
within three months.  If confirmed, repeat testing should 
be conducted every 2 to 4 months until the level is shown to 
be <10 ug/dL on two consecutive tests (venous or capillary 
blood).  The family should receive lead education and 
nutrition counseling.  A detailed environmental history 
should be taken to identify any obvious sources of exposure.  
If the blood lead level is confirmed at ≥10 ug/dL, 
environmental investigation will be offered.  

20 through 
44 ug/dL 

Confirmation (venous) testing should be conducted 
within 1 week.  If confirmed, the child should be referred 
for medical evaluation and should continue to be retested 
every 2 months until the blood lead level is shown to be <10 
ug/dL on two consecutive tests (venous or capillary blood).  
Environmental investigations are required and remediation 
for identified lead hazards shall occur for all children less 
than 6 years of age with confirmed blood lead levels >20 
ug/dL. 
 



  July 2011 
 

07.01.2011 26 

≥45 ug/dL The child should receive a venous lead test for 
confirmation as soon as possible. If confirmed, the child 
must receive urgent medical and environmental follow-up. 
Chelation therapy should be administered to children with 
blood lead levels in this range.  Symptomatic lead poisoning 
or a venous lead level >70 ug/dL is a medical emergency 
requiring inpatient chelation therapy.  

 
State Laboratory of Public Health for Blood Lead Testing 
 
The State Laboratory of Public Health will analyze blood lead specimens for 
all children less than 6 years of age at no charge.  Providers requiring results 
from specimens of children outside this age group should contact the State 
Laboratory of Public Health at 919-733-3937.  
 
For additional information about lead testing and follow-up refer to the North 
Carolina Childhood Lead Testing and Follow Up Manual found at: 
http://www.deh.enr.state.nc.us/ehs/Children_Health/2009printedversionleadmanual
.pdf . 

 
• Follow-up and Referral 

In a family-centered medical home, the health care team works in partnership with 
a child and a child’s family to assure that all of the medical and non-medical needs 
of the child are met.  To assure continuity of care, if the Health Check screening 
assessment is not performed in the child’s medical home, then the results of the 
visit and recommendations for follow-up should be shared with the family’s 
permission. 

 
Children and youth with suspected or identified problems that are not treated in-
house must be referred to and receive consultation from an appropriate source.  A 
requirement of Health Check/EPSDT is that children be referred for and receive 
medically necessary health care services to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 
mental illness, or a condition identified through a screening assessment. 

 
If a communicable disease has been diagnosed as a result of a Health Check 
Screening Assessment, report the disease using the Confidential Communicable 
Disease Report – Part 1 Form at: 
http://www.epi.state.nc.us/epi/gcdc/manual/reportforms/Morb_Card.pdf.  

 
Plan for the youth’s transition from pediatric to adult health care by encouraging 
their involvement in health care decision making. Support the parent’s role in 
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promoting the development of the youth’s self-management skills. Transition 
resources for families who have youth with special health care needs are available at 
http://www.fpg.unc.edu/~ncodh/ChildandAdolescentHealth/ and 
http://hctransitions.ichp.ufl.edu/.                                     

 
Discuss timing for the next Health Check screening assessment appointment and 
schedule a visit, if appropriate. 

 
IMMUNIZATIONS 

 
Immunization Billing Overview 
 
The North Carolina Immunization Program (NCIP)/Vaccines for Children (VFC) 
Program provides, at no charge, all recommended vaccines for all children birth through 
18 years of age present in North Carolina, who are VFC-eligible, including Medicaid 
children.  Vaccines are provided in accordance with the recommendations of the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) of the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC).  Because of the availability of VFC vaccines for 
Medicaid children, Medicaid does not reimburse for vaccines available from the 
NCIP/VFC program.  Medicaid does, however, reimburse for the administration of these 
vaccines.  
 
Health Choice recipients are considered insured; therefore, they are not eligible for 
VFC vaccines. 
 
Providers must use purchased vaccines for Health Check recipients ages 19 and 20, who 
(because of their age) are not routinely eligible for NCIP/VFC vaccines.  When 
purchased vaccine is administered to this age group, Medicaid will reimburse providers 
for the vaccine product and the administration fee.  Note that some NCIP vaccines may 
be administered to patients ages 19 and older, in which case Medicaid will cover the 
administration fee.  Vaccine procedure codes must always be included on the claim. 
 
Note:  The EP modifier must always be appended to the immunization 
administration CPT procedure code when billing for Medicaid recipients from birth 
through 20 years of age. 
 
EPSDT PROVISION:  EPSDT allows a recipient less than 21 years of age to receive 
services in excess of the limitations or restrictions and without meeting the specific 
criteria in this section when such services are medically necessary health care services 
to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health 
problem].  This includes EPSDT coverage of additional codes/procedures as it relates to 
immunization administration.  Documentation must show how the service product or 
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procedure will correct or improve or maintain the recipient’s health in the best condition 
possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or prevent the 
development of additional health problems. Use the Non-covered State Medicaid Plan 
Services Request Form found at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm to 
submit the request. 
 
The immunization administration codes currently covered are CPT codes 90471 through 
90474. Their descriptors are as follows:  
 
Procedure 
Code 

Description 

90471 Immunization administration (includes percutaneous, intradermal, 
subcutaneous, or intramuscular injections); one vaccine (single or 
combination vaccine/toxoid) 

90472+ 
(add-on-code) 

Immunization administration (includes percutaneous, intradermal, 
subcutaneous, or intramuscular injections); one vaccine (single or 
combination vaccine/toxoid) each additional vaccine (single or 
combination vaccine/toxoid) 
List separately in addition to code for primary procedure 

90473 Immunization administration by intranasal or oral route; 1 vaccine 
(single or combination vaccine/toxoid) 

90474+* 
(add-on-code) 

Immunization administration by intranasal or oral route; each 
additional vaccine (single or combination vaccine/toxoid) 
List separately in addition to code for primary procedure 

* Currently, 90474 cannot be billed with 90473 because there are no two oral and/or 
intranasal vaccines or combination of an oral and intranasal vaccine that would be 
given to a recipient 
 
Private Sector Providers and Local Health Departments  
An immunization administration fee may be billed if it is the only service provided that 
day or if any immunizations are provided in addition to a Health Check assessment or an 
office visit.  
• Administration of one injectable vaccine is billed with CPT code 90471 (one unit) 

with the EP modifier.   
• Additional injectable immunization administrations are billed with CPT code 

90472 with the EP modifier. The appropriate number of units must be billed for 
each additional immunization administration CPT procedure code, with the total 
charge for all units reflected on the detail.  

• Administration of one vaccine that is an intranasal/oral immunization is billed 
with the administration CPT code 90473 with the EP modifier.  Note:  CPT code 
90473 can only be billed if the intranasal/oral vaccine is the only immunization 
provided on that date of service.  CPT code 90473 cannot be billed with 
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another immunization administration code on that date of service.  See 
guidance in next bullet for further clarification.  A second intranasal/oral 
immunization cannot be billed at this time. 

• Administration of an intranasal or oral vaccine provided in addition to one or 
more injectable vaccines is billed with CPT code 90474 with the EP modifier.   

• CPT vaccine codes for the vaccines administered must be reported or billed, as 
appropriate, even if administration codes are not being billed.  

 
Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic Providers 
An immunization administration fee may be billed if it is the only service provided that 
day or if any immunizations are provided in addition to a Health Check visit.     
 
• Administration of one injectable vaccine is billed with CPT code 90471 (one unit) 

with the EP modifier.   
• Additional injectable immunization administrations are billed with CPT code 

90472 with the EP modifier. The appropriate number of units must be billed for 
each additional immunization administration CPT procedure code with the total 
charge for all units reflected on the detail. 

• Administration of one vaccine that is an intranasal/oral immunization is billed 
with the administration CPT code or 90473 with the EP modifier.  Note:  CPT 
code 90473 can only be billed if the intranasal/oral vaccine is the only 
immunization provided on that date of service.  Neither code can be billed 
with another immunization administration code on that date of service.  See 
guidance in next bullet for further clarification.  A second intranasal/oral 
immunization cannot be billed at this time. 

• Administration of an intranasal or oral vaccine provided in addition to one or more 
injectable immunization administrations is billed with CPT code 90474 with the EP 
modifier.   

• CPT vaccine codes for the vaccines administered must be reported or billed, as 
appropriate, even if administration codes are not being billed. 

• An immunization administration fee cannot be billed in conjunction with a core 
visit.  Report the CPT vaccine code(s) without billing the administration fee. 

 
 
Guiding Principles for Billing the Immunization Administration Codes 

1. Effective with date of service July 1, 2011, the ONLY immunization 
administration codes covered for Medicaid recipients in the Health Check age 
range, 0 through 20 years of age, are CPT codes 90471 through 90474.     

2. Claims billed with CPT immunization administration codes 90460 and 90461 
(effective for dates of service on and after January 1, 2011, for Medicaid recipients 
through 18 years of age) on and after July 1, 2011, will deny.   
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3. Append modifier EP to all immunization administration codes billed for Medicaid 
recipients in the Health Check age range, 0 through 20 years of age.  

4. Do NOT append the EP modifier to the vaccine CPT codes. 
5. All of the units billed for CPT codes 90471EP, 90472EP, 90473EP, and 90474EP 

must be billed on ONE detail to avoid duplicate audit denials.  Currently, 90474EP 
cannot be billed with 90473EP because there are no two oral/intranasal vaccines 
that would be given to a recipient. Only one unit of either 90473EP or 90474EP is 
allowed.  

6. CPT vaccine codes for the vaccines administered must be reported or billed, as 
appropriate, even if administration codes are not being billed. 

7. For Medicaid recipients 21 years of age and older (above the Health Check 
age range), the immunization administration codes have not changed. Bill the 
series of CPT codes 90471 through 90474 without the EP modifier. 

8. Refer to individual bulletin articles on specific vaccines for additional billing 
guidelines. 

9. Note that some NCIP vaccines may be administered to recipients ages 19 and 
older, in which case Medicaid will cover the administration fee. 

 
 
Billing Examples for Claims Regarding Health Check Recipients  
 
1. Billing for a 2-month old infant based on the current immunization schedule, when an 
oral immunization is included: 
 
Vaccines provided Administration 

codes 
CPT vaccine 
codes 

DTaP (diphtheria, 
tetanus, pertussis) 

90471 90700 

Rotavirus (oral) 90474 90681 
Hepatitis B and 
Haemophilus 
influenza type b 

90472 90748 

Inactivated 
poliovirus 

90472 90713 

Pneumococcal 
conjugate vaccine, 
13 valent 

90472 90670 

 
 
Coding on the claim: 
90471   EP modifier  1 unit  There would be a billed amount.   
90472   EP modifier  3 units There would be a billed amount. 
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90474   EP modifier  1 unit  There would be a billed amount. 
90700     1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
90681     1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
90748                             1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount.  
90713                            1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
90670                             1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
 
 
 
2. Billing for a 4-year old child when all vaccines are injectable: 
 
Vaccines provided Administration 

codes 
CPT vaccine 
codes 

DTaP 90471 90700 
PCV13  90472 90670 
Influenza, split 
virus, preservative 
free, 3 years and 
older 

90472 90656 

 
Coding on the claim: 
90471   EP modifier       1 unit  There would be a billed amount. 
90472   EP modifier       2 units  There would be a billed amount. 
90700                             1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
90670                             1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
90656                             1 unit  There would be a $0.00 billed amount. 
 
 
3. Billing for a male recipient who is 19 years of age who receives a purchased injectable 
vaccine. 
 
Vaccines 
provided 

Administration 
codes 

CPT vaccine 
codes 

HPV 90471 90649 
 
Coding on the claim: 
90471 EP modifier        1 unit  There would be a billed amount. 
90649   EP modifier        1 unit  There would be a billed amount. 
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Billing of Immunization Administration Codes by Private Sector Providers and 
Local Health Departments  
An immunization administration fee code(s) may be billed if it is the only service 
provided that day, or if any immunizations are provided in addition to a Health Check 
assessment or an office visit.  
 
Billing of Immunization Administration Codes by Federally Qualified Health 
Centers or Rural Health Centers 
An immunization administration fee code(s) may be billed if it is the only service 
provided that day, or it any immunizations are provided in addition to a Health Check 
assessment. An immunization administration fee code(s) cannot be billed in addition to a 
core visit code. Report the CPT vaccine code(s) without billing the administration fee.  
 
 
Note:  Please refer to the general Medicaid Bulletins at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/ for updates on immunizations and 
administration codes.  Refer to the appropriate fee schedule at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/ under Physician Services CPT/HCPCS for rate 
changes for immunizations and administration codes. 
 
 
North Carolina Immunization Program/Vaccines for Children Program 
 
The North Carolina Immunization Program (NCIP)/Vaccines for Children (VFC) 
Program provides, at no charge, all recommended vaccines for all children birth through 
18 years of age present in North Carolina, who are VFC-eligible, including Medicaid 
children.  Vaccines are provided in accordance with the recommendations of the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) of the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC).  Because of the availability of these vaccines for 
Medicaid children, Medicaid does not routinely reimburse for vaccines available from the 
NCIP/VFC program. Medicaid does, however, reimburse for the administration of these 
vaccines.  
 
Health Choice recipients are considered insured and are not eligible for the VFC 
vaccines. 
 
In rare instances, due to recalls or true shortages of vaccines, Medicaid may reimburse 
for purchased vaccine that is normally provided through the NCIP/VFC program. In 
those instances, specific billing instructions will be provided in the general Medicaid 
bulletin. 
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Providers must use purchased vaccines for Health Check recipients ages 19 and 20, who 
(because of their age) are not routinely eligible for NCIP/VFC vaccines.  When 
purchased vaccines are administered to this age group, Medicaid will reimburse providers 
for vaccines and their administration.  Note that some NCIP vaccines, provided at no 
charge, may be administered to patients ages 19 and older, in which case Medicaid will 
cover the administration fee.  CPT codes for vaccine products must always be included 
on the claim (without the EP modifier). Remember that some purchased vaccines 
require the SC modifier. See the specific billing guidance in the General Medicaid 
bulletin. 
 
The following is a list of NCIP/VFC vaccines provided to children through 18 years of 
age who are present in North Carolina and who are VFC eligible.  Medicaid recipients 
are automatically eligible for VFC vaccine, even those who are dually covered by 
Medicaid and another insurance plan.  All of these vaccines are available to Medicaid 
children through 18 years of age.  Because vaccines have other criteria which must be 
met, and vaccine criteria are subject to change, it is recommended that providers go to 
the Immunization Branch web site at http://www.immunizenc.com (select “Providers” 
and NCIP Coverage Criteria), or call the Immunization Branch at 1-877-873-6247. 
 
 
The following is a list of NCIP/VFC vaccines: 
 
Codes Vaccine CPT Code 

Descriptions 
Diagnosi
s Codes 

NCIP/VFC Specifics 

90633 Hepatitis A vaccine, 
pediatric/adolescent dosage – 
2 dose schedule, for 
intramuscular (IM) use 

V05.
3 

12 months through 
18 years of age 

90636
* 

Hepatitis A and hepatitis B 
vaccine (HepA-HepB), adult 
dosage, for IM use 

V06.
8 

18 years of age and 
above in local 
health departments 
(LHDs), FQHCs, 
and RHCs 
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Codes Vaccine CPT Code 
Descriptions 

Diagnosi
s Codes 

NCIP/VFC Specifics 

90647 Hemophilus influenza b 
vaccine (Hib), PRP-OMP  
conjugate (3 dose schedule), 
for IM use  
 

V03.
81 

Brand name - 
PedvaxHIB 
Routine – 2 months 
to less than 5 years 
of age  
High risk – greater 
than 59 months 
through 18 years of 
age 

90648 Hemophilus influenza b 
vaccine (Hib), PRP-T 
conjugate (4 dose schedule), 
for IM use 
 

V03.
81 

Brand name - 
ActHIB 
Routine – 2 months 
to less than 5 years 
of age 
High risk – greater 
than 59 months 
through 18 years of 
age 
Brand name – 
Hiberix  Approved 
for the booster dose 
in children 15 
months through 4 
years of age 

90649 Human papilloma virus 
(HPV) vaccine, types 6, 11, 
16, 18 (quadrivalent), 3 dose 
schedule, for intramuscular 
(IM) use 

V04.
89 

Brand name − 
Gardisil 
Females and males  
9 years through 18 
years of age  

90650 Human papilloma virus 
(HPV) vaccine, types 16, 18, 
bivalent, 3 dose schedule for 
intramuscular use 

V04.
89 

Brand name − 
Cervarix 
Females 9 years 
through 18 years of 
age 
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Codes Vaccine CPT Code 
Descriptions 

Diagnosi
s Codes 

NCIP/VFC Specifics 

90655
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, split 
virus, preservative free when 
administered to children 6 - 
35 months of age, for IM use   

V04.
81 

6 months through 
35 months of age 

90656
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, 
preservative free, when 
administered to individuals 3 
years and older, for IM use  

V04.
81 

3 years through 18 
years of age 

90657
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, split 
virus, when administered to 
children 6 to 35 months of 
age, for IM use  

V04.
81 

6 months through 
35 months of age 

90658
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, when 
administered to individuals 3 
years of age and older, for IM 
use  

V04.
81 

3 years through 18 
years of age 

90660
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, live, for 
intranasal use 

V04.
81 

2 years through 18 
years of age 

90670 Pneumococcal conjugate 
vaccine, 13 valent, for IM use  

V03.
82 

Routine:  2 months 
through 59 months 
of age 
High risk:  Children 
60 months through 
18 years age with 
certain underlying 
medical conditions 

90680 Rotavirus vaccine, 
pentavalent, 3 dose schedule, 
live, for oral use  

V04.
89 

Brand name − 
Rotateq 
6 weeks through 7 
months of age 

90681 Rotavirus vaccine, human, 
attenuated, 2 dose schedule, 
live, for oral use  

V04.
89 

Brand name − 
Rotarix 
6 weeks through 7 
months of age 
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Codes Vaccine CPT Code 
Descriptions 

Diagnosi
s Codes 

NCIP/VFC Specifics 

90696 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, 
acellular pertussis vaccine 
and poliovirus vaccine, 
inactivated (DTaP-IPV), 
when administered to 
children 4 through 6 years of 
age, for IM use 
 

V06.
3 

4 years through 6 
years of age, for 
booster dose only 

90698 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, 
acellular pertussis vaccine, 
haemophilus influenza Type 
B, and poliovirus vaccine, 
inactivated (DTaP-Hib-IPV), 
for IM use 

V06.
8 

2 months through 4 
years of age  
 

90700 Diphtheria , tetanus toxoids, 
and acellular pertussis 
vaccine (DTaP), when 
administered to individuals 
younger than 7 years, for IM 
use 

V06.
1 

2 months through 6 
years of age 

90702 Diphtheria and tetanus 
toxoids (DT) adsorbed when 
administered to individuals 
younger than 7 years, for IM 
use 

V06.
5 

2 months through 6 
years of age 

90707
* 

Measles, mumps and rubella 
vaccine (MMR), live, for 
subcutaneous (SC) use 

V06.
4 

12 months through 
18 years of age 

90710 Measles, mumps, rubella and 
varicella vaccine (MMRV), 
live, for SC use 

V06.
8 

12 months through 
12 years of age 

90713 Poliovirus vaccine, 
inactivated (IPV), for SC or 
IM use 

V04.
0 

2 months through 
17 years of age 

90714
* 

Tetanus and diphtheria 
toxiods (Td) adsorbed, 

V06.
5 

7 years through 18 
years of age 
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Codes Vaccine CPT Code 
Descriptions 

Diagnosi
s Codes 

NCIP/VFC Specifics 

preservative free, when 
administered to individuals 7 
years or older, for IM use 

 
 
 

90715
* 

Tetanus, diphtheria toxoids 
an acellular pertussis vaccine 
(Tdap), when administered 
to individuals 7 years or 
older, for IM use  
 

V06.
1 

7 years through 18 
years of age 
 

90716 Varicella virus vaccine, live, 
for SC use 

V05.
4 

12 months through 
18 years of age 

90723 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, 
acellular pertussis vaccine, 
Hepatitis B, and poliovirus 
vaccine, inactivated (DTaP-
HepB-IPV), for IM use 

V06.
8 

2 months through 6 
years of age  

 
90732 Pneumococcal 

polysaccharide vaccine, 23-
valent, adult or 
immunosuppressed patient 
dosage, when administered 
to individuals 2 years or 
older, for SC or IM use  

V03.
82  

Only for high risk 
children 2 years 
through 18 years 
of age. 

90734
* 

Meningococcal conjugate 
vaccine, serogroups A, C, Y 
and W-135 (tetravalent), for 
IM use 
 

V03.
89 

2 years through 18 
years of age 

90744
* 

Hepatitis B vaccine, 
pediatric/adolescent dosage 
(3 dose schedule), for IM use 
 

V05.
3 

Birth through 18 
years of age* 
Exception:  If the 
first dose of 
hepatitis B vaccine 
is administered 
prior to age 19, 
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NCIP vaccine may 
be used to complete 
the series prior to 
age 20.   

90748 Hepatitis B and Hemophilus 
influenza b vaccine (HepB-
Hib) for intramuscular use 

V06.
8 

6 weeks through 15 
months of age 

 
*Providers should refer to the Immunization Branch website at 
http://www.immunizenc.com for detailed information regarding vaccines.  Certain 
vaccines are provided for those recipients 19 years of age and older through the 
NCIP.  Questions about current coverage may also be addressed by calling the 
NCIP at 1-877-873-6247. 
 
+Each influenza season, ACIP issues recommendations for the administration of flu 
vaccine.  Based on these recommendations, NCIP issues coverage criteria 
announcements at the beginning of the season.  Additional guidance may be issued 
throughout the flu season if the availability of vaccine changes.  
 
N.C. Medicaid providers who are not enrolled in NCIP or who have questions concerning 
the program should call the N.C. Division of Public Health’s Immunization Branch at 1-
877-873-6247. 
 
Out-of-state providers may obtain VFC vaccines by calling their state’s VFC program 
office.  VFC program telephone numbers for the states bordering North Carolina are 
listed below:  
 
• Georgia 1-404-657-5013 
• South Carolina 1-800-277-4687 
• Tennessee 1-615-741-7343 
• Virginia 1-804-864-8055 

 
 
 

HEALTH CHECK BILLING REQUIREMENTS 
 

Effective with date of processing October 2, 2009, the N.C. Medicaid Program required 
all providers to file claims electronically.  Claims received on or after October 2, 2009, 
are subject to denial if the claim is not in compliance with the electronic claim mandate.  
Instructions for billing a Health Check screening assessment are the same as when billing 
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for other medical services except for these six critical requirements.  The six billing 
requirements specific to the Health Check Program are as follows: 
 
Requirement 1: Identify and Record Diagnosis Code(s) 
Place diagnosis code(s) in the correct order in block 21. Medical diagnosis codes should 
always be listed before immunization diagnosis codes. Immunization diagnoses (e.g. 
V04.81 for influenza) are required when billing immunization(s) only. 
 
Periodic Health Check Screening Assessment – Use V20.2 as the Primary Diagnosis 
The primary diagnosis V20.2 is always listed first.  Medical diagnoses, if applicable, are 
listed after the primary diagnosis (V20.2) and always before immunization diagnoses.  
An immunization diagnosis code is required when one or more immunizations are 
provided as the only service.  
 
Interperiodic Health Check Screening Assessment – Use V70.3 as the Primary 
Diagnosis  
The primary diagnosis V70.3 is always listed first.  Medical diagnoses, if applicable, are 
listed after the primary diagnosis (V70.3) and always before immunization diagnoses.  
An immunization diagnosis code is required when one or more immunizations are 
provided as the only service. 
 
 
HEALTH CHECK BILLING REQUIREMENTS, continued 
 
Requirement 2: Identify and Record Preventive Medicine Code and Component 
Codes 
The preventive medicine CPT code with the EP modifier for Health Check screening 
assessments should be billed as outlined below.  In addition to billing the preventive 
medicine code, developmental screening, vision and hearing CPT codes must be listed 
based on the Health Check Assessment Components requirements noted on pages 15 
through 20.  
 
• A developmental screening CPT code with the EP modifier must be listed in 

addition to the preventive medicine CPT codes for a periodic Health Check 
screening assessment when age appropriate.  No additional reimbursement is 
allowed for this code.   Providers may refer to the claim samples in this guide.  

 
• Vision CPT codes with the EP modifier must be listed on the claim form format in 

addition to the preventive medicine CPT codes for a periodic Health Check 
screening assessment for children ages 3 through 10 and for other children as 
appropriate based on age or assessment of risk.  No additional reimbursement is 
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allowed for these codes.   Providers may refer to the sample claims located at the 
end of this guide. 

 
• Hearing CPT codes with the EP modifier must be listed on the claim form format 

in addition to the preventive medicine CPT codes for a periodic Health Check 
screening assessment for children ages 4 through 10 and for other children as 
appropriate based on an assessment of risk.  No additional reimbursement is 
allowed for these codes.  Providers may refer to the sample claims in this guide. 

 
Requirement 3: Health Check Modifier – EP  
The Health Check CPT codes for periodic and interperiodic screening assessments must 
have the EP modifier listed in block 24D of the CMS-1500 claim form format.  
Additionally, the vision, hearing, and developmental screening CPT codes must have the 
EP modifier listed in block 24D of the CMS-1500 claim form format.  EP is a required 
modifier for all Health Check claim details except codes for vaccine products. 
 
Requirement 4: Record Referrals  
N.C. Medicaid is HIPAA-compliant and is able to receive standard electronic HIPAA 
transactions.  
 
Providers billing electronically using the services of a vendor or clearinghouse may 
reference the National HIPAA Implementation Guide and the North Carolina 837 
Professional Claim Transaction Companion Guide for values regarding follow up-visits.  
The National HIPAA Implementation Guide for the 837 Claim Transaction can be 
accessed at http://www.wpc-edi.com. 
 
The North Carolina Medicaid 837 Companion Guide can be accessed on the DMA 
website at  
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/hipaa/837prof.pdf. 
 
Claims submitted via NCECSWeb should list referral code indicator “E” when a 
referral is made for follow-up on a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition 
identified through a Health Check screening assessment.  List referral code 
indicator “F” when a referral is made for Family Planning services. 
 
Requirement 5: Next Screening Date   
Providers may enter the next screening date (NSD) or have the NSD systematically 
entered according to the predetermined Medicaid periodicity schedule.  Below is an 
explanation of options for the NSD in block 15 of the CMS-1500 claim form format. 
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HEALTH CHECK BILLING REQUIREMENTS, continued 
 
Provider-Entered Next Screening Date 
Providers have the option of entering the NSD in block 15. If this date is within the 
periodicity schedule, the system will keep this date.  In the event the NSD is OUT of 
range with the periodicity schedule, the system will override the provider’s NSD and the 
appropriate NSD (based upon the periodicity schedule) will be automatically entered 
during claims processing.   
 
Note:  Providers billing electronically are not required to enter a screening date 
(NSD) for health check screening claims.  
 
Systematically Entered Next Screening Date 
Providers have the following choices for block 15 of the CMS-1500 claim form format 
with a Health Check screening assessment.  All of these choices will result in an 
automatically entered NSD.    
• Leave block 15 blank. 
• Place all zeros in block 15 (00/00/0000). 
• Place all ones in block 15 (11/11/1111). 
 
Claims with systematically entered NSDs will be tracked per the Medicaid periodicity 
schedule.  
 
Requirement 6: Identify and Record Immunization Administration CPT Code(s) 
and the EP Modifier, and Report/Bill the CPT Code for the Vaccine Product 
 
Providers should refer to the Immunizations section beginning on page 27, paying 
particular attention to the Guiding Principles for Immunization Administration Codes 
section on pages 29 through 30. 
Providers may also refer to the claim examples at the end of this guide. 
  
When reporting or billing vaccine administration codes, providers must use the 
appropriate CPT code(s) with the EP modifier listed in field 24D of the CMS-1500 claim 
form, or in the appropriate field on the 837P or HP Enterprise Services’ Webtool.  
 
Claims must be filed electronically unless they meet one of the ECS-mandated 
exceptions.   
 
The CPT code for the vaccine product must be reported or billed without the EP modifier 
appended.  
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National Drug Codes (NDCs) are not required to be billed with CPT codes for vaccine 
products. NDCs should not be submitted for vaccine CPT codes to prevent denials of 
those details. 
 
Providers must bill the appropriate number of units on the detail along with the total 
charge of all units billed for that code. 
 
Notes: 
In rare instances, because of vaccine recalls or because of true shortages of vaccines, 
Medicaid may reimburse for purchased vaccine that is normally provided through the 
NCIP/VFC program. In those instances, specific billing instructions will be provided in 
the general Medicaid bulletin. Because the NCIP/VFC provides vaccines for Medicaid 
recipients under 19 years of age, claims for purchased vaccines administered to this 
age group that are available through VFC will be denied.  
 
Providers must use purchased vaccines for Health Check recipients ages 19 and 20, who 
(because of their age) are not routinely eligible for NCIP/VFC vaccines.  When 
purchased vaccines are administered to this age group, Medicaid will reimburse 
providers for vaccines and their administration.  Note that some NCIP vaccines, 
provided at no charge, may be administered to patients ages 19 and older, in which case 
Medicaid will cover the administration fee.  CPT codes for vaccine products must always 
be included on the claim (without the EP modifier).  Remember that some purchased 
vaccines require the SC modifier. Refer to billing guidance on specific vaccines in the 
General Medicaid bulletin.  
 
If the EP modifier is not listed in block 24D for those Health Check age recipients 
through 20 years of age, the reimbursement rate for the CPT codes 90471, 90472, 90473, 
or 90474 is $0.00.  
 
Health Check Related ICD-9-CM and CPT Codes 
 
The following table lists ICD-9 and CPT codes related to Health Check screening 
assessments: 
 
 Preventive CPT Codes and Modifier Diagnoses 

Codes 
Periodic 
Examination 

CPT Codes 99381-99385; 99391-99395 
EP Modifier is required in block 24D  
 
Developmental Screening CPT Code 96110; 
at 6, 12, 18 or 24 months of age, at age 3, 4, 

V20.2 Primary 
Diagnosis  
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 Preventive CPT Codes and Modifier Diagnoses 
Codes 

and 5 years of age  
EP Modifier is required in block 24D    
 
Autism Screening CPT Code: 99420 
EP Modifier is required in block 24D 
 
Health Risk Assessments, CPT Code 99420 
(GAPS/HEADSSS) and Behavioral/Mental 
Health Screening (PSC/SDQ/PSQ-A/Beck’s); 
CPT 99406-99407 for Smoking/Tobacco Use 
Cessation; and CPT 99408-99409 for 
Alcohol/Substance Abuse Structured 
Screening and Brief Intervention (CRAFFT) 
are currently reimbursed. 
EP Modifier is required in block 24D 
 
Vision CPT Code 99172 or 99173; for 
children ages 3-10, and then as appropriate 
based on age and risk.  
EP Modifier is required in block 24D    
 
Hearing CPT Code 92551, 92552, or 92587; 
for children 4-10 and then as appropriate 
based on risk.  
EP Modifier is required in block 24D 
 
 

Interperiodic 
Examination  

CPT codes 99381-99385; 99391-99395 
EP Modifier is required in block 24D 

V70.3 Primary 
Diagnosis 

 
 
Preventive Medicine CPT Codes 
 
The following table lists Preventive Medicine CPT codes that must be listed on the 
CMS-1500 claim form format when filing a claim for a Periodic (V20.2) or an 
Interperiodic (V70.3) examination.  The EP modifier must be listed in block 24D of 
the CMS-1500 claim form format with the appropriate preventive medicine code. 
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Age New Patient Established 
Patient 

Append 
EP 

Modifier 
Under age 1 

year 
99381 99391 Yes 

1 through 4 
years 

99382 99392 Yes 

5 through 11 
years 

99383 99393 Yes 

12 through 17 
years 

99384 99394 Yes 

18 through 20 
years 

99385 99395 Yes 

 
TIPS FOR BILLING 

 
All Health Check Providers 
 
• Two Health Check screening assessments on different dates of service cannot be 

billed on the same claim form. 

• CPT codes: 99406 EP, 99407 EP, 99408 EP, 99409 EP can be billed when 
performed during a periodic Health Check assessment or during an interperiodic 
Health Check screening assessment for adolescents ages 11 through 20.   

• CPT code 99420 EP can be billed when performed during a periodic Health Check 
screening assessment or during an interperiodic Health Check screening 
assessment for children ages birth through 20. 

• Immunizations and therapeutic injections may be billed on the same date of service 
and on the same claim  

• A formal, standardized developmental screening tool must be used during periodic 
screening assessments for children ages 6, 12, 18 or 24 months, and 3, 4, and 5 
years of age. 

• If the required vision and/or hearing screenings cannot be performed during a 
periodic screening assessment due to a condition such as blindness, deafness, 
autism, or uncooperative child, providers must: 

o Document in the patient’s medical record the date of service and the reason(s) 
why the provider was unable to perform the vision and/or hearing screening; 
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o Submit the claim to HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES without the vision and/or 
hearing CPT code; and 

o HP ENTERPRISE SERVICES will process the claim. 

• Report payments received from third party insurance in block 29 of the CMS-1500 
claim form format when preventive services (well child assessments) are covered.  
If third party insurance does not cover preventive services, clearly document in the 
medical record and submit the claim to Medicaid. 

• All electronically submitted claims should list referral code indicator “E” when a 
referral is made for follow-up on a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition 
identified through a Health Check screening assessment. 

 
 
 
Private Sector Health Check Providers Only 
 
• A Health Check screening assessment and an office visit with different dates of 

service cannot be billed on the same claim form. 

• A Health Check screening assessment and an office visit cannot be paid initially on 
the same date of service.  One claim will pay and the other will deny.  For the 
denied claim to be reconsidered, it must be submitted as an adjustment with 
medical justification and a copy of the Remittance and Status Report (RA) denial 
attached.  

• Immunization administration CPT codes 90471, 90472, 90473 or 90474 with the 
EP modifier can be billed with a Health Check screening assessment, office visit or 
if the vaccine administration is the only service provided that day.  When billing in 
conjunction with an examination code or an office visit code, an immunization 
diagnosis is not required in block 21 of the claim form.  When billing an 
administration code for immunizations as the only service for that day, providers 
are required to use an immunization diagnosis code in block 21 of the claim form.  
Always list the CPT vaccine codes when billing these administration codes with 
the EP modifier.  Refer to the claim examples at the end of this guide. 

• When checking claim status using the Automated Voice Response (AVR) system 
(1-800-723-4337), AVR requires providers to enter the total amount billed. Due to 
each Health Check claim being divided into two separate claims for tracking 
purposes, the total amount billed must also be split between the amount billed for 
the Health Check screening assessment and the amount billed for immunizations 
and any other service billed on the same date of service. Thus, it is necessary to 
check claim status for two separate claims.   

•  
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Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) and Rural Health Clinic (RHC) 
Providers Only 
 
• Providers may bill a core Behavioral Health visit (T1015 HI) and a Health Check 

screening assessment on the same date of service on separate claims.   

• A Health Check screening assessment and a core visit (T1015) cannot be paid 
initially on the same date of service.  One claim will pay and the other will deny. 
For the denied claim to be reconsidered, it must be submitted as an adjustment with 
medical justification and a copy of the Remittance and Status Report (RA) denial 
attached. 

• Immunization administration CPT codes 90471, 90472, 90473 or 90474 with the 
EP modifier can be billed with a Health Check screening assessment or if the 
vaccine administration is the only service provided that day. When billing in 
conjunction with an examination code, an immunization diagnosis is not required 
in block 21 of the claim form format. When billing an administration code for 
immunizations as the only service for that day, an immunization diagnosis code is 
required to be entered in block 21 of the claim form format. An administration 
code for immunizations cannot be billed in conjunction with a core visit.  For 
reporting purposes, list CPT vaccine codes in the appropriate block on the claim 
form format.  Always list CPT vaccine codes when billing any immunization 
administration code with the EP modifier.  Refer to the claim examples at the end 
of this guide. 

 

Local Health Departments 
 
• Two Health Check screening assessments on different dates of service cannot be 

billed on the same claim form (format).  

• Immunization administration CPT code(s) may be billed if immunizations are 
provided in addition to a Health Check screening visit. Immunization 
administration CPT codes 90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474 with the EP modifier 
may also be billed if immunizations are the only services provided that day or if 
any immunizations are provided in conjunction with an office or sick visit.  When 
billing immunization administration CPT codes 90471, 90472, 90473 or 90474, the 
EP modifier must be entered.  Refer to the claim examples at the end of this guide. 

• A formal, standardized developmental screening tool must be used during periodic 
examinations for children ages 6 months, 12 months, 18 or 24 months, and 3, 4, 
and 5 years of age.      
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HEALTH CHECK COORDINATION 

 
Health Check Coordination is the responsibility of the 14 Community Care of North 
Carolina (CCNC) regional networks.  Under the direction of the CCNC networks, the 
Health Check Coordinators (HCCs) are available to assist both parents and providers 
in assuring that Medicaid-eligible children have access to Health Check services.  
 
HCCs provide education and outreach services in 100 North Carolina counties and 
the Qualla Boundary.  HCCs are stationed at certain regional CCNC network sites, 
local health departments, community and rural health centers, and other community 
agencies.  A list of counties with HCCs is available on the DMA website at: 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/ca/hcc.pdf . 
  
The role and responsibilities of the HCC include but are not limited to the following: 
• Using the Health Check Automated Information and Notification System (AINS) 

for identifying and following Medicaid-eligible children, birth through 20 years 
of age, with regard to services received through the health care system 

• Educating families about the importance of establishing a medical home that 
provides ongoing, comprehensive, family-centered, and accessible care for 
their children and youth 

• Assisting families to use the health care services in a consistent and responsible 
manner 

• Assisting with scheduling appointments or securing transportation 
• Acting as a local information, referral, and resource person for families 
• Providing advocacy services in addressing social, educational or health needs of 

the recipient 
• Initiating follow-up as requested by providers when families need special 

assistance or fail to bring children in for Health Check or follow-up examinations  
• Promoting Health Check and health prevention with other public and private 

organizations 
 
Physicians, primary care providers (PCPs), and their office staff are encouraged to 
establish a close working relationship with HCCs.  Ongoing communication 
significantly enhances recipient participation in Health Check and helps make 
preventive health care services more timely and effective. 
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HEALTH CHECK CLAIM DENIALS – EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS (EOB) 
 
EOB Message Tip 

010 Diagnosis or service invalid 
for recipient age.  Verify 
MID, diagnosis, procedure 
code or procedure 
code/modifier combination 
for errors. Correct and submit 
as a new claim. 

Verify the recipient’s Medicaid 
identification (MID) number, date of birth 
(DOB), diagnosis, and procedure codes.  
Make corrections, if necessary, and 
resubmit to HP ENTERPRISE 
SERVICES as a new claim.  If all 
information is correct, send the claim and 
RA to the DMA Claims Analysis Unit, 
2501 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 
27699-2501. 

079 This type of service is not 
payable to your provider type 
or specialty. 

Check your claim for keying errors, make 
corrections if necessary.  Verify the 
provider type and specialty for your 
Medicaid provider number by contacting 
a Health Check Consultant at 919-855-
4780. 

082 

Service is not consistent 
with/or not covered for this 
diagnosis/or description does 
not match diagnosis.  

Verify diagnosis code is V20.2 or V70.3 
for the Health Check screening 
assessment according to the billing 
guidelines on page 36.  Correct claim and 
resubmit. 

349 

Health Check Screen and 
related service not allowed 
same day, same provider, or 
member of same group. 

Resubmit as an adjustment with 
documentation supporting unrelated 
services. 

685 Health Check services are for 
Medicaid recipients birth 
through age 20 only. 

Verify recipient’s age.  Only recipients 
age birth through 20 years of age are 
eligible for Health Check services.  

1036 Thank you for reporting 
vaccines.  This vaccine was 
provided at no charge through 
VFC Program.  No payment 
allowed. 

Vaccines are available at no charge 
through the NCIP/VFC Program. 

1058 The only well child exam 
billable through the Medicaid 
program is a Health Check 

Bill periodic examination with primary 
diagnosis V20.2 and Interperiodic 
examinations with primary diagnosis 
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EOB Message Tip 
screening assessment.  For 
information about billing 
Health Check, please call 1-
800-688-6696. 

V70.3.  Check the preventive medicine 
code entered in block 24D of the claim 
form and append the EP modifier. 

1422 Immunization administration 
not allowed without the 
appropriate immunization.  
Refer to the most recent 
Health Check Special 
Bulletin. 

Check the claim to ensure that 
immunization procedure codes are billed 
on the same claim as immunization 
administration codes.  Make corrections 
and resubmit as a new day claim. 

1769 No additional payment made 
for vision, hearing and/or 
developmental screening 
services.  

Payment is included in Health Check 
reimbursement. 

1770 
 

Invalid 
procedure/modifier/diagnosis 
code combination for Health 
Check or Family Planning 
services.  Correct and 
resubmit as a new claim.   

Health Check services must be billed with 
the primary diagnosis code V20.2 or 
V70.3 and the EP modifier.  Verify the 
correct diagnosis code, procedure code 
and modifier for the service rendered.  
Family planning services must be billed 
with the FP modifier and the diagnosis 
code V25.9.  
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HEALTH CHECK BILLING REFERENCE SHEET 
 Date of Service    
 

Patient’s Name  Next Examination Date (optional) 

Medicaid ID number Date of Birth 

Health Check Diagnosis Code 

Periodic Health Check screening 
assessment 

Periodic Health Check Screening V20.2  

Interperiodic Health Check screening 
assessment 

Interperiodic Health Check screening 
assessment V70.3 

 

Health Check screening assessment Code 

Description Preventive Medicine 
Codes 

Diagnosis Code

             Regular Periodic Examination- 
Birth through 20 years 

 
 

             Developmental Screening based 
on age  
 
  
 
             Autism Screening based on age 
 
             
            Adolescent Health Risk 
Assessment and B/MH Screening  
               
              
             Vision Screening based on age   
 
 
  
              Hearing Screening based on age  
 

99381-9985; 99391-
99395 
With EP Modifier 
 
Development 
Screening CPT Code 
96110  
With EP Modifier 
 
Autism Screening 
CPT Code: 99420 
With EP Modifier 
 
CPT 99420  
With EP Modifier  
 
Vision Screening 
CPT Code 99172 or 
99173 
With EP Modifier 
 
 
Hearing Screening 

V20.2  
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CPT Code 92551, 
92552 or 92587 
With EP Modifier 

Interperiodic Examination – Birth 
through 20 years 

99381-99385; 99391-
99395 With EP 
Modifier 

V70.3  

Second Diagnosis _______________ (if applicable) 

Description Indicator 
Follow-up with  HC provider or another 
provider 

E or F – Providers billing electronically  

Third Diagnosis _________________ (if applicable) 

Description Indicator 
Follow-up with HC provider or another 
provider 

E or F – Providers billing electronically  

Fourth Diagnosis _________________ (if applicable) 

Description Indicator 
Follow-up with HC provider or another 
provider 

E or F – Providers billing electronically  

Description CPT Codes Unit  

Immunization administration (includes 
percutaneous, intradermal, subcutaneous, 
or intramuscular injections); 1 vaccine 
(single or combination vaccine/toxoid) 
 
 
 
 
 
Immunization administration by 
intranasal or oral route; 1 vaccine (single 
or combination vaccine/toxoid) 

90471 with EP 
modifier 

 
 
 
 
 
 

OR 
 
90473 with EP 
modifier 

1 unit 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 unit 

 

Immunization administration (includes 
percutaneous, intradermal, subcutaneous, 
or intramuscular injections); each 
additional vaccine (single or combination 
vaccine/toxoid) (List separately in 
addition to code for primary procedure)  

90472 with EP 
Modifier 

OR  
90474 with EP 
modifier 

 

1 or more units 
 
 
1 unit 
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IMMUNIZATION BILLING REFERENCE SHEET 

 
Note: Do not bill Medicaid for the cost of a vaccine or immune globulin on this table 
if the product was provided through the NCIP/VFC program.  Only the 
administration code should be billed.    
 
Code CPT Description Diagn

osis 
NCIP/VFC 

Vaccine Specifics 
90291 Cytomegalovirus immune globulin 

(CMV-IgIV), human, for intravenous 
(IV) use  

V07.2  

J1460-
J1560 

Injection, gamma globulin codes, 
intramuscular (IM) (GamaSTAN SD). 
Use the code for the amount 
administered 

V07.2 Limited distribution 
to health 
departments (LHDs) 
only, and only 
during outbreaks. 

J1571 Injection, hepatitis B immune globulin 
(Hepagam B), IM, 0.5 ml 

V07.2  

J1573 Injection, hepatitis B immune globulin 
(Hepagam B), IV, 0.5 ml 

V07.2  

90371 Injection, hepatitis B immune globulin 
(HBIg), human, IM 

V07.2  

J1562 Injection, immune Globulin, 
(Vivaglobin), 100 mg  

V07.2  

J1566 Injection, immune globulin, IV, 
lyophilized (e.g., powder), NOS, 500 mg

V07.2  

J1569 injection, immune globulin, 
(Gammagard liquid), IC, nonlyophilized 
(e.g., liquid), 500 mg 

V07.2  

J1572 Injection, immune globulin, 
(Flebogamma/Flebogamma Dif), IV, 
nonlyophilized (e.g., liquid), 500 mg 

V07.2  

J1561 Injection, immune globulin, (Gamunex), 
IV, nonlyohilized (e.g., liquid), 500 mg 
non-lyophilized (liquid) (Gamunex) 

V07.2  

J7504 Lymphocyte immune globulin, 
antithymocyte globulin, equine, 
parenteral, 250 mg (Atgam) 

V07.2  

90375 Rabies immune globulin, (RIg), V07.2  
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Code CPT Description Diagn
osis 

NCIP/VFC 
Vaccine Specifics 

human, for IM and/or SC SC use 
(BayRab) 

90376 Rabies immune globulin – Heat treated 
(RIG-HT), IM and/or SC,use (Imogam 
Rabies) 

V07.2  

90379 Respiratory syncytial virus immune 
globulin (RSV-IgIV), human, for IV use

V07.2  

J2790 Injection, Rho (D) immune globulin, 
human, full dose, 300 mg,(1500 i.u.) 
(Rhophylac)  

V07.2  

J2788 Injection, Rho (D) immune globulin, 
human, min dose, 50 mcg (250 i.u.), 
MiCRhoGAM 

V07.2  

J2791 Injection, Rho (D) immune globulin, 
(human) (Rhophylac) IM or IV, 100 IU 
HypRho, WINRho SDF) 

V07.2  

J2792 Injection, Rho(D) immune globulin, IV, 
human, solvent detergent, 100 IU 

V07.2  

90389 Tetanus immune globulin (TIg), 
human, for IM use 

V07.2  

90396 Varicella-zoster immune globulin, 
human, for IM use 

V07.2  

90585 Bacillus Calmette-Guerin (BCG) for 
tuberculosis, live for percutaneous use 

V03.2  

90632 Hepatitis A vaccine, adult dosage, for 
IM use 

V05.3 19 years of age and 
above 
Limited distribution 
to LHDs only, and 
only during 
outbreaks. 

90633 Hepatitis A vaccine, 
pediatric/adolescent dosage – 2 
dose schedule, for IM use 

V05.3 12 months of age 
through 18 years of 
age 

90636
* 

Hepatitis A and B combination 
(HepA-HepB), adult dosage, for 
IM use 

V06.8 18 years of age and 
above only in 
LHDs, FQHCs, and 
RHCs*  
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Code CPT Description Diagn

osis 
NCIP/VFC 

Vaccine Specifics 
90647  Hemophilus influenza b vaccine 

(Hib), PRP-OMP  conjugate (3 
dose schedule), for IM use  
 

V03.81 Brand name - 
PedvaxHIB 
Routine - 2 months 
to less than 5 years 
of age 
High risk, greater 
than 59 months 
through 18 years of 
age. 
 

90648 Hemophilus influenza b vaccine 
(Hib), PRP-T conjugate (4 dose 
schedule), for IM use 
  

V03.81 Brand name – 
ActHIB 
Routine – 2 months 
to less than 5 years 
of age; 
High risk – greater 
than 59 months 
through 18 years of 
age. 
 
Brand name – 
Hiberix 
Approved for the 
booster dose in 
children 15 months 
through 4 years of 
age 

90649 Human papilloma virus (HPV) 
vaccine, types 6, 11, 16, 18 
(quadrivalent), 3 dose schedule, 
for intramuscular (IM) use 

V04.89 Females and males 9 
years through 18 
years of age  

90650  Human papilloma virus (HPV) 
vaccine, types 16, 18, bivalent, 3 
dose schedule, for intramuscular 
use 

V04.89 Females 9 through 
18 years of age 

90655
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, split virus, 
preservative free when administered to 

V04.81 6 months through 35 
months of age 
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Code CPT Description Diagn
osis 

NCIP/VFC 
Vaccine Specifics 

children 6-35 months of age, for IM use
90656
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, preservative 
free, when administered to individuals 3 
years and older 

V04.81 3 years through 18 
years of age 

90657
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, split virus, 
when administered to children 6-35 
months of age, for IM use 

V04.81 6 months through 35 
months of age 

90658
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, split virus, 
when administered to individuals 3 
years of age and older, for IM use 
  

V04.81 3 years through 18 
years of age 

90660
+ 

Influenza virus vaccine, live, for 
intranasal use 

V04.81 2 years through 18 
years of age 

90670 Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine, 13 
valent, for IM use (Prevnar 13) 

V03.82 2 months through 18 
years of age 

90675 Rabies vaccine for IM use V04.5  
90680 Rotavirus vaccine, pentavalent, 3 dose 

schedule, live, for oral use   
V04.89 6 weeks through 7 

months of age 
90681 Rotavirus vaccine, human, attenuated, 2 

dose schedule, live, for oral use  
V04.89 6 weeks through 7 

months of age 
90696 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, acellular 

pertussis vaccine and poliovirus vaccine, 
inactivated (DTaP-IPV), when 
administered to children 4 through 6 
years of age, for IM use 

V06.3 4 years through 6 
years of age for the 
booster dose only 

90698 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, acellular 
pertussis vaccine, haemophilus influenza
Type B, and poliovirus vaccine, 
inactivated (DTaP-Hib-IPV), for IM use

V06.8 2 months through 4 
years of age 
 
 

90700  Diphtheria , tetanus toxoids, and 
acellular pertussis vaccine (DTap), when 
administered to individuals younger than
7 years, for IM use 

V06.1 2 months through 6 
years of age 

90702  Diphtheria and tetanus toxoids (DT) 
adsorbed when administered to 
individuals younger than 7 years, for IM 
use 

V06.5 2 months through 6 
years of age 

90703 Tetanus toxoid adsorbed, for IM use V03.7  
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Code CPT Description Diagn
osis 

NCIP/VFC 
Vaccine Specifics 

90704 Mumps virus vaccinelive, for SC use V04.6  
90705 Measles virus vaccine, live, for SC use V04.2  
90706 Rubella virus vaccine, live, for SC use V04.3  
90707
*  

Measles, mumps, and rubella virus 
vaccine (MMR), live, for SC use 

V06.4 12 months through 
18 years of age* 

 
Code CPT Description Diagn

osis 
NCIP/VFC 

Vaccine Specifics 
90710 Measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella 

vaccine (MMRV), live, for SC use 
 

V06.8 12 months through 
12 years of age 

90713  Polio virus vaccine, inactivated (IPV), 
for SC or IM use 

V04.0 2 months through 17 
years of age 

90714
* 

Tetanus and diphtheria toxoids (Td) 
adsorbed, preservative free, when 
administered to individuals 7 years or 
older, for IM use 

V06.5 7 years through 18 
years of age* 

90715
* 

Tetanus, diphtheria toxoids and acellular 
pertussis vaccine (Tdap), when 
administered to individuals 7 years or 
older, for IM use 
 
 

V06.1 7 years through 18 
years of age* 
 

90716  Varicella virus vaccine, live, for SC use V05.4 12 months through 
18 years of age 

90721 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, and 
acellular pertussis vaccine and 
Hemophilus influenza B vaccine (Dtap-
Hib), for IM use 

V06.8  

90723 Diphtheria, tetanus toxoids, and 
acellular pertussis vaccine, Hepatitis B, 
and poliovirus vaccine, inactivated 
(Dtap-HepB-IPV), for IM use 

V06.8 2 months through 6 
years of age 

90732 Pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine , 
23-valent, adult or immunosuppressed 
patient dosage, when administered to 
individuals 2 years or older, for SC or 
IM use 

V03.82 
or 
V05.8 

Only for high-risk 
children 2 years 
through 18 years of 
age 
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Code CPT Description Diagn
osis 

NCIP/VFC 
Vaccine Specifics 

90733 Meningococcal polysaccharide vaccine 
(any group(s), for SC use 

V04.89  

90734
* 
 
 

Meningococcal conjugate vaccine, 
serogroups A, C, Y and W-135 
(tetravalent), for IM use  

V01.89 2 years through 18 
years of age 

90740 Hepatitis B vaccine, dialysis or 
immunocompromised patient dosage (3-
dose schedule), for IM use 

V05.3  

90744
*  

Hepatitis B vaccine pediatric/adolescent 
dosage (3 dose schedule), for IM use 
 

V05.3 Birth through 18 
years of age* 
Exception: If the 
first dose of 
hepatitis B vaccine 
is administered prior 
to age 19, 
NCIP/VFC pediatric 
vaccine may be used 
to complete the 
series prior to age 
20*. 

90746
* 

Hepatitis B vaccine, adult dosage, for 
IM use  

V05.3 20 years of age and 
older, only in 
LHDs* 

90747  Hepatitis B vaccine dialysis or 
immunosuppressed patient dosage (4-
dose schedule), for IM use 

V05.3  

90748 Hepatitis B and Hemophilus influenza b 
vaccine (HepB-Hib), for intramuscular 
use 

V06.8 6 weeks through 15 
months of age 

 
*Providers should refer to the Immunization Branch website at http://www.immunizenc.com for detailed 
information regarding vaccines.  Certain vaccines are provided for recipients 19 years of age and older 
through the NCIP.  Questions about current coverage may also be addressed by calling the NCIP at 1-877-
873-6247. 

 
+Each influenza season, ACIP issues recommendations for the administration of flu vaccine.  Based on 
these recommendations, NCIP issues coverage criteria announcements at the beginning of the season.  
Additional guidance may be issued throughout the flu season if the availability of vaccine changes.  
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Note:  This list is subject to change.  Updates regarding vaccines are published in the general Medicaid bulletins 
on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/. 
 
 
 

MEDICAID RECIPIENT DUE PROCESS (RIGHT TO APPEAL A  
PRIOR APPROVAL DECISION) 

 
Medicaid is an entitlement program, and it is a recipient’s constitutional right to 
appeal a Medicaid decision that denies, reduces, terminates, or suspends a request 
for Medicaid services.  The Medicaid prior approval and recipient hearing processes 
are described below.   
 
FILING A RECIPIENT HEARING REQUEST FORM:  Medicaid recipients or their 
personal representatives have the right to appeal adverse decisions of the State Medicaid 
agency and receive a fair hearing pursuant to the Social Security Act, 42 C.F.R. 431.200 
et seq. and N.C.G.S. §108A-70.9.  If the recipient decides to appeal Medicaid’s decision 
to deny, terminate, reduce, or suspend the services requested by his/her provider, the 
recipient must sign and date the appeal request form and send it to the Office of 
Administrative Hearings (OAH) by mail or fax within 30 days of the date the notice 
was mailed.  The mailing address and telephone and fax numbers for OAH are located 
on the appeal request form.  Providers may not file appeals on behalf of recipients unless 
the recipient lists the provider as the representative on the appeal request form. 
   
UNDERSTANDING THE APPEAL PROCESS:  If the recipient chooses to appeal, 
he/she may represent himself/herself during the appeal process, hire an attorney, or ask a 
relative, friend, or other spokesperson to speak for them.  The recipient’s case will begin 
as soon as the completed recipient hearing request form is received and filed with the 
OAH.  The recipient will be contacted by OAH or the Mediation Network of North 
Carolina to discuss his/her case and to be offered an opportunity for mediation in an 
effort to resolve the appeal.  Contact is made by telephone or trackable mail.  So, it is 
important for the recipient to accept all trackable mail from OAH or the mediation 
center.  NOTE:  New information about the recipient’s request that was not 
provided to Medicaid previously may be submitted at any time during the 
mediation and appeal processes.     
 
Mediation is an informal process where the recipient, his/her representatives, and 
Medicaid have an opportunity to discuss the case with a mediator in hopes that the 
hearing issues will be resolved.  If mediation resolves the case, the hearing will be 
dismissed, and services will be provided as specified during the mediation process. The 
recipient and his/her representatives may participate by telephone or in-person.  Medicaid 
representatives will participate by telephone.  Mediation is confidential and legally 
binding.   
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If the recipient does not accept the offer of mediation or the results of mediation, the case 
will proceed to hearing and will be heard by an administrative law judge with OAH.  The 
recipient will be notified by trackable mail of the date, time, and location of the hearing.  
The administrative law judge will make a decision and will send it to Medicaid for a final 
agency decision.  The petitioner(s) will receive a written copy of both the administrative 
law judge’s decision and Medicaid’s final agency decision by trackable mail.  The 
recipient and provider should not act on the administrative law judge’s decision because 
Medicaid must review the decision and issue the final agency decision.  If the recipient 
does not agree with Medicaid’s final agency decision, he/she may ask for a judicial 
review in superior court.  The hearing process must be completed within 90 days of 
OAH’s receipt of the recipient’s completed Recipient Hearing Request Form.   
 
IMPLEMENTING THE FINAL AGENCY DECISION:  Final agency decisions will 
notify the recipient of the importance of immediately informing the provider of the 
decision.  
 
Decisions which uphold the agency action: 
A final agency decision which dismisses the recipient’s appeal or upholds the Medicaid 
agency action shall be implemented no later than three business days from the date the 
decision was mailed to the petitioner(s) identified by OAH at the time the appeal was 
filed.   
 
Decisions which reverse in part or in full the agency action: 
If the Medicaid agency decision or a mediated settlement holds that all or part of the 
requested services were medically necessary, payment for those services as approved in 
the final agency decision or settlement will be authorized within three business days for 
at least 20 prospective calendar days after the date of the decision.  A copy of the final 
agency decision will be mailed by trackable mail to the petitioner(s) identified by OAH 
at the time the appeal was filed.  The final agency decision shall include a notification 
that a new request for prior authorization is required to be received by Medicaid within 
15 calendar days of the decision in order to avoid an interruption in services.  Upon 
receipt by Medicaid of a request for service authorization within 15 calendar days from 
the date of a final agency decision which holds that all or part of the requested services 
were medically necessary, authorization for payment will remain in effect without 
interruption for at least 10 calendar days following the mailing of the notice of decision 
on the new request for prior authorization.  If the request is denied or reduced, it will be 
treated as a timely request for reauthorization and maintenance of services pending 
appeal will apply.  
 
PROVIDING SERVICES DURING THE APPEAL PROCESS (Maintenance of 
Services):    Maintenance of services means that for a reauthorization or continuing or 
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concurrent request that was denied, reduced, or terminated, the recipient is entitled to 
receive services during the pendency of the appeal and as long as he/she remains 
otherwise Medicaid eligible as described below, unless the recipient gives up this right.       
1. If the recipient appeals within 10 days of the date the notice was mailed, payment 

authorization for services will continue without a break in service.  Authorization for 
payment must be at the level required to be authorized on the day immediately 
preceding the adverse determination or the level requested by the provider, whichever 
is less. 

2. If the recipient appeals more than ten calendar days but within 30 calendar days of the 
date the notice is mailed, authorization for payment must be reinstated, retroactive to 
the date the completed appeal request form is received by the OAH.  Authorization for 
payment must be at the level required to be authorized on the day immediately 
preceding the adverse determination or the level requested by the provider, whichever 
is less. 

 
Maintenance of services (authorization of payment during the pendency of the appeal) 
will not be authorized if:  
1. The recipient appeals more than 30 days after the date the notice was mailed.   
2. The recipient’s service request was submitted after his/her current authorization for 

services expired.  Medicaid will treat this request as an initial rather than a 
reauthorization or continuing or concurrent request.  Maintenance of services does not 
apply to initial requests. 

 
CHANGING PROVIDERS DURING THE APPEAL PROCESS:  Medicaid 
recipients have the right to change providers as indicated below. 
 
1. For Medicaid recipients who: 

a. have appealed an adverse decision, or  
b. whose provider agency is going out of business, or 
c. have changed providers for CAP services or  
d. are changing providers for another service with an authorization period of six 

months or more,  
the current authorization for services will transfer to the new provider within five 
(5) business days of notification by the new provider to the appropriate utilization 
vendor and upon submission of written attestation that provision of the service 
meets Medicaid policy and the recipient’s condition meets coverage criteria and 
acceptance of all associated responsibility; and either written permission of 
recipient or legal guardian for transfer; or copy of discharge from previous provider. 

2. Authorization shall be effective the date the new provider submits a copy of the 
written attestation. 

3. Following the appeal or prior to the end of the current authorization period, the new 
provider must submit a request for reauthorization of the service in accordance with 



  July 2011 
 

07.01.2011 61 

the clinical coverage policy requirements and these procedures. 
 
OBTAINING LEGAL ASSISTANCE:  For questions regarding legal assistance, please 
contact Legal Aid of North Carolina at 919-856-2564 or toll-free at 1-866-369-6923.  
Recipients with disabilities also will be informed they may contact Disability Rights of 
North Carolina at 1-877-235-4210.    
 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE MEDICAID PRIOR APPROVAL AND MEDICAID 
RECIPIENT HEARING PROCESSES:  For questions concerning the decision 
Medicaid makes about the provider’s request for service, please contact Medicaid.  
Questions about the appeal process may be addressed to OAH or the Appeals Unit, 
Division of Medical Assistance (Medicaid), or you may visit the   provider prior approval 
web page at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm.  Agency 
contact information appears in the box below.   
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AGENCY MAILING 
ADDRESS 

OFFICE 
NUMBER 

Office of 
Administrative 
Hearings (OAH) 

Clerk 
6714 Mail Service 
Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-
6714 

919-431-3000 
 

Division of 
Medical 
Assistance 
(Medicaid) 

Appeals Unit 
Clinical Policy and  
   Programs  
2501 Mail Service 
Center 
Raleigh, NC  
27699-2501 

919-855-4260 
Toll-free: 
1-800-662-7030 
Ask for your call 
to be transferred to 
the DMA Appeals 
Unit, Clinical 
Policy and 
Programs. 
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RESOURCE LIST 
 
 
Children with Special Health Care Needs Helpline 
1-800-737-3028 
 
Dental Varnishing  
Clinical Coverage Policy #1A-23, Physician Fluoride Varnish Services 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/ 
 
Developmental Screening standardized and validated screening tools 
http://www.dbpeds.org 
http://www.brightfutures.aap.org 
 
Developmental Surveillance and Screening 
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/reprint/pediatrics;118/1/405.pdf 
 
DMA Customer Services Center 
1-888-245-0179 
 
Due Process (Medicaid Recipient Appeals) 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm 
 
HP Enterprise Services Provider Services  
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
Health Check Coordinator Contact List 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/ca/hcc.pdf  
 
National HIPAA Implementation Guide 
http://www.wpc-edi.com/hipaa 
 
NC Healthy Start Foundation 
http://www.nchealthystart.org/ 
 
North Carolina 837 Professional Claim Transaction Guide 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/hipaa/837prof.pdf 
 
North Carolina Immunization Branch 
North Carolina Immunization Program/Vaccines for Children (NCIP/VFC) 
http://www.immunizenc.com 
North Carolina Lead Screening and Follow Up Manual 
http://www.deh.enr.state.nc.us/ehs/Children_Health/2009printedversionleadmanual.pdf 
 
December 2005 Special Bulletin, Medicaid for Children, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and 
Treatment (EPSDT) and Health Check  
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/ 
 
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide  
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/ 
 
EPSDT Provider Page 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/  
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Physician’s Fee Schedule 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/ 
 
Policy Instructions: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment   
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/  
 
Prior Approval Process and Request Form for Non-Covered Services 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/ 
http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm 
 
Recommended Childhood and Adolescent Immunization Schedule, by Vaccine and Age - United States, 
2011 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/recs/schedules/child-schedule.htm  
 
Printable versions of the schedule can be found at:  
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/recs/schedules/child-schedule.htm#printable  
 
Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care  
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/data/120/6/1376/DC1/1  
 
2008 Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, Third 
Edition: Bright Futures 3rd Edition Pocket Guide: Bright Futures Tool and Resource Kit 
http://brightfutures.aap.org/pdfs/BF3%20pocket%20guide_final.pdf 
 
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendations 
http://www.ahrq.gov/clinic/USpstfix.htm 
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Example 1: 
 Health Check Periodic screening assessment for six-month old child 
 Developmental screening 
 Immunization 
 
 

 
 
 

Example 2 – 
 Health Check Periodic Screening assessment for 18-year old 
 Vision Screening 
 Hearing Screening 
 Diagnosis warrants a referral for a follow-up visit, designated with ”ST/S2” 
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Example 3 – 
 Health Check Periodic Screening assessment for 4-year old child 
 With Developmental Screening, Vision Screening, Hearing Screening 
 
 

 
 
 
Example 4 – 
 Health Check Periodic Screening assessment for 2 year old child 
 Developmental Screening 
 Immunization 
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Example – 5 
Immunization Administration with vaccine injections only for 15 month old child 
 
 

 
 
 
Example 6 – Office visit with one vaccine injection for two-year old 
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Example 7- 
 Immunization Only for eight week old child 
 Immunization Administration Fee for Oral Vaccine  
 Immunization Administration Fee with vaccine injection 
 
 

 
 
 
Example 8 – 
 Immunizations Only for two-month old child 
 Administration for Oral Vaccine  
 Administration for Vaccine Injection  
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Example 9 – 
 Office visit at which oral vaccine for two month old child was provided  
 
 

 
 



  July 2011 
 

07.01.2011 84 
 

 

             
Craigan L. Gray, MD, MBA, JD     Melissa Robinson 
Director       Executive Director 
Division of Medical Assistance    HP Enterprise Services  
Department of Health and Human Services 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  


