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SA-3250 RESIDENCE 

Reissued 11-01-14 

I. STATE RESIDENCE REQUIREMENT 

An individual must be making his/her home in North Carolina voluntarily with the intent to remain.  

The applicant must apply at the county department of social services in the county in which he/she 

resides. Refer to SA-3110, courtesy applications for exceptions. 

II. MOVING INTO OR VISITING NORTH CAROLINA 

A. Moving Into or Visiting North Carolina from Other States 

Effective November 1, 2014, all SA applicants must meet the State residency criteria in either 

 #1 or #2 below.  An applicant can no longer meet the residency criteria by moving to NC to be 

near a close relative who has been in NC for 180 days.   

1. An individual is not eligible for Special Assistance (SA) until the applicant has been a 

resident of North Carolina for at least 90 days immediately prior to receiving SA with the 

intent to remain.  An individual visiting in the state without a stated intent to remain is not 

considered a North Carolina resident.  When an individual moves into North Carolina and 

states his intent to remain, a written statement of intent must be obtained. 

Example: 

"I, __________, am living in North Carolina and plan to remain in this state." 

Or: 

"___________, for whom I, __________, am authorized representative, is living in North 

Carolina and plans to remain in this state. 

NOTE:  An applicant cannot declare an intent to remain in North Carolina and also sign an 

intent to return home in order to exclude his/her home site in another state. Refer to SA-3200, 

Resources, V.A. for information on intent to return. 

2. There is no 90-day State residency requirement for an applicant who is discharged from a 

State facility who was a patient in the facility as a result of an interstate mental health compact 

who meets the following criteria:   

 a. The state facility discharging the applicant must provide the county DSS with 

verification that the applicant was a patient in the state facility on a DMA-

5010, Referral for Inpatient Hospital and Intermediate Care Facilities. 

For purposes of this provision in the law, a state facility is a facility listed 

under G.S.122C-181.  This includes the three state psychiatric hospitals 

(Cherry, Central Regional, Broughton); the three regional developmental 
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centers (Caswell,  Murdoch, J. Iverson Riddle); the three alcohol/substance 

abuse centers (Julian F. Keith, F.J. Blackley, Walter B. Jones); and the neuro-

medical treatment centers (Black Mountain, O’Berry, Longleaf.)  

b.  A person who was a patient in a state facility as a result of an interstate mental 

health compact arrangement and who is discharged from the state facility 

directly into an SA facility becomes a legal resident of the county in which the 

SA facility is located. 

3. If the applicant’s statement of residency is questionable, obtain one of the following 

documents for verification: 

a. Post-marked letters 

b. Public utilities records or credit accounts 

c. Voter Registration Records 

d. Rental records 

e. Real property ownership 

f. Employment records 

Other documentary evidence presented by the applicant. (Example: whether or not applicant 

has all their belongings in this residence)   

4. If the applicant applies before the 90-day requirement is met, the applicant is not eligible for 

SA.  Deny the application and document in the eligibility record the date the applicant moved 

to North Carolina (with the intent to remain) and when the 90th day of state residency will be 

met.   

NOTE:  Do not deny an application if the residency requirement will be met during the 

application processing time frame, if all other eligibility criteria are met.  Payment cannot be 

authorized prior to the applicant meeting residency requirements.    

5. If an applicant applies on or after the 90th day of state residency, the applicant is eligible for 

SA effective the day all other eligibility requirements are met.  If the 90th day falls after the 

first day of the month, authorize a partial payment for that month, prorated from the 90th day 

of state residency, even if the applicant was in an SA facility on the first day of that month.  A 

Special Assistance payment cannot be made for any days in an SA facility during the waiting 

period.  The effective date for retroactive payments cannot be earlier than the 90th day of 

residency in the state.  As always, when computing a partial payment, include the full personal 

needs allowance, but do not show income for that month. 
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6. Ask the applicant when he/she voluntarily moved and decided to remain in North Carolina to 

determine the 90th day of residency.  Beginning with, and including the date of intent to 

remain, count forward 90 days (or add 89 days to the date of intent to remain).  Payment may 

begin effective the 90th day, if all other eligibility criteria have been met. 

Example:  (assuming applicant meets all other eligibility requirements) 

Date applicant moved to NC with intent to remain: 7/01/01 

Date admitted to SA facility: 7/01/01 

90th day of NC residency: 9/28/01 

Date of application: 9/30/01 

Effective date of first SA payment:  9/28/01 

B. County Residence 

1. An individual has residence in the county in which the a/b resides.  However, if the a/b is 

in a hospital, mental institution, intermediate care facility, skilled nursing home, boarding 

home, SA facility, confinement center or similar facility, the county in which the facility is 

located is not necessarily their legal residence.  The county of legal residence would be the 

county in which the individual maintained or intended to establish a private living 

arrangement prior to entering a facility. 

2. Exceptions 

a. A woman in an SA facility has the county residence of her husband, unless they are 

legally divorced. A man in an SA facility has the county residence of the county where 

he last lived in a private living arrangement. 

b. A child (under age 18) is always a resident of the State and County which is the 

legal residence of the parent(s) who have legal custody of the child. If the parent(s) 

with legal custody of the child move(s) out of a county and the child remains in a 

specialized community residential center, the new county of residence of the parent(s) 

will be financially responsible for the child the month following the month the 

parent(s) move to the new county.  Transfer the case to the new county following 

transfer procedures in EIS 3500, County Transfers for Active Cases 

(1) If the child is in the custody of a county department of social services, that 

county is the child’s legal residence and thus financially responsible for 

the child until the child turns 18.  
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(2) Once the child turns 18, if a county DSS becomes the legal guardian of the 

adult, then the adult continues to be/becomes a resident of the county named as 

guardian.  

c. A disabled adult child (DAC) in a facility is a resident of the county and state in which 

the DAC’s parent(s) had residence immediately prior to the DAC reaching age 18.  

d. If the applicant IS NOT a resident of the county in which the a/b is currently applying 

for SA and has no intent to remain in that county, determine county financial 

responsibility. 

(1) The county in which the applicant last resided in a private living arrangement 

is the county of residence.  Document applicant’s previous private living 

arrangement.    

(2) If the applicant’s county of residence cannot be established: 

(a) The county of residence is the county in which the a/b is currently 

applying for SA.   

 

(b) If the applicant resides in a facility at the time of application, the county 

of residence is the county in which the SA facility is located. 

e. If the applicant states an intent to return home, thereby excluding the real property 

home site, the county of residence must be the county where the property is located.  


