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I. INTRODUCTION

Child abuse and neglect occurring in child care facilities are violations of the licensure
standards and of the licensure law. (N.C.G.S § 131D-10.1 et seq ) Refer to page 2 for
definitions of child care facilities. North Carolina law requires county Departments of Social
Services (DSS) to conduct Child Protective Service (CPS) assessments in child care
facilities. (N.C.G.S 8§ 7B-302, N.C.G.S. § 7B-101(3) ) Child care facilities are the only “part-
time” non-relative caretaker relationships subject to CPS assessments. This section
outlines the dual responsibility of county Departments of Social Services (DSS) and the
Division of Child Development (DCD) in response to child abuse and neglect in child care
facilities. All reports, regardless of the allegations, involving allegations concerning a child
in the custody of a local DSS, family foster home, residential facility, or child care facility
must be assigned to the Investigative Assessment response, and completed according to
CPS policy.

Il. LEGAL BASIS

Recognizing the importance of the early years of life to a child's development, the North
Carolina General Assembly declares in North Carolina General Statutes (N.C.G.S.
8110-85 the following with respect to the early care and education of children:

"The State should protect children in child care facilities by ensuring that these facilities
provide a physically safe and healthy environment where the developmental needs of
these children are met and where these children are cared for by qualified persons of
good moral character. Achieving this level of protection and early education requires the
following elements: mandatory licensing of child care facilities; promotion of higher
quality child care through the development of enhanced standards which operators may
comply with on a voluntary basis; and a program of education to help operators improve
their programs and to deepen public understanding of child care needs and issues."

North Carolina law requires that the county Departments of Social Services provide
protective services for children alleged to be abused, neglected, or dependent.
(N.C.G.S. 8 7B-302) Protective services include screening and assessments of
reports. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-300) Because the caretaker definition includes all child care
facilities (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-101(3) ), the law requires Investigative Assessments of reports
of abuse, neglect, or dependency in child care. (N.C.G.S. § 7B-302)
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A. Definition of Child Care and Non-Licensed Home Providers

Under N.C.G.S. 8110-86(2), child care is a program or arrangement where three or
more children less than 13 years old, who do not reside where the care is provided,
receive care on a regular basis of at least once per week for more than four hours
but less than 24 hours per day from persons other than their guardians or full-time
custodians, or from persons not related to them by birth, marriage, or adoption. The
same statute provides that the following child care arrangements are exempt from
the licensing requirements of the DCD and therefore do not meet the definition of
child care for the purposes of Investigative Assessments:

1)

2))

Arrangements operated in the home of any child receiving care if all the
children in care are related to each other and no more than two additional
children are in care;

Recreational programs operated for less than four consecutive months in a
year;

3.) Specialized activities or instruction such as athletics, dance, art, music lessons,

4.)

5.)

6.)

horseback riding, gymnastics, or organized clubs for children, such as Boy
Scouts, Girl Scouts, 4-H groups, or boys and girls clubs;

Drop-in or short-term care provided while parents participate in activities that
are not employment related and where the parents are on the premises or
otherwise easily accessible, such as drop-in or short-term care provided in
health spas, bowling alleys, shopping malls, resort hotels, or churches;

Public schools (School teachers and other school personnel do not meet the
definition of caretaker. Refer to F on page 43 for clarification of child care
facilities in public schools);

Nonpublic schools, private church schools and schools of religious charter,
described in Part 2 of Article 39 of Chapter 115C of the General Statutes that
are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and that
operate a child care facility as defined in subdivision (3) of this section for less
than six and one-half hours per day either on or off the school site;

7.) Bible schools conducted during vacation periods;

8.)

Care provided by facilities licensed under Article 2 of Chapter 122C of the
General Statutes (These are facilities that provide services for the mentally ill,
developmentally disabled and substance abusers. While these facilities do not
meet the definition of a child care facility, they could meet the definition of
caretaker and therefore, could require an Investigative Assessment);
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9.) Cooperative arrangements among parents to provide care for their own
children as a convenience rather than for employment; and

10.) Any child care program or arrangement consisting of two or more separate
components, each of which operates for four hours or less per day with
different children attending each component.

B. Non-licensed Home Facilities

Non-licensed home facilities are homes that do not meet the criteria requiring
licensure but meet the minimum standards to provide child care for the purpose of
accessing subsidized child care funds. The county Department of Social Services
approves these arrangements.

Reports alleging neglect and/or abuse of a child who is in the care of a relative or an
adult member of the child’s household who is providing child care services as a non-
licensed provider are assessed by the county Departments of Social Services.
Reports alleging neglect and/or abuse of a child who is in the care of a non-relative
who is providing child care services as a non-licensed provider are investigated by
the Regulatory Services Section of DCD.

Because these distinctions need to be made quickly when reports are received,
County Departments of Social Services may want to designate a specific county
social worker to receive or screen the reports before calling the DCD. The
designated social worker would determine if the alleged perpetrator is a non-licensed
home provider by reviewing an in-house file, such as the provider enroliment file. If
the provider is a non-licensed, non-relative home provider, a report must be made to
the DCD on the same day as the report is screened and a copy of the report faxed
to the DCD. Refer to Attachment A for contact information.

C. Child Care Facilities

The definition of a child care facility includes child care centers, family child care
homes, and any other child care arrangement not excluded by N.C.G.S. 8110-86 (2),
that provides child care, regardless of the time of day, wherever operated, and
whether or not operated for profit. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 110-86(3))

D. Child Care Centers

A child care center is an arrangement where, at any one time, there are three or
more preschool-age children or nine or more school-age children receiving child
care. (N.C.G.S. § 110-86(3))

E. Family Child Care Homes

A family child care home is a child care arrangement located in a residence where at
any time, more than two children, but less than nine children, receive care.
(N.C.G.S. 8 110-86(3)) Of the children present, no more than five children, including
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the provider's own preschool children, can be preschool age. The provider's own
school-aged children are not counted. Family child care homes are required to be
licensed by the DCD.

F. Child Care Facilities in Public Schools

While N.C.G.S. 8110-86(2) (e) exempts programs that are operated by the public
school from being licensed as child care, the Department of Health and Human
Services and the Department of Public Instruction have signed a Memorandum of
Understanding (MOU) concerning preschool and after school programs. All
preschool programs, and all before/after school programs that serve children
receiving subsidy, will work towards licensure. This includes all Pre-K classes that
receive “More at 4” funding and other subsidies and all after school programs that
are operated by the school system and its employees. As programs receive a
license, reports alleging abuse, neglect, or dependency are subject to Investigative
Assessments. CPS will not investigate programs that are not yet licensed. The
DCD's web site at www.ncchildcare.net can be accessed to determine if a program
is licensed.

[ll. ROLE OF THE DEPARTMENTS OF SOCIAL SERVICES
A. Screening

It is the statutory responsibility of the Department of Social Services to screen
reports and to intervene in situations meeting the definitions of abuse, neglect, or
dependency of children. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-302 ) When a county Department of Social
Services receives a report alleging abuse, neglect, or dependency involving children
in any child care facility, the Department of Social Services shall determine:

1.) Whether the allegations meet the definitions of abuse, neglect, or dependency
as provided in the statutes (N.C.G.S. § 7B-101).

2.) Whether the arrangement meets the definition of a child care facility as set
forth in N.C.G.S. 8110-86(3).

3.) Whether the parents or guardians of the alleged victim(s) have been
responsible in protecting their child or children or whether there is any
complicity on their part in the situation.

These issues are important in screening and determining whether or not the facility
meets the definition of child care. If the screening process reveals that the parents'
or guardians' actions or lack of appropriate actions may have contributed to the
maltreatment of their child, a CPS assessment is heeded, including them as alleged
perpetrators.

In all cases where a child care facility is licensed by the DCD, it is subject to
Investigative Assessment regardless of the number of children served.

1418
Page 4 of 23


http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_110/GS_110-86.html
http://www.ncchildcare.net/
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-302.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-101.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_110/GS_110-86.html

North Carolina Division of Social Services
Family Services Manual

Volume I: Children's Services

Chapter VIII: Child Protective Services

Change # 05-2008 Investigative Assessments in Child Care Facilities June 2008

As in any report of alleged abuse, neglect, or dependency the screening process must
include diligent efforts to obtain the following information from the person making the
report: (N.C.A.C. § 7B-301 and N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0105(b))

o The name, address, and actual or approximate age of the juvenile(s);

e The names and ages of other juveniles residing in the home;

e The names and addresses of the juvenile’s parents, guardians, or
caretakers;

e The name and address of the alleged perpetrator;

e The present whereabouts of the juvenile(s) if not at the home;

e The nature and extent of the injury or condition resulting from abuse, neglect
or dependency;

e Other information that the reporter has which might be helpful in establishing
the need for protective services, including the name, address and telephone
number of other individuals who may have information about the condition of
the juvenile; and

¢ The name, address and telephone number of the person making the report.

If at screening, there is insufficient information to determine that a child care
arrangement meets the required definitions of a child care facility, the DSS should
not initiate an Investigative Assessment on the child care facility. If the alleged
perpetrator’s caretaker status cannot be determined, then the report should be
screened for inappropriate supervision on the parents/caretakers/guardians
regarding the appropriateness of their supervision plan. The term "baby sitter" is
generic, and the intake social worker should not rely on this term to determine
whether or not to accept a report for Investigative Assessment.

Anyone who has the approval of the child care administrator to assume responsibility
for the children is subject to Investigative Assessment. Approval can be as informal
as not intervening or stopping persons from assuming or providing caretaker
functions. When screening identifies that the child care facility does meet the
required definitions, the intake social worker needs to clearly determine whether the
alleged perpetrator did or did not have delegated responsibility for the care of the
child or children. If it is clear that the alleged perpetrator did not have delegated child
care responsibilities, an Investigative Assessment is not appropriate and should not
be initiated. The DSS should treat these situations as any other non-caretaker
report. If there is any question about lack of supervision by the child care provider
when a report involves a non-caretaker, DSS should conduct an Investigative
Assessment to determine whether or not there is evidence of neglect on the part of
the child care provider.

If the role of the alleged perpetrator is unclear, the DSS should initiate an
Investigative Assessment in order to clarify whether the alleged perpetrator had
delegated child care responsibility. When children are in a child care facility, anyone
in that facility can be a potential caretaker, even a minor. A minor being a potential
caretaker only applies in child care facilities. Any person in the child care facility
that helps feed and play with the children, changes clothes or diapers, or takes
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children to the bathroom is a caretaker. When children stay in a child care facility, a
caretaker is anyone on the premises who has the approval of the child care provider
to assume responsibility for the children at any time.

B. Reports Received for Investigative Assessment
1.) Reports Not Constituting Abuse and Neglect

Although some reports may not meet the statutory definitions of abuse or
neglect, there may be legitimate concerns about child care and practices in the
child care setting. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-101) The DSS should refer reports about the
general quality of care and issues concerning the program's compliance with
licensing standards to the Intake Consultant in the Child Abuse/Neglect Unit of
the DCD. In these situations, the regular consultant assigned to the facility within
the DCD will follow up with the facility regarding the report. Refer to Attachment
A for contact information.

2.) Two-Level Review of Decision

All CPS reports require a two-level review of the intake decision. This review
requires that one of the parties be in a management position or a supervisor’s
designee and all persons participating in the intake decision must sign the intake
form. With reports involving a child care facility; this two-level review also serves
to determine whether the facility meets the appropriate definitions for DSS
intervention.

3.) Notice to Reporter

The county DSS receiving a report must give written notice to the person making
the report, unless waived or anonymous, within five (5) business days of receipt
of the report. The notice shall include a statement about whether the report was
or was not accepted for CPS assessment. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-302 ) The same
requirement is true for any report received on a child care facility. The county
DSS shall inform the reporter whether the report was referred to the appropriate
State or local law enforcement agency. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-302 ) When licensing
issues are the subject of the report, the DSS should tell the reporter of any
referral to the DCD.

4.) Reports to the District Attorney and Law Enforcement

If the county DSS receives information that a juvenile may have been physically
harmed in violation of any criminal statute by any person other than the juvenile's
parent, guardian, custodian, or caretaker, the county DSS shall make an
immediate oral and subsequent written report of that information to the district
attorney or the district attorney's designee and to the appropriate law
enforcement agency within forty-eight (48) hours after receiving the information.
(N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307) The local law enforcement shall immediately, but no later
than forty-eight (48) hours after receipt of the information, initiate a criminal
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investigation. Upon completion of the investigation, the district attorney shall
determine whether criminal prosecution is appropriate. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307)

C. Reports Accepted for Investigative Assessment

When the intake process results in a decision to accept a report of abuse, neglect,
or dependency in a child care arrangement, the county DSS where the child care
facility is located is responsible for the Investigative Assessment. For information
regarding Investigative Assessments when the child does not live in the same
county as the child care facility see Section |. The required procedures in the
initiation protocol phase of Investigative Assessments in child care facilities are as
follows:

1.) The county DSS where the child is found at the time of the report must initiate
an Investigative Assessment of any report alleging abuse within twenty-four
(24) hours after receiving the report. For reports alleging neglect, the
maximum time for initiation is within seventy-two (72) hours. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-
302) N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0105(c) defines initiation as having a face-to-face
contact with the alleged victim child or children. If there is no face-to-face
contact with the alleged victim within the statutory time frame, there must be
documentation to reflect diligent efforts to see the child in the timeframes and
documentation that the child was seen as soon as possible.

2.) For reports accepted for Sexual Abuse, please refer to Children’s Services
Manual, Volume |, Chapter VIII, Section 1420 to activate the protocol for
investigating child sexual abuse in a child care facility.

3.) Because of the seriousness of any allegation of abuse, neglect, or dependency
in child care, it is appropriate for the agency to initiate the Investigative
Assessments as quickly as possible for all reports, whether the allegations are
abuse, neglect, or dependency. As with Investigative Assessments in other
settings, it is important to see the alleged victim child as soon as possible to
assess the child's condition, to assess the levels of immediate and continuing
risk of harm, and to assure the child's safety during the Investigative
Assessment period.

4.) DSS must notify the Division of Child Development the day the report is
screened by calling the Division's abuse/neglect intake consultant. See
Attachment A for contact information.

5.) DSS must contact the individual who is administratively responsible for the on-
site operation of the child care facility. The purpose of contacting the
administrator is to solicit cooperation in the Investigative Assessment.
However, the administrator should not be given prior notice of the Investigative
Assessment and the required notice should be made at the time of DSS's first
contact with the child care facility.
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When initiating an Investigative Assessment in a child care facility, there are
additional issues that require special attention. The following guidance is
suggested:

e The DSS should decide whether other persons with broader responsibility
than onsite administration need to be contacted or involved, such as the
owner(s), other teachers or individuals in the child care facility.

o If there are no indicators that the parents may also be alleged
perpetrators, DSS should notify the parents of alleged victims prior to the
victim children being interviewed or observed, if possible. Reports of
neglect, abuse, or dependency of large numbers of children or lack of
sufficient contact information, may preclude a notice to all parents before
initiating the Investigative Assessment. However, all parents of alleged
victim children need to know about the Investigative Assessment as soon
as possible in order to take measures to protect their children from
possible further maltreatment. Parents also need to know whenever their
children talk with adults that they do not know and whether the child is an
alleged victim or a collateral contact. In cases when law enforcement
and/or the SBI are involved, parents need to know that these
professionals also may be interviewing their children. Caution is to be
taken to coordinate with law enforcement and/or the SBI in interviewing
collateral contacts and parents of collateral contacts so that there is no
interference with the gathering of criminal evidence. Parents of children
who are to be interviewed as collateral contacts must give prior approval
for the children to be interviewed. Ultimately, the DSS has a
responsibility to make diligent efforts to contact parents the same day as
contacts are made with the children. In the interest of time, these initial
efforts may need to be telephone contacts.

¢ When contacting children during an Investigative Assessment, it is critical
that the social worker reassures them that they are not "in trouble" for
talking with the social worker and that the social worker has talked with
their parents or will let their parents know that the social worker talked
with them.

e A child care facility involves a sense of known routine and security for
most children and families. Therefore, it is important that the DSS
conduct a thorough Investigative Assessment while creating the least
necessary disruption for the ongoing operation of the child care facility.
Whenever possible, the Investigative Assessment social worker should
attempt to work with the administrator in setting times for subsequent on-
site visits. However, advance notice of the Investigative Assessment to
the administrator should never occur.

D. Required Reports and Notices on Reports Accepted for Investigative
Assessment
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1.) Notice to the Individual Making the Report:

Within five (5) business days after the completion of any CPS assessment,
the county DSS that initially received the CPS report shall give subsequent
written notice to the person making the report, unless waived or anonymous,
as to whether there is a finding of abuse, neglect, or dependency, whether
the county DSS is taking action to protect the juvenile, and what action it is
taking. The second notification shall include the process for requesting a
review by the district attorney of the agency’s decision not to file a petition
within five (5) business days of receipt. (N.C.G.S. § 7B-302)

2.) Reports to the Division of Child Development

DSS must notify the DCD the same day a report is accepted for an
Investigative Assessment involving a child care facility. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307)
At no time should the DSS reveal the identity of the reporter. Refer to
Attachment A for contact information. Information shared on the form, DSS-
5282 should include:

Name and address of the child care facility;

Nature of the report and name(s) of alleged victim child or children;
Date that DSS received the report and date of the alleged incident;
The nature of any help needed in conducting the Investigative
Assessment; and

¢ The name and address of the alleged perpetrator.

If any DSS Investigative Assessment reveals evidence of abuse, neglect, or
dependency in a child care facility, the agency must immediately report these
findings to the DCD. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307) The report, DSS-5282, should
include the same information as listed above.

The social worker will have a discussion with the DCD Abuse/Neglect
consultant, prior to the staffing with the supervisor or team for case decision,
concerning information obtained during the Investigative Assessment and to
ensure that possible recommendations are not in conflict with licensing
regulations. If reasonable efforts by the social worker to contact the
consultant have been unsuccessful, the social worker will contact the
supervisor with the DCD Abuse/Neglect Unit. See Attachment A for contact
information.

At the conclusion of the Investigative Assessment, the director of the county
DSS must provide the following information in writing to the DCD with the
DSS-5282. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307)

o Name of child care facility;
¢ Name(s) of the victim child or children;
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o Whether or not the DSS found abuse or neglect, including the basis
for this decision;

o The type of abuse or neglect found, if either;

e The name(s) of the person(s) accountable for any neglect or abuse
found, Note: All reports need to specify individuals and not the facility;

o Whether or not criminal charges were filed or pending;

e Any recommendations for the child care facility/home; and

e Any further action planned by the DSS.

The Case Decision Summary, DSS-5228 also will be completed in all child
care facility Investigative Assessments and provided to DCD at the
conclusion of the CPS Investigative Assessment. The DSS must submit this
report rapidly because administrative action by the DCD is often dependent
on this information. Also, while child care facilities are under an Investigative
Assessment, Child Care Resource and other referral agencies stop referring
parents to these child care facilities. An Investigative Assessment of a child
care facility is not complete until all reports and notices are submitted to the
DCD. CPS case decisions as to whether or not to substantiate abuse,
neglect, or dependency are to be made and submitted to the DCD within
seven (7) business days of the decision. In order to protect confidentiality,
do not reveal the identity of the reporter in this or any written report.
(N.C.G.S. 8 7B-302) Copies of this report should be sent to the district
attorney and the SBI when they are involved in the Investigative Assessment.

3.) Reports to the District Attorney and Law Enforcement:

The county DSS in which the child care facility is located shall make an
immediate oral and subsequent written report of all findings of abuse to the
district attorney or the district attorney's designee and the appropriate local
law enforcement agency within forty-eight (48) hours after receipt of the
report. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-307) This report shall include:

¢ The name and address of the child, of the parents, the child care
facility, and the alleged perpetrator(s)
Whether the abuse was physical, emotional or sexual;
e The dates the report was received and when evidence that abuse
may have occurred was found,;
A description of the evidence that abuse may have occurred; and
¢ The plan developed by DSS to protect the child and what is being
done to carry out the plan.

DSS may share the name, address, and/or phone number of the reporter if
needed by the district attorney and law enforcement in order to carry out their
Investigative Assessments. N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0105(c)

The local law enforcement shall immediately, but no later than forty-eight (48)
hours after receipt of the information, initiate and coordinate a criminal
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investigation with the Investigative Assessment being conducted by the
appropriate DSS.

The immediacy of the above reports to the district attorney and law
enforcement is critical. Although DSS has the mandate to protect children,
the appropriate law enforcement agency and the district attorney have the
mandate to collect criminal evidence for potential prosecution. Any failure or
delay in reporting suspected abuse or neglect to the proper authorities can
have a detrimental effect on the criminal investigative process and on the
safety of the child or children.
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4.) Cases Involving Sexual Abuse in a Child Care Facility:

"Upon receipt of any report of child sexual abuse in a child care facility or
family child care home, the Director shall notify the State Bureau of
Investigation within twenty-four (24) hours or on the next working day. If child
sexual abuse in a child care facility is not alleged in the initial report, but
during the course of the Investigative Assessment there is reason to suspect
that child sexual abuse has occurred, the Director shall immediately notify the
State Bureau of Investigation. Upon notification that child sexual abuse may
have occurred in a child care facility, the State Bureau of Investigation may
form a task force to investigate the report." (N.C.G.S. § 7B-301) This
required report is in addition to the report to the district attorney. In order to
ensure promptness of sharing of evidence with the SBI, the DSS should
begin with an oral report within the twenty-four (24) hour time frame followed
by a written notice within three (3) business days.

Sexual abuse does not always involve a physical activity or touching. Taking
obscene pictures or videos of children or showing that type of material to
children is also a form of sexual abuse. The perpetrator is not necessarily
limited to the person who commits the act, but is also anyone who permits or
encourages the sexual abuse or anyone who knows about the activity and
does nothing to stop it.

The reporting requirements to the SBI and the district attorney are relevant in
all of these situations. The information shared with the SBI includes:

Name and address of child care facility;
Operator's name;

Alleged victim(s)'s name(s) and address(es);
Nature of the report;

Date report was received;

Date and place of reported incident; and
Any alleged perpetrator's names.

Note: The reporter's name should not be revealed in any written report
or notice. This caution does not preclude DSS from revealing the reporter's
name to the SBI verbally, if necessary, for conducting their investigation.
N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0105 (d)

If the SBI forms a task force, they will investigate the alleged sexual abuse
and gather evidence that may be presented at criminal proceedings. In order
to conduct the Investigative Assessment to ensure that children are protected
and evidence is not destroyed, DSS will coordinate with the SBI Special
Agent, as well as with the district attorney, law enforcement, and the DCD,
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regarding interviews, collateral contacts, home and site visits, and any
additional information including the identity of the reporter.

The investigating county DSS is to provide a written report to the SBI at the
conclusion of the Investigative Assessment. The Case Decision Summary,
DSS-5228 will meet the requirements of the written notification. The written
report is to include the following:

o Name of the child care facility,

e The name(s) of the victim child or children,

e Whether or not abuse or neglect was found, including the basis for
this decision,

If found, the type of abuse or neglect,

If found, name(s) of the alleged perpetrator(s),

Whether or not criminal charges have been filed or are pending and
Any further action by the DSS.

When the DSS and the SBI participate in a joint Investigative Assessment,
this required report will merely confirm what both agencies found in that
Investigative Assessment. A copy of the Case Decision Summary, DSS-
5228 from DSS to the Division of Child Development will suffice to meet the
required notification to the SBI.

E. Tasks in Conducting a Thorough Investigative Assessment
1.) The DSS must conduct a thorough Investigative Assessment of any report of

abuse, neglect, or dependency in a child care facility. (N.C.G.S. 8§ 7B-302) A
thorough Investigative Assessment will assess:

(a.) Whether the specific environment in which the child or children are
found meets the child or children's need for care and protection;

(b.) Facts regarding the existence of abuse, neglect or dependency;

(c.) The nature and extent of abuse, neglect, or dependency; and

(d) Risk of harm to and need for protection of the child or children.
(N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0106.)

2.) Elements included in a thorough CPS assessment are outlined in N.C.A.C. 10A
70A.0106. The requirements and a discussion of them as they pertain to a child
care Investigative Assessment are as follows:

(a.) The investigating county DSS must check the county agency's
Children's Services records and the CPS Report to the Central Registry
to ascertain if any previous reports of abuse, neglect, or dependency
have been made concerning the alleged victim child or children unless
the agency has conducted such a check in the 60 days prior to the new
report or the agency is providing continuous CPS to the family.
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(b.) DSS also should check with the agency child care coordinator for
information about previous reports involving the particular child care
facility to be investigated.

(c.) Face-to-face interviews with all victim children shall be conducted within
the statutory time frames, unless there is documentation in the case
record to explain why such contact was not made. Although for
Investigative Assessments in a child care facility this requirement does
not include siblings that live in the alleged victim’s home, however,
please use the following guidance:

(i.) If more than one child in a family attends the child care facility,
those children shall be interviewed the same day as the alleged
victim child.

(ii.) Any children in the child care facility involved in the alleged
incident or who might have knowledge of the incident are
collateral contacts or possibly additional victims. It is good
practice to interview these children whenever possible, once
parental approval has been obtained.

(d.) The requirement for a face-to-face interview with any parent or primary
caretaker on the same day as the interview with the victim child or
children, unless there is documentation in the case record to explain why
such interviews were not conducted, applies.

(e.) N.C.G.S §7B-302(a) states “The assessment and evaluation shall
include a visit to the place where the juvenile resides, except when the
report alleges abuse or neglect in a child care facility as defined in
Article 7 of Chapter 110 of the General Statutes, a visit to the place
where the juvenile resides is not required.”

(f.) DSS must interview the perpetrator or perpetrators face-to-face, as in all
CPS assessments.

(9.)The requirement for interviews with any available persons identified at
the time the report was made applies. These are persons who may
have information concerning the condition of the child or children, as well
as other relevant information.

(h.) If during the course of a child care facility Investigative Assessment, the
social worker receives information alleging abuse, neglect or
dependency of the child by the parent, guardian or other caretaker, then
a separate report must be taken and screened.

DSS must thoroughly document why any of the requirements were not met.
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3.) Special requirements for Investigative Assessments involving child care facilities
include:

(a.) A discussion of the allegations with the individual who has on-site
administrative responsibility for the child care facility;

(b.) A discussion of the procedures to be followed during the Investigative
Assessment;

(c.) Utilization of resources within and without the child care facility as
needed and appropriate;

(d.) A discussion of the findings with the administrator of the child care
facility. The county DSS shall follow this discussion with a written report.
All information shall be held confidential by all parties.

4.) Additional sources of information in completing a thorough Investigative
Assessment in a child care facility include:
(a.) The individual making the report;
(b.) Child care staff who may be involved in or who have knowledge of the
alleged incident;
(c.) Children and parents of children who may be involved in or who have
knowledge of the alleged incident;
(d.) Files, charts, and records of the alleged victim(s);
(e.) Policies and procedures of the facility/home relating to care and
supervision of children.

Note: Although the parents may remove the alleged victim from the
child care facility, the Investigative Assessment should continue to
determine whether the allegations of abuse, neglect, or dependency are
true and whether other children in the child care facility are at risk. If there
is suspected abuse, neglect, or dependency of other children, the DSS
should notify those parents to enable them to take action to protect their
children. If DSS identifies subsequent alleged victim children, the agency
must complete all aspects of an Investigative Assessment for each of
them. All aspects include meeting the requirements for a separate
screening process and for a separate Investigative Assessment. DSS may
apply the interview with the administrator to all related Investigative
Assessments, rather than having to interview the administrator each time a
new report arises during the Investigative Assessment, unless there are
new allegations. Interviews with other individuals and staff may not be
necessary unless there is reason to believe that they have additional
information pertinent to the newly identified alleged victims.

In all Investigative Assessments, the DSS should make the case decision
and complete required documentation within thirty (30) days of receipt of the
report. When it is not possible to meet the thirty (30) day time frame,
documentation in the case record should reflect the rationale to extend the
Investigative Assessment beyond 30 days.
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F. Non-Cooperation

When the administrator of a child care facility refuses to cooperate with the
Investigative Assessment, the DSS should take one or more of the following
actions:

1.) Remind the administrator of the legal mandate for the DSS to assess all
reports of abuse, neglect, or dependency. Also advise the administrator of
his legal responsibility to cooperate with the Investigative Assessment.

2.) Notify the DCD regarding the lack of cooperation.

3.) File an Order to Cease Obstruction of or Interference with Juvenile
Investigation Petition with the court. (N.C.G.S. 8 7B-303)

4.)) It is important to continue the Investigative Assessment by obtaining
information from other resources such as neighbors, other parents,
agencies, etc.

G. Confidentiality
1.) Confidentiality of Case Records

In all cases of child abuse, neglect, or dependency, there is a professional and
legal responsibility to maintain confidentiality. N.C.G.S. §7B-2901 mandates
confidentiality of case records and provides only for examination by the juvenile
or by order of the judge. In order to protect confidentiality in CPS cases, it is
recommended that DSS maintain a case record in the child's name, separate
from any record in the family's name. DSS should also have separate files for
child care facilities where Investigative Assessments have occurred.

Under the following circumstances, persons outside the county DSS allowed to
examine the case record include:

1418
Page 16 of 23


http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-303.html
http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_7B/GS_7B-2901.html

North Carolina Division of Social Services
Family Services Manual

Volume I: Children's Services

Chapter VIII: Child Protective Services

Change # 05-2008 Investigative Assessments in Child Care Facilities June 2008

(a.) Federal and State personnel who carry lawful responsibility for program
audit, review and evaluation;

(b.) The child or child's attorney, including a court appointed guardian ad
litem;

(c.) The agency attorney when advising on the case or preparing for court;

(d.) The prosecutor when carrying out mandated responsibilities; and

(e.) Law enforcement when assessing a case of abuse, neglect or
dependency on behalf of the prosecutor.

2.) Confidentiality of Information.
Although the identity of the reporter is confidential, DSS may reveal the name

and address of the reporter to law enforcement, if necessary, when they are
assisting in an Investigative Assessment. (N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0105(c))

N.C.G.S. 87B-302(a) does not preclude the "necessary sharing of information
among authorized agencies." DSS may share necessary information with public
or private agencies or individuals to facilitate provision of services for the child.
Other agencies or individuals who should receive pertinent information to
facilitate the provision of child protective services may include:

Mental health centers,

Health departments,

Private health providers,

Hospitals,

Multi-disciplinary or interagency groups doing case consultation on child
abuse or neglect,

Private therapists,

Institutional staff assisting in an Investigative Assessment or treatment
plans with the institution, and/or

o Division of Child Development.

The assessing county DSS may consult with public or private agencies or
individuals. The Director or the Director's representative may make a written
demand for any information or reports, whether or not confidential, that may in
the Director's opinion be relevant to the protective services case. Upon the
Director's or the Director's representative's request and unless protected by
attorney-client privilege, any public or private agency or individual shall provide
access to and copies of this confidential information and these records to the
extent permitted by federal law and regulations. If a custodian of criminal
investigative information or records believes that release of such information will
jeopardize the right of the State to prosecute a defendant or the right of the
defendant to receive a fair trial or will undermine an ongoing or future
Investigative Assessment, it may seek an order from a court of competent
jurisdiction to prevent disclosure of the information. (N.C.G.S. 87B-302(e))
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3.) Sharing Information with Parents

Parents of alleged victim children have the right to know the nature of any report
of abuse, neglect, or dependency involving their children in a child care facility.
DSS should share this information with the parents in a timely manner. DSS
should explain to parents the process of an Investigative Assessment and how
they and their children will be involved in that process. At the conclusion of a
thorough Investigative Assessment, DSS must inform the parents of the case
decision either verbally or in writing. If verbal notice is given, the case record
should include documentation of this notice to the parents.

At times, DSS also may want to share information with parents of non-victim
children. The following guidance applies in these situations: "DSS must
exercise discretion in selection of collateral contacts in order to protect the
family's or out-of-home care facility’s right to privacy and the confidentiality of the
report.” (N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0106 (})) This caveat applies to information shared
with parents of non-victim children enrolled in the child care facility under
Investigative Assessment. It seems reasonable to share information with
parents when their child may have been victimized and may experience future
problems as a result of such victimization. An attorney general's opinion states: "
. . . while records relating to the abused child would be confidential . . ., the
statutes do not prohibit the county department from revealing that abuse has
occurred at the family child care home, particularly to parents of other children
enrolled.”

The fact that the statutes do not prohibit such disclosure does not mean, of
course, that the county department should not exercise judgment and discretion
in determining whether and when disclosure is to be made.

DSS should tell parents about a report of alleged abuse, neglect, or dependency
when children of those parents are collateral contacts in the Investigative
Assessment or when there is reason to suggest that their child also may be a
victim. Examples of situations where DSS should think carefully about releasing
information about a report include:

(a.) Investigative Assessments where there was no finding of abuse or
neglect after case decision, or

(b.) Investigative Assessments where the perpetrator is no longer in the
child care facility and there is no further risk to children.

Note: At no time should the DSS reveal the identity of the reporter or the
identity of other victim children to parents. DSS should discuss the decision
to disclose any information with the agency’s attorney in order to explore
potential liability.

H. In-House Team Work
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The DSS staff responsible for child care coordination can be a good resource
person to the CPS social worker in this type of Investigative Assessment. There
are cases where the report of abuse, neglect, or dependency as defined in
N.C.G.S. 87B-101 is not accepted for Investigative Assessment or substantiated.
However, in an Investigative Assessment of a child care facility there may be
some question regarding the practices or policies of the facility. When the child
care coordinator is involved in the process, this individual is able to provide
needed assistance to the child care program regarding appropriate standards
and practices.

It is critical that each county DSS develop a system of communication between
the CPS staff and the child care coordinator. Failure to inform the child care
coordinator about reports of abuse, neglect, or dependency in child care facilities
could result in further risk for children and liability for the agency. The child care
coordinator can avoid enrolling children in facilities when they have access to
pertinent information from the CPS social worker.

There must be prompt communication to the child care coordinator concerning
the case decision and any recommendations once the CPS Investigative
Assessment on the facility is completed. Information regarding the reporter or
specific to the child must not be released to the child care coordinator.

I. Dual County Investigative Assessments

1.) In most instances, the decision about which agency is responsible for an
Investigative Assessment in child care is straightforward. When the child
resides in the same county as the child care facility that county DSS is
responsible for the Investigative Assessment.

There are several situations in the Investigative Assessment of child care
facilities that call for the involvement of two or more county Departments of
Social Services. Some of these situations are as follows:

(a.) When a report alleges abuse, neglect, or dependency in a DSS
operated facility, that county DSS shall request another county DSS
to conduct the Investigative Assessment. (N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0103

(a))

(b.) If the report involves a child care facility where the agency has a child
who is in the legal custody of DSS, the agency may request the
assistance of another county in conducting the Investigative
Assessment. In this situation, the resident county DSS could have a
conflict of interest between the function of CPS social worker and the
function of legal custodian for a child in the facility under Investigative
Assessment.

(c.) If the child's residence is in one county and the child care facility is in
another county, the two county departments of social services should
1418
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collaborate in the Investigative Assessment. The county where the
child care facility is located takes the lead responsibility for the
Investigative Assessment. The reason is that the child protection
issues revolve around the child care facility.

As the lead county, that DSS performs all the required tasks of the
Investigative Assessment and reporting, including the written report to
the DCD. The county where the child resides may assist with the
Investigative Assessment by initiating the report, making the required
home visit, interviewing the child and parents, and arranging for any
needed support services.

Example: A parent calls after hours to the county in which she and her family
reside. The parent reports that she picked her child up from child care in an
adjoining county. She discovered evidence of abuse of her child after they
arrived home. The child identifies one of the caretakers at the child care facility
as the perpetrator. Although the county where the child care facility is located is
responsible for the Investigative Assessment, the social worker receiving the
report in the county where the child resides may need to initiate the Investigative
Assessment by seeing the child and parent.

In all situations, the county where the child is located at the time of the
report has ultimate responsibility for making an initial assessment of risk and
ensuring the safety of the child or children. Collaborative and cooperative efforts
are vital whenever more than one agency is involved. These efforts are even
more critical in a dual county Investigative Assessment involving child care. Two
or more county departments, the DCD, and sometimes the district attorney
and/or SBI are involved simultaneously. It is extremely important that all
agencies involved coordinate their efforts without inhibiting any other agency
from their responsibilities in the matter. Close communication throughout the
Investigative Assessment is imperative. For further information on Jurisdiction in
Child Welfare, see Children’s Services Manual, Volume |, Chapter V.
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J. Post-Investigative Assessment Procedures

1.) When a thorough Investigative Assessment is complete, the DSS must
conduct a verbal review of the findings with the administrator of the child care
setting. When the case decision is to substantiate abuse, neglect, or
dependency, the DSS will provide recommendations for prevention of further
abuse, neglect, or dependency in the child care facility to the administrator.
The DSS shall subsequently confirm the findings and recommendations in
writing. (N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0106 (k))

2.) When a thorough Investigative Assessment is complete, the county must
inform any parent or legal custodian of the victim child or children of the case
decision. (N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0106 (K)) The county shall also communicate
that DSS shall no longer be involved with the child or children on a non-
voluntary basis.

3.) At the conclusion of the Investigative Assessment, county DSS must provide a
written report to the DCD. (See Section II.D. above for details.) The DSS must
submit this report within seven (7) business days because administrative action
is often dependent on this information. See Attachment A for contact
information.

4.) Notify the alleged perpetrator, verbally whenever possible, of the case decision.

5.) Submit a completed DSS-5104 to the Central Registry/Responsible Individuals
List. The Department of Health and Human Services is required to establish a
list of individuals responsible for the abuse or serious neglect of a juvenile, and
to establish a process for expunction from that list. See Children’s Services
Manual, Volume |, Section 1427 for further information.

6.) Document actions taken and the basis for decision-making in the case record
and file all required reports. DSS should maintain a separate case record or a
separate section in a family record on children reportedly abused or neglected.
(N.C.A.C. 10A 70A.0112 (a)) Itis not appropriate to file any child specific
material in the case record for the child care facility. The case record in the
child's or family's name should contain all of the following:

(a.) A copy of the DSS-5104 (Central Registry/Responsible Individuals List
form);

(b.) Case dictation;

(c.) A copy of the Case Decision Summary to the DCD;

(d.) A copy of the Case Decision Summary to the SBI in cases involving
allegations of child sexual abuse;

(e.) A copy of written reports to the District Attorney if there is evidence of
abuse; and

(f.) A copy of written notices to parents, custodians, administrators,
perpetrators or documentation if verbal notices were given.
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Note: CPS involvement is complete with closure of the case. The DSS
does not have an ongoing role in services to child care facilities beyond
completion of the Investigative Assessment. Responsibility for continued
assistance to a child care facility rests with the Division of Child
Development. If children or their families request other services as a result
of the maltreatment they experienced in a child care facility, the DSS may
provide services on a voluntary basis.

IV. THE ROLE OF THE CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT UNIT, DIVISION OF CHILD
DEVELOPMENT

In 1985 the North Carolina General Assembly authorized the establishment of the Child
Abuse and Neglect Unit within the Child Care Section, Division of Facility Services. The
purpose of this special unit was to investigate reports of abuse and neglect in child care
facilities. In 1993 the Child Care Section became the Division of Child Development.

An Investigative Assessment conducted by the Child Abuse and Neglect Unit focuses on
the functioning of the child care facility. An Investigative Assessment conducted by the
DSS focuses on the victim child. Investigative Assessments conducted by the two
agencies are concurrent and cooperative. It is not appropriate to request the DCD staff
to delay their legally mandated visit because the DSS or law enforcement Investigative
Assessments are incomplete.

The Investigative Assessment conducted by the DCD will determine:

o If abuse, neglect, or dependency occurred in the child care facility;

o Whether the administrator caused, had knowledge of, or after exercising
reasonable care and diligence, should have had knowledge of the abuse,
neglect, or dependency;

¢ The identity of the perpetrator(s) involved in the abuse, neglect, or dependency
incident;

o The extent of violations of child care regulations and whether these violations
contributed to the abuse, neglect, or dependency; and

e The type of administrative action needed and corrective action plan in the child
care facility.

The law mandates that the DCD conduct an unannounced site visit to investigate
allegations of abuse, neglect, or dependency in a child care facility within seven (7)
calendar days after the Division receives the report. When circumstances warrant
additional unannounced visits, the second visit must be conducted within one month of
the first visit. (N.C.G.S. 8 110-105) Certain types of administrative action taken against
child care administrators require additional unannounced monitoring visits after the
Investigative Assessment is completed.

The DCD is solely responsible for investigating reports of abuse and neglect in homes
that meet the definition of non-licensed child care facilities. They will submit a report of
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their findings to the county DSS. The DSS will maintain these findings in a report file
maintained by the agency's child care coordinator.

V. CONCLUSION

The requirement that the Departments of Social Services complete Investigative
Assessments in child care facilities is unique. Under current North Carolina law, these
are the only part-time non-relative caretaker relationships subject to Investigative
Assessment. These Investigative Assessments are complex due to the number of
different agencies and individuals involved. This section has outlined the activities and
responsibilities involved in such an Investigative Assessment in an effort to clarify policy
and provide guidance.

There are an ever-growing number of children in child care facilities. Parents usually
place their children in child care in order to work or to go to school. They trust that their
children are safe and will receive proper care in the child care facility when they,
themselves, cannot be at home with them. It is a formidable responsibility for
Departments of Social Services to step in when there is reason to believe that a child or
children have been abused, neglected, or dependent in a child care facility. Care and
concern should be offered to parents and children during an Investigative Assessment.
The DSS should make every effort possible to protect children and to conduct an
Investigative Assessment in such a way as to cause the least amount of disruption to
families and child care facilities.
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