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II.  SECTION .0600 | GENERAL PROVISIONS 

A. 10A NCAC 70E .0601 SCOPE  
The subsections of this rule read: 
 
(a) The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social 
Services is the licensing authority for family foster homes and therapeutic foster homes. 
 
(b) The rules in this Subchapter apply to the licensing of family foster homes and 
therapeutic foster homes and those persons who receive children for the purpose of 
placement in family foster homes and therapeutic foster homes.  

 
The North Carolina Division of Social Services is the Licensing Authority for family foster 
homes and therapeutic foster homes. Supervising agencies (county departments of 
social services and licensed private child-placing agencies for foster care) submit 
licensing applications and requests for other licensing actions to the Licensing Authority. 
When these materials are received, the Licensing Authority reviews them for compliance 
with rules, policies, standards, and procedures for licensing. It is the responsibility of the 
Licensing Authority to approve or deny these requests. The Regulatory and Licensing 
Services Office within the Division of Social Services completes all reveiws and grants 
all licensing actions. Contact information for the Licensing Authority is:   

 
N. C. Division of Social Services 
Regulatory and Licensing Services 
952 Old U. S. 70 Highway 
Black Mountain, N. C. 28711 
Phone: 828-669-3388 
Fax: 828-669-3365 

 
1.  Relevant Statutes 

G.S. § 131D, Article 1A  
It is important that foster home licensing social workers know the legal basis for 
foster home licensing so they can help the foster families that they supervise 
understand the system. The statutory basis for foster care and other licensing 
functions is found in G.S. §131D, Article 1A. 
 
G.S. § 131D-10.5  
This statute also delegates authority to the North Carolina Social Services 
Commission to establish administrative rules for family foster homes, therapeutic 
foster homes, residential child-care, and child-placing agencies. Foster Home 
licensing rules established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission can be 
found in North Carolina Administrative code, 10A NCAC 70E.   

 
G.S. § 131D, Article 1A  

http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20e/10a%20ncac%2070e%20.0601.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_131D/Article_1A.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_131D/Article_1A.pdf
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20e/subchapter%20e%20rules.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_131D/Article_1A.pdf
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This statute reads: 
  

It is the policy of this State to strengthen and preserve the family as a unit 
consistent with a high priority of protecting children's welfare. When a child 
requires care outside the family unit, it is the duty of the State to assure that the 
quality of substitute care is as close as possible to the care and nurturing that 
society expects of a family. However, the State recognizes there are instances 
when protecting a child's welfare outweighs reunifying the family unit, and as 
such, the care of residential care facilities providing high quality services that 
include meeting the children's educational needs as determined by the 
Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services can 
satisfy the standard of protecting a child's welfare, regardless of the child's age, 
particularly when the sibling groups can be kept intact. 
The purpose of this Article is to assign the authority to protect the health, safety 
and well-being of children separated from or being cared for away from their 
families.  (1983, c. 637, s. 2; 2009-408, s. 1.) 

 
This statute establishes the state’s authority for the placing of children in out-of-home 
care. This statute clearly specifies the state’s duty to assure that the quality of 
substitute care is as close as possible to the care and nurturing that society expects 
families to provide to their children. To provide foster care, a license is required. To 
obtain and maintain a license the family must meet minimum standards. Licensing 
standards exist to protect the child, the child’s parents, foster parents, and the 
agency providing child-placing services. An interpretation of this general statute in 
conjunction with the rules, 10A NCAC 70E for foster home licensing, will show which 
rules are specified in law and which rules are derived from law.   

 
For example, G.S. § 131D-10.3A (Mandatory criminal checks) clearly requires 
criminal history checks for each applicant. Other rules are derived from the language 
of the law. Another requirement is that all licensing application materials shall be 
submitted at one time to the Licensing Authority (G.S. § 131D-10.6. Powers and 
duties of the Department). In addition to other powers and duties prescribed by law, 
the Department shall exercise the following powers and duties: G.S. § 131D-10.6.(5) 
“prescribe the form in which the applications for licensure or a request for waiver of 
Commission rules shall be submitted.”   

 
 

B. 10A NCAC 70E. 0602 DEFINITIONS 
Except when the context of the Rule indicates that the term has a different meaning the 
following definitions shall apply to the rules in Subchapter 70E:  
 
(1) "Agency" means a child placing agency as defined in G.S. § 131D-10.2 that is 
authorized by law to receive children for purposes of placement in foster homes or 
adoptive homes. 
 

This term is used to indicate both private agencies licensed by the NC DSS to 
provide foster care and public county department of social services authorized by 

http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20e/subchapter%20e%20rules.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131D/GS_131D-10.3A.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131D/GS_131D-10.6.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131D/GS_131D-10.6.html
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20e/10a%20ncac%2070e%20.0602.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/statutes/statutelookup.pl?statute=131D-10.2
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law to provide foster care. Public and private agencies are held to the same licensing 
standards.    
 

(2) "Family Foster Home" has the meaning as defined in G.S. § 131D-10.2(8). 
  

The private residence of one or more individuals who permanently reside as 
members of the household and who provide continuing full-time foster care for a 
child(ren) who are placed there by a child-placing agency or who provide 
continuing full-time foster care for two or more children who are unrelated to the 
adult members of the household by blood, marriage, guardianship, or adoption.  

 
(3) "Family Foster Care" means a planned, goal-directed service in which the temporary 
protection and care of children take place in a family foster home.  Family foster care is a 
child welfare service for children and their parents who must live apart from each other 
for a period of time due to abuse, neglect, dependency, or other circumstances 
necessitating out-of-home care.   
 
(4) "Licensing Authority" means the North Carolina Division of Social Services.  
 
(5) "Owner" means any person who holds an ownership interest of five percent or more 
of the applicant.  A person includes a sole proprietor, co-owner, partner or shareholder, 
principal or affiliate, or any person who is the applicant or any owner of the applicant. 
 
(6) "Supervising Agency" means a county department of social services or a private 
child-placing agency that is authorized by law to receive children for purposes of 
placement in foster homes or adoptive homes.  Supervising agencies are responsible for 
recruiting, training, and supporting foster parents.  Supervising agencies recommend the 
licensure of foster homes to the licensing authority.   
 
(7) "Therapeutic Foster Care" means a foster home where the foster parent has received 
additional training in providing care to children with behavioral mental health or 
substance abuse problems.   

 
C. OTHER DEFINTIONS  

• “Child” as defined in G.S. § 131D-10.2 means  
o (1) an individual less than 18 years of age who has not been emancipated 

under the provisions of Article 35 of Chapter 7B of the North Carolina 
General Statues or  

o (2) any individual from 18 to 21 years of age who meets the requirement 
to voluntarily receive child welfare services. (Refer to Chapter IV; Section 
1201; VII - Adolescent Services: NC LINKS for more information).  

• Foster Parent” means any individual 21 years of age or older who is 
currently licensed by the State to provide foster care.  

• “Foster Home Licensing Social Worker” means a social worker assigned the 
specific duties of recruiting, selecting, training, and recommending 
applicants to be licensed as family foster care parents or therapeutic foster 
care parents. Additional duties may include counseling, organizing, and 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/statutes/statutelookup.pl?statute=131D-10.2
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_131D/GS_131D-10.2.html
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/csm-10/man/CSs1201c7.pdf
http://info.dhhs.state.nc.us/olm/manuals/dss/csm-10/man/CSs1201c7.pdf
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advocating for foster parents as well as providing assistance sufficient for 
foster parents to be relicensed as decided by the supervising agency.   

• Administrative Rule 10A NCAC 70G .0501 defines the qualifications for a 
Foster Home Licensing Social Worker and caseload standards. A Foster 
Home Licensing Social Worker must meet the requirements of a Social 
Worker II as defined by the North Carolina Office of State Personnel.  

 

http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a%20-%20health%20and%20human%20services/chapter%2070%20-%20children's%20services/subchapter%20g/10a%20ncac%2070g%20.0501.pdf
http://www.osp.state.nc.us/Guide/CompWebSite/Class%20Specs/04012.pdf
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